We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Save Saved
You added The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington) (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #100 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Dhaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Westin for almost 3 weeks. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, check in and out was a breeze and they handled my extended stay without fuss. Rooms are great, the giant tv good for sport. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location to good restaurants on 1400 is fantastic. Well done.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
19
16
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philly
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A lot of reviews prior to March 2014 refer to the poor general condition of the property. I think all of those can be ignored now. The lobby, restaurant, gym and rooms are all done and it feels like a brand new hotel. I particularly like the huge TV in the room with a good selection of HD channels. A lot of hotels simply put flat screens into rooms but don't upgrade the infrastructure that provides the content.

The bathroom is modern and while it looks like the tubs are original, the walls and hardware were upgraded to provide an awesome rain shower head. Bed was also extremely comfortable.

Location is also good. Easy 5 minute walk to McPherson Square metro. 10 minute walk to the Pennsylvania Ave. side of the White House. Maybe 15-20 minutes down to the Washington Monument.

I got a fantastic AAA $167 rate, which seems too good to be true for the property and location.

Room Tip: ask for exterior facing room. Half the rooms on each floor face the atrium/inside.
See more room tips
Green Features: Opt for the "GO Green" option when you check in if you are an SPG member. They will give 500 points extra per night if you forgo maid service and re-use towels/sheets.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for just one night and it was an enjoyable stay. The renovations are very nice, the bathroom was spacious and clean and we LOVED the shower head! The staff was fantastic from the moment we walked in the door until we left the next morning. We were able to check in early which was nice. The only drawback is the valet only parking. We prefer to do it ourselves, especially on a busy holiday weekend. We had to wait quite a while to get our vehicle when it was time to leave even using their text option to get the vehicle. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here one day, chose the hotel because it looked as if had a well equipped gym, and it does. New machines, above average number of machines, nice gym room with good air. More than what I'm used to. Open 24/7. Room is very new, clean, excellent. Close to Starbucks.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights here with my parents on vacation. Not a bad location, fairly easy walk to the White House and other points of interest downtown. The check-in was fairly easy and we did not have breakfast included, so we didn't make use of any facilities. The concierge was helpful with booking the historic trolley bus tour for us. The 2-double bed room was not particularly big, but adequate for 3 people and had nice furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our breakfast waitress, Alem, was the best. She helped to provide great meals for our son who has gluten and dairy restrictions. The hotel was close to the White House and other landmarks. Our first room had a terrible odor but we were moved to another room which was fine. No free Internet which is ridiculous in this day and age. But the staff was great. Very helpful, courteous, and sincere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good day,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We strive for excellence and your feedback will help us to achieve this. I am pleased that our team provided you with courteous and sincere service. Please know that we do have complimentary internet in the lobby, I am sorry you were not informed of this. Thank you for being our guest.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Westin and it ended up as one of our favorite trips together. The workout facility is the best we have ever seen in a hotel. State of the art cardio equipment as well as plenty of machines and free weights. Spacious area. One morning we went for a run and when we returned the bellman suggested we ask for bottled water from the front desk. Nice touch. Mike worked 4 of the 5 days we stayed at the hotel and one night he walked us to the corner and pointed out exactly where we needed to go for dinner and drinks that evening. He is wonderfully helpful with a suggestion daily on what to see and where to eat. How he handles all the cars, taxis and luggage coming through, well I have no idea. Location is perfect, especially if you like to walk and explore. 3 blocks from the metro, 6 from the White House and blocks from countless dining options in Dupont Circle. We got a deal with Priceline but next time we'll call them direct to book since we always want to stay at this location.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, atrium view, near the elevator. Room was perfect. I have read reviews th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thompson Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.