We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center to your Saves list
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #89 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Save here with my family were touring Washington DC was lucky enough to get upgraded to a great corner room

Check in staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful organized reservations at local attractions and restaurants

The breakfast staff has a little bit to be desired they were slow and kind of an attentive

All in all good stay in I'll be back

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    106
    51
    26
    13
See reviews for
55
57
11
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The check-in took a long time but it seemed to be due to a picky guest holding things up. The hotel is decorated nicely and for a busy weekend it was surprisingly quiet. With a comfortable bed, responsive climate control, and a decent cable offering the spacious room was nice to come back to after our busy days. Wifi for $13/day was a disappointment. We didn't use any of the other amenities so I cannot comment on that. We would return to this property in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside view (a lot of rooms have a window into the atrium).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When I say great I'm not obviously talking the Ritz.
I mean as a business traveller I couldn't ask for more!
First the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Nice desk with plugs too.
The doormen were friendly and helpful.
One little diamond is the lobby bar/restaurant. Great salads and don't miss the pumpkin soup!
We had to occupy a table with some TV equipment for 4 hours one day and the 2 head managers stopped by and offered anything we needed.
I liked that.
Great little gym too.
And right off Thomas circle, the location is close to everything.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Greetings GatorBearBob,

Thank you for staying at the Westin D.C. City Center on your recent visit to our nation’s capital. We are happy that you ate well at our Fringetree Bar and took advantage of our Westin Work Out. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to D.C..

Sincerely,

Westin DC City Center Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect location to many restaurants, cafes & bars. Just a short walk down the road. The sights are a short taxi ride away. We had our 5 yr old son with us, so we took taxis everywhere.
Rooms are spacious & comfortable, as was the bathroom. They did'nt have a kettle to boil water for tea, although tea bags & coffee maker was provided. But a call to housekeeping remedied this.
No wifi in room, but free in lobby. Lobby area is comfortable with lots of place to lounge around.
Staff were very friendly & helpful. With taxis, recommendations & interacting with my son.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Greetings,

Thank you for staying at The Westin D.C. City Center on your recent trip to our nation’s capital. We are happy that you enjoyed the location of our property as much as we do. We are also happy that you took comfort in our well-appointed and spacious rooms. Thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our team members as we take great pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to D.C..

Live Well,

Westin DC City Center Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is very near National Airport, and offers a free shuttle to and from. The hotel has clean, good sized, well appointed rooms. All the staff are courteous, helpful, and friendly. I would very happily stay here again.

Green Features: This hotel offers a $5 coupon for each night you decline new towels, sheets, etc., to be used in restaurant or bar on premises.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Christine R.

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin D.C. City Center over the Memorial Day Weekend. We are happy that you enjoyed our location as much as we do and are pleased that you were able to relax in our clean and comfortable rooms over the holiday. We continually strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and are glad that you were well cared for by our team members. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to our nation’s capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at this hotel and our last too! At check-in a room with an outside view as booked was not available so we took an inside view. Room was OK but wifi
was an extra $13/day. Only two towels per room, not enough creamers for one coffee.
First day there the power went off in the bathroom when my wife was drying her hair. We dealt with maintenance for 30 minutes while they flipped breakers in the basement with no success. Packed up and moved to another room on a different floor. In this room the sheets were stained! Each day we had to ask for extra towels and hunt down housekeeper for more creamers. The TV is programmed to open loudly on pay-per-view, necessitating opening menu scrolling to regular TV, another irritation. Bar off the lobby was very nice, staff was nice, good central location,hotel policies stink, restaurant pretty pricey. West Wing Cafe is a half block way and very good. This place is overpriced!

Green Features: Stingy with towels, two per room! Hot water flow plentiful but you cannot regulate flow.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello aebcpama,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay. I am happy that your requests for additional towels and creamers were fulfilled each day, but understand your frustration. We are glad that you were able to unwind in our Fringetree Lounge and enjoyed our D.C. location. We hope for the opportunity to exceed your expectations and welcome you back in the future.

All the best,

Westin DC City Center Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice stay here this past weekend. Great location, near a lot of great restaurants. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff is helpful. Only downfall is you have to pay for WiFi in room, but it's free in the lobby. Overall, very nice hotel and will stay again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.