We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream for the single traveler awaits you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodley Park Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodley Park Guest House to your Saves list
Woodley Park Guest House
2647 Woodley Road, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT – BEST RATES
Ranked #3 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Madison, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream for the single traveler awaits you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a single traveler, the safety, comfort and wonderful care that the Woodley Park Guest House provides, is a treasure.
I have stayed with Courtney and Joe four times now. Some of my visits have been short overnights en route to some foreign place, while others have been to visit my adult children who live and work in Washington, D.C.
No matter the reason for my visit, I am welcomed by a clean, quiet, pleasant room. Breakfast is a wonderful opportunity to meet my fellow guests and enjoy a calm, nourishing start to my day. Whatever my plans might be for the day, WPGH is near the Metro, excellent restaurants and shops.
I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.The only decision is whether to share a bathroom and what floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    29
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
122
91
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is my second four night stay. Your price includes a wonderful and healthy buffet breakfast daily, with fresh fruits, great breads, cottage cheese, lox and cream cheese, healthy cereals and coffees and teas. In the afternoon it's coffee or tea and cookies, scones, and brownies and drinks. Conversation at breakfast led by Courtney in the mornings help you get to know others easily. There's a daily Washington Post and New York Times downstairs and free wifi throughout the building. The property is up to date. The owners are there every day.

Room Tip: Look at their website. There is a wide range of prices and choices of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Woodley Park Guest House for 3 nights while enjoying a sightseeing trip to DC. It's a wonderful place--Courtney, Joe and Josephine made us feel welcome right from the start. The night we checked in Courtney and Joe were hosting an impromptou gathering for guests in the dining room, and we were encouraged to join the group and have a glass of wine and some cheese and crackers. Courney is amazing at remembering guests' names and connecting people with each other. The location of the guest house is perfect, just steps from the Woodley Park-Zoo-Adams Morgan Metro stop and in a vibrant and safe neighborhood within walking distance of many restaurants and the National Zoo. We loved our room 122 on the second floor and it was very quiet, comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfasts were a treat, offering various cereals, delicious bakery breads, fruit salad with yogurt, salmon with capers and cream cheese and hard boiled eggs. You can tell this B&B is a labor of love and it's a place where guests are treated to a first-class, homey, welcoming experience. We were very impressed and the next time we're in DC we'll definitely choose Woodley Park again!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My experience with Woodley Park Guest House began over five years ago when I began staying at WPGH during the week for work. WPGH is a beautiful, restful oasis in the midst of DC. There are many outstanding features to describe, here are my top five: #1 is the incredible cleanliness of the rooms and the care taken each and every day to keep them that way; #2 is the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, who are clearly happy to be there and eager to make you happy too; #3 is the safety and security of the property; #4 is the great location at Woodley Park metro stop and shopping/eating nearby; and #5 is the wonderful quiet atmosphere, certainly a signature feature and very highly valued for this business traveler. On another note, WPGH is also my choice for staying in DC for pleasure, for all the reasons noted above (plus nearby Zoo, Adams Morgan, galleries, Cleveland Park, etc. etc.). Simply a wonderful place to stay in Washington.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have special added touches like antique furniture and art; over the years, I have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston RI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a telecommuter who needs to visit my Dupont Circle office on a regular basis, the Woodley Park Guest House has been the only place I've stayed for several years now. I've stayed tons of times, sometimes for a couple of days and other times for almost a week. It is always the same: immaculately clean, great breakfasts with interesting guests and delightful hosts, conveniently located (1 minute walk) to the Metro or Connecticut Avenue (cabs and buses). Still, Woodley Park is an extremely quiet place to rest your head after a day of work or touristing. BTW--it's really more like a small inn (15 or 16 rooms) than a B&B. I travel extensively for work, and am very picky about where I stay, but rarely take the time to review places. Having tried many other DC accommodations before I discovered Woodley Park Guest House, I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I want to start with the breakfasts. Although they don't have any cooked breakfast, they do have a terrific combination of items for a continental breakfast, including amazing fresh breads from a local bakery and excellent (two kinds) of coffee, smoked salmon, yogurt and fruit and other items. The dining room is one large family style table -- and they don't mind if you linger, which our family did. And one of the members of our family needs gluten free food -- and they had a selection of items (rare in our experience), and at one point, the owner offered to run out and get something from a local store, when we asked (but we didn't let her go!)

The rooms are small and simple. The slightly more expensive rooms are worth it for the extra floor space, in our minds. There is no TV, which was a disappointment (and I didn't realize that when we booked) but there is free WiFi that is fast, so in the end, we didn't mind.

Because of some special requirements for rooms, we talked to them on the phone before booking on line -- and they were very prompt in calling us back (went to message) and were extremely helpful when our plans changed slightly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Staying at the Woodley Park Guest House over Inauguration weekend was a joy. I have always preferred a bed and breakfast to a hotel for the camaraderie of the guests and the hospitality of the hosts. On this weekend, everyone was in a celebratory mood, and the owners hosted a special cocktail hour on both Saturday and on Inauguration Day, and they went out of their way to be sure everyone had the information and resources they needed to totally enjoy the weekend. The inn itself is charming and the rooms very nicely decorated and comfortable. The buffet breakfast offers choices for any taste. And several delightful restaurants are just around the corner, as, very conveniently, is the Woodley Park stop on the Red Line Metro. Courtney and Joe and their staff are ever-present to make sure their guests have an excellent stay, which my friend and I most definitely did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodley Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodley Park Guest House

Address: 2647 Woodley Road, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Woodley Park inn is located in downtown Washington DC, convenient to everything you want to see and do in the Nation's Capital. Just steps to the Metro, and a short walk from the National Zoo and Adam's Morgan, in safe and historic Woodley Park, our bed and breakfast in Washington DC is ideally located for business or leisure travelers. Relax in comfortable and beautifully furnished rooms at our Washington DC B&B and enjoy a delicious complimentary breakfast, newspapers and Internet access. If you are looking for an outstanding District of Columbia bed and breakfast, come experience world-class accommodations and hospitality at our Woodley Park Guest House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodley Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodley Park Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodley Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.