We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIRD TRIP IN TWO YEARS AND THE WESTIN KEEPS GETTING BETTER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center to your Saves list
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #94 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THIRD TRIP IN TWO YEARS AND THE WESTIN KEEPS GETTING BETTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I truly enjoy this property. Newly renovated with an outstanding staff. The Westin is perfectly located close to the White House, great dining and other popular DC attractions. Everyone who works at this property is very welcoming and eager to assist. I recommend this property without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    96
    50
    25
    13
See reviews for
52
50
9
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kayenta, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My first time staying at this particular hotel and I was completely satisfied and expect to return on my next trip to DC. Hotel was reasonably located next to the Metro and my meeting locations as well as several great restaurants. Enjoyed a steak dinner at the Hamilton just down the street and seafood at the Oceanaire a block down the next night followed by an enjoyable cigar at Shellys on the same street.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had a great view into the interior atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel not only offers clean, spacious rooms, but also unparalleled service. The staff was very helpful in all aspects of our stay: room service, check in, taxis, valet and directions. We were even walking through the lobby with an empty cup and a staff member offered to take it and throw it away. The hotel is in a convenient location and there is even a 24hr CVS one block away for any forgotten items.

Green Features: This hotel offers points or bar credit if you opt to forgo housekeeping.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm writing this review during our stay to better assess the place. I'm here with my wife as she is in town for a conference and always stays here. Maybe a good place if you're here for business but not if you're here on a vacation.
Checked in with no issues and was given room 910; which like many of the rooms is on the inside overlooking the atrium. Note, if you're a light sleeper you don't want any room that overlooks the atrium as the acoustics are horrible and every sound travels up the walls to the ceiling and then backed down, repeating itself. A small group of people can sound like a crowd. Eventually the noise stopped but was awaken early by a wake up call. No, not mine, the room next door. The soundproofing is so bad it was only mildly muffled by the walls. My other issue was the temperature in the room as it was either too cold or too warm and just couldn't get it right. The second night was better as the noise from the atrium was not an issue but morning of third day again heard the phone ringing to wake up my neighbor, and also his iPhone alarm could be heard.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

great location, nice fitness centre, pleasant staff. good room service..but wifi additional costs, although I am a SPG..........................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel has been the best hotel I have ever been too..

No hotel in UK beats this! Firstly the service was great.. we didn't know where anything was and the staff were so helpful in guiding us in the right direction! We were also given a map!

On the map it was detailed in places fl eat.. rating top resturants and also if a vegetarian option was available! For a hotel to do this is above and beyond!

The rooms were massive.. the bed was an high queen size bed which provided the best sleep ever!.. very cosy yet modern at the same time! The bedroom had loads of space as well as the bathroom!

I would recommend this as the number 1 place to stay in Washington.. its great location to the White House and the resturants!

Deffo will be staying here again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Neha,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. It's great that you were able to spend some time with our concierge as she goes out of her way to make sure every guest is able to get the best possible experience out of their visit to DC. Also, very good to hear that you were able to enjoy the famous Westin Heavenly bed as many of our guests do.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Sean Holcombe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great experience! The foyer following the $17M dollar reno is one of the
sites to see if you are visiting the DC area. Any minor glitch or concern we had during our four night stay was addressed promptly and fixed.The staff were really friendly,you can tell they are not just putting it on.When my cell was not on me the bartender called a restaurant for us on his private cell phone to make sure we could get a last minute spot.Just a nice guy! Location/rooms/staff all pretty much 5 star,but price is highly dependant on when you book as with other DC hotels. We looked at the info and pictures on line, but ultimately found our travel agent did as well or better on price so we went with her (thanks Ola).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Front Office Manager at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ronten,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. Our people is ultimately what separates us from the rest of the many hotels in DC. I believe we have some of the best bartenders in the city and I thank you for acknowleding their efforts.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Sean Holcombe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.