We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect DC hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center to your Saves list
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #91 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect DC hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at many DC hotels, and the westin is by far my favorite. Recently updated, the rooms are clean and beds are some of the most comfortable hotel beds that I've ever experienced. The staff is very helpful, especially Dorris who answers guest services at night. They have an opportunity to deny housekeeping - good for the environment and also earns you Starwood points. The location is fantastic - close to the mall and White House, also within walking distance of great restaurants on P street and 14th.

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    135
    62
    31
    17
See reviews for
81
64
13
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was very very nice. Wonderful location with lots of parking nearby if you were lucky. It was truly only 5 blocks from the White House too which was awesome to see in person. Our room was great. Lots of natural sunlight and extremely clean. We had two double beds which were so comfortable it was hard each morning to get out of. I definitely would like to stay again the next time I come to DC. By the way they had the best soap I've ever used

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was in town for a conference, and this was the closest hotel I could book. It is nice, especially good service in the lobby bar! However the location is sandwiched into a small space surrounded by similar buildings. Since there are outside views to speak of most rooms look into the atrium. Its ok, but can get noisy on the lower floors.

I did not really enjoy or dislike my stay here, it was just a place to sleep, nothing special.

Room Tip: As near as I can tell there are no really good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello WarrenTravels,

Thank you for staying at The Westin D.C. City Center for you most recent visit to our nation’s capital. Thank you for recognizing our Fringetree Bar & Bistro team, they are great at what they do and truly appreciated having you join us for a drink or two. We were sorry to read that you were not fond of the location as well as the atrium design of our hotel. Again thank you for your business.

Live Well,

Westin DC City Center Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff, clean and neat rooms, will come back. Right in the center of Washington, very convenient . Huge lobby, good restaurant. Good size tv, very quiet room, no noise. Clean carpet on floor.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel with our family that includes 2 kids. The front desk staff were very polite and we had a good initial experience. Our room was nice but it overlooked the front lobby which was diappointing for my son. It was a little strange to have an interior viewed room but since we were there to mainly sleep it was OK. Really our issues came with valet parking. The morning we were checking out we requested our car from our room and we were called back and told it would be 6 min. We started down with the two kids (one of which is a very active 18 month old) thinking we shouldn't have to wait. We were on a very tight schedule for the day and our hopes were to get on the road early. We waited outside in the heat with two kids for almost a full hour! We were told that an employee parked behind us and they could not find the keys to move it. Before our car came I went to the front desk to talk to a manager and was told that he/she was busy. They took my name and number and said I would get a call back. To top it off, when we put all of our luggage in the car (no help from valet staff) and got ready to go we noticed the keys weren't in the car and then had to hunt them down. I never got a call back from the manager. The experience was awful and started our day on a bad note. We clearly had to cut our visit to the zoo a little shorter due to this too. I was VERY disappointed in how this was handled by the staff and even more disappointed that I never heard from the manager.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Julie D

Thank you for staying at The Westin D.C. City Center for your most recent visit to our nation’s capital. So sorry to read that you experienced issues with valet parking. We are sharing your comments with our valet team and will work to improve on our short falls. It is our goal to exceed our guests expectations. I am confident that we can resolve these issues so that your next stay is more memorable.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location downtown. We found everyone to be very helpful and friendly. We had a snafu at our check in and had a wait. They offered us free breakfast vouchers as a way to appoligize and it worked well. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin Washington DC City Center was a disappointment on every level.

I stayed here on a business trip and the issues started with Wi-Fi not working in the rooms (for 3-4 days this issue could not be resolved - so, it was not just bad luck). The breakfast was overpriced for what they offered and the food for lunch and dinner was of very poor quality.

The hallways and rooms smelled rather weird and are in dire need of a renovation.
On top of that the experience with the staff was really mixed - some employees were very helpful and understanding of my situation, but some were outright rude and just not professional.

There were so many issues with this hotel that I only can recommend you to steer clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello Xabbu,

Thank you for staying at the Westin D.C. City Center during your most recent visit to D.C. We were sorry to read that you were so disappointed with your stay. We want to improve on our short falls to better deliver award winning service to future guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to provide you with the rejuvenating experience you deserve.

Live Well,

Westin D.C. City Center Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#58 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.