We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No view, noisy alleyway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center to your Saves list
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #102 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No view, noisy alleyway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked this hotel as I am an SPG member and attending a conference in DC. It is in a good location but my room overlooked an alley and an office building with large windows. The garbage truck came at 5 am this morning and tonight at 10:30 PM the city is jack-hammering a large swath of concrete in the alley below. I know the Westin isn't responsible for this but offered nothing in exchange for this inconvenience. At almost $300 a night I'm not so happy with this hotel. I'll stay elsewhere my next stay in DC

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    28
    20
    8
See reviews for
32
28
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel always seems to be priced very reasonably for what you get. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the rooms (and amazing beds) are pretty standard for a Westin. The location isn't perfect but I believe it's a much better value than some of the hotels further south. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i'm a canadian who traveled to Washington DC for the first time. i chose to stay at the Westin since its usually a good brand of hotels. However, this Westin doesn't live up to the name. I'm an SPG Gold member so my feedback is in comparison to many Starwood Hotels.

I accessed this hotel by Metro (MacPherson Station) it was $2.15 from the airport.
I was welcomed by some pretty ladies who were quick to get me a room. They also promised many services since it was my 30th birthday- but that never transpired at all during my stay.

The cleaning lady never emptied the garbage each day so the room had an odour. I guess she just put more soap/shampoo and made the bed. I was better off getting the 500 SPG points for not having my room cleaned.

The business centre was listed as a charge although it was free to guest, however no one mentioned this and therefore it was rarely touched by anyone.

I had my family call in from Canada, however they waited a very long time before being transferred to my room since there aren't many staff working at the front desk (usually only one or two). The phones are very hard to hear and I called to get a replacement but that was never delivered.

I would not recommend this hotel for a tourist stay in DC. I would recommend the Hilton or Intercontinental - both of which are similar in prices and locations.

Room Tip: the rooms are all the same- nothing special. either they look out to city or look into the lobby.
See more room tips
Green Features: emptying garbages once per stay is the green way. bring your own air freshener.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had read some negative reviews in the past about this property. I booked it anyway because of the great location and mainly the staff that I was working with. I was reassured the hotel had gone through a full renovation and all would be great. I was so pleasantly please with the ambiance and decor. From the moment you arrive to the decor of the renovated rooms, all was excellent.
We had a corporate meeting there with a wonderful breakfast served. Even more important was the staffs friendliness and willingness to assist the guests. Overall a great experience and we already booked to be back in June.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking in: Music too loud in lobby, we could not hear what the service desk was saying, ( that and she was so soft spoken and spoke broken English and the try to give us a lecture on their green practices...still can't figure out what she said). Did not have the option to take my bags (on rollers) by myself to room (tip!) Please.
Let's go to the bar. The service was terrible. We waited and waited every night (hoping it would get better) Prices were terrible. $13 for a well drink. $16 for brand. $13 for a Kahlua and Coffee. $8 for Canyon Road Chardonnay ( you can get a liter for $9.)
Let's go for breakfast: Eggs Benedict $20 (the eggs were over cooked and little Hollandaise) Tomato Juice $5.95 and Coffee $5.95. Come on (those prices are not on the menu). $40+ for one breakfast.
Upon leaving bell hop grab my bags and put in Taxi...did not see that coming.
On the good side...the rooms were some what nice and the bed was comfortable.
We will not stay there again (unless the company books a block of rooms).
Oh and it is so far away from every thing except the National Geographic.
And Wifi was $13.95 a day.

Room Tip: Do not go here.
See more room tips
Green Features: Who cares!!!!!!!!!!!! Not a nice place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good day,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We value your feedback and I assure you we will share your concerns with the appropriate leaders to review the processes and pricing. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the heavenly bed and our newly renovated room and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Westin during the Microsoft World Partner Conference. There were a lot of people in DC, and a lot of people at the hotel. Everything was great. I really like the fact that you can walk everywhere from the hotel (cool restaurants, the convention center, Sbux, etc.).
My room was nice, spacious, comfortable. Nothing bad to say about tit. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a swell time at this hotel.Its not only neat in appearance but its central in location.
I especially like the wifi connection.Its robust and you really get your work done .The rooms are a tad small if you ask me.But its comfortable and busy environment.

Room Tip: Any floor is okay.I prefer low floors
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is okay.The staff friendly and the environmental practices obvious.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.