We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here--kleptomaniac housekeeping (twice in a 3 night stay) and rooms that smell like a camp fire.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #100 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
“Do not stay here--kleptomaniac housekeeping (twice in a 3 night stay) and rooms that smell like a camp fire.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights,
on business. Housekeeping stole my contact case 2 nights in a row--yes, you read that right. Which you discover when trying to go to sleep. And the hotel tells you to go buy a new case. To top it off, a restaurant outside room has a wood fire grill that makes my room and all my things smell like I've been camping for 3 days. Not ideal when in town for business, on deadline. I travel 1/3 of the year. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Good day,
Thank you for being our guest. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than positive. I assure you we will look into the challenge regarding your contact case. This has never been an issue before and we will take precautionary measures to ensure it does not happen in the future. The smell is admittedly a challenge and we are trying new things and working with our neighbors to correct this. This is not consistent nor does it affect all the rooms. I am sorry you were not offered a room move.
Please let me know if your journey brings you back to Washington DC, so I can ensure a renewing experience.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
30
25
7
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As a Starwood fan, I have not stayed at the Westin City Center before in Washington, this is the first time.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel has been recently renovated as the rooms are fresh, neat and clean. The location is excellent if you are on business downtown as you are dead center to all the activity.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are members of Starwood and booked this hotel for our D.C. visit.
All the rooms seem to look out into the interior of the hotel so you have a rather dark room with no outside view and no way of seeing what kind of weather it is outside.
There were no amenities here except for a bar and starbucks (which will not let you use a starbucks card) The desk people were polite but not really helpful with information and not warm and welcoming that we are used to at Westins more a business hotel.
The location was fine. parking is expensive so would choose another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Get one away from the elevators
See more room tips
Green Features: Expensive hotel more for business but not what we would call friendly
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Good day,
Thank you for being our guest and taking time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations. Our standard rooms do mainly face the interior atrium however we do have deluxe rooms available with exterior views. I will share your feedback with our team and use this as a coaching tool to improve our guest service level.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is located right in the city centre. Very convenient access. The standards are high and staff is service minded. I repeated this hotel as I like the service levels here. Their rooms are spacious and very clean. Worth staying here as price is reasonable also.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was in town for a few days on business.
The hotel was nicely situated next to Thomas Circle so a great location a few blocks from many stores, higher end shopping and fabulous restaurants.
The Washington Monument and Lincoln Memorial a few miles away.

Service was good, no complaints but I didn't need anything.
Nice size rooms and very clean.

Hotel is nice and we had a business conference with great rooms. The food, for conference food, was pretty good.

I would surely return as I thought it was a good value.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable Westin bed as usual. Shower tub wouldn't drain, rooms facing the atrium are subject to all of the noise of the lobby and hotel bar. Concierge is a bit strange and unattentive. Over all clean property.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good day,

Thank you for being our guest and taking time to share your experience. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and I am sorry we fell short for you. Your feedback helps us to improve our products and services, and I will share this with the appropriate leaders to create a better experience.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a few times because it was convenient to meetings I attend. Last winter, It was a mess under construction, but the results are pretty good. It's brighter and cleaner. I've been at more luxurious Westins, but it's fine. A little expensive, but it's DC.

It does have some issues. The walls are a bit thin, half the rooms open to an atrium vs. have outside light and atrium noise echoes throughout the building. The fast internet seems slow and unreliable.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.