We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teflon coated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabard Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tabard Inn
Save
You added Tabard Inn to your Saves list
1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Teflon coated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fantastic quirky hotel in the Dupont Circle area. We ended up with only the penthouse available over the 9/11 week we spent in DC, so it was a bit expensive but certainly worth it. Wireless was a bit of a problem but they worked it out eventually. The restaurant is a real gem with outstanding quality and value meals for dinner and the breakfast staff and food are equally good.

Room Tip: check with the hotel and let them know what your room requirements are before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    38
    24
    13
See reviews for
27
63
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

If you spring for one of the larger rooms it may be better value but we paid over $170 per night for a closet and a share of a bathroom down the corridor. Really poor value therefore but the location is good (and the restaurant is great).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Charming inn with decent rates in a convenient location off Connecticut Avenue near Du Pont Circle. This is not a slick hotel, but that is a relief. The restaurant is excellent. The clientele is friendly, as is the management. Try not to stay in rooms on the alley in the back: it is noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

While the room (though cluttered) served its purpose as a base of operations - it's located perfectly for the White House, Washington Monument et al - the service for which the US is famed is sadly lacking. On check-in, after a surly swipe of the credit card, we had to then carry four suitcases up two flights of incredibly narrow stairs with no assistance. Not the worst place I've ever stayed by a long way, but I'd go elsewhere just for a smile and some assistance from the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

While the facilities hit the mark, the staff was only interested in my credit card and handing us the key. As stated by previous guests, do not expect any offer to help carry luggage or even an acknowledgement when you enter the inn. We booked the double room with a private bath which was quaintly listed as the "low end double" on our receipt. The room itself was reasonable though overcrowded with unnecessary furniture and the bed was not suitable anyhow over 5'7".

From what I have read and experienced, I get the impression that the staff has no interest in being cordial unless you book one of the higher-end rooms.

Lovely building but it seems the basics of hospitality are sadly absent.

Room Tip: Ask questions about the location of the room due to noise. If you are tall, don't book #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah C, General Manager at Tabard Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. I regret that you felt a lack of hospitality. I assure you, if we missed the mark, it was not due to any price discrimination or even lack of concern. We have a small but committed staff, however, customer service is a skill that requires presence and if you miss this for a moment, it can come off as neglect. We will continue to work on our service skills. The Tabard is our home and you should feel welcomed here.
I would like to state for all past and future guests that assistance with luggage is absolutely available. The only time that we can't guarantee is between 11:00pm and 7:00am when we simply don't always have the staff, but exceptions can be made. This has been mentioned a few times and it is helpful to know that this is not being made clear. It's a simple fix and we will improve it, whether extra staff is needed or just a more tactful way of offering.
Lastly, I would like to reiterate your room tip to future or returning guests. The Tabard Inn has it's "quirks" for sure, let us know your questions, concerns, and requests and we will do our best to assign a suitable room. Every guest is different...but not every hotel!

Sincerely,
Jared Wilayto
Hotel Manager
202-785-1277 ext 306
jared@tabardinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place has a history, and it shows. The buildings (three old rowhouses joined together) are well preserved and beautifully renovated. They reflect a long gone charm that comes with steep narrow staircases and oddly shaped rooms, narrow corridors and high ceilings, heavy beams and old stone fireplaces. Rooms are furnished with interesting and functional antiques and painted with verve and gay abandon. Bathroom redecorating is very creative, functional, and sophisticated. Location is good, and the bar and the restaurant both enjoy a fine reputation, which they strive hard to maintain. Brunch on the patio is delightful, and the mixology deserves recognition (and some serious testing and evaluation).

While service in the bar and restaurant are really excellent, you may find yourself carrying your own bags up several flights of steep narrow stairs. Getting a reservation takes persistence and patience and leaves you wondering if they need (or want) your business.

Location is within easy walking distance of DuPont Circle, and stepping out the door onto the quiet side street where the entrance is located is a pleasure. There are a hundred outstanding restaurants within walking distance, even more coffee houses, and yes, Kramer Books is still in business.

Overall, recommended for the truly interesting experience, architecture, and decor. Worth a visit, but you probably won't go back to stay in the hotel again either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is one of those unique boutique hotels which i'll remember long after I checked out. The Inn has been operating for almost 100 years, but the rooms are very clean. The bathroom is very narrow, but very clean and refitted with modern fixtures. From the outside the Inn looks small, but once inside you can get lost in the maze of twisting corridors and "hidden" rooms. The decor is quirky and almost spooky at night, with old portraits, paintings and posters everywhere. There is a Japanese themed sitting room, and a tiny "Elephant Room" sitting area. Furniture in bedroom is antique. The outdoor garden dining area is very nice with a parachute hanging overhead. Service was efficient. Location is convenient near Dupont Circle and walking distance to the Mall area. Will come again the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.