We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodley Park Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Woodley Park Guest House to your Saves list
Woodley Park Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2647 Woodley Road, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Memorial Day Flash Sale
Ranked #3 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our second trip to DC and second stay at the Guest House. Courtney and her staff are so welcoming and really go out of their way to make sure their guests have an excellent experience. We love the close proximity to the metro. There are many good and reasonably priced restaurants in the area. The rooms are lovely and unlike many B&Bs, they clean daily. The breakfast is fresh, easy and has good variety. The guest are very nice as well. It's fun to share tips and ideas about the City. Finally, a big thank you to Courtney for driving us to Hillwood House. It was a little far for my mom to walk from the metro and she saved us the hassle of a cab. Truly excellent service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    30
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
129
95
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington Vic Aust
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 4 days in Washington & were delighted with this B&B. Very hospitable hosts & staff, lovely rooms, a beautiful healthy breakfast & the perfect location for the Metro, restaurants etc.
A great place to stay.
Thank-you, we will definitely revisit Woodley Park Guest House if we return to Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I were in Washington for a week to see the museums etc. and wanted a B&B because we have always found the experience is so much more memorable than a hotel. Here is why we would return without hesitation:
1. WPark B&B location is fabulous, just a 30 sec walk from the Woodley Park/Zoo Metro stop.
2. Staff was outstanding, the owner stays through breakfast to talk with the guests, give suggestions for the days excursions, and to make sure everyone's experience exceeds their expectations.
3.The breakfast has a great variety with fresh bakery breads brought in daily (I loved the pumpkin bread and my husband liked the 9 grain) and numerous cereals, juices, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, and lox and capers with lemon wedges daily.
4. The photos of the rooms are very accurate so depending on what you want to spend, you can choose the size. Except for the couple of rooms with single beds and one with two single beds, the rest have queen beds and vary only in size of actual rooms. Our room, 108, was on the lower level, darling, very comfortable bed, spacious. I asked to see other rooms out of curiosity and we did really like room 122 because of the big bay windows facing the front of the B&B but it is a little more money. Maybe 122 would be a nice treat next time or we will return to 108 which was lovely.
5. We sat on the porch every night with our bottle of wine (we brought a few but there is a store 1 min. walk away) and had great visits with other guests. After 8 hrs of walking around we looked forward to it every day. They put out brownies, cookies etc. which is a nice treat.
6. We asked for recommendations for dinner and they were spot on. Every place was terrific and we would return to them all. They include: Mourayo on Connecticut Ave which was upscale Greek, Oyamel on 7th and D Street fabulous Mexican, Petits Plats just 1 min walk from B&B French but really reg. delicious food (we had Salmon and Filet and went back twice!).
7. One tip for places to see... Hillwood Museum. The best we saw in 7 days. We didnt set aside enough time so we didnt get to see the gardens but it is a place like no other and if I had known how good it was I would have worked our schedule around it.
8. We got a 7 day Metro pass for $35 which worked great. What a value!
We hope you enjoy your stay in Washington as much as we did!

Room Tip: Make time to meet other friendly travelers on the porch and at breakfast. You'll love the locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here alone in mid-Sept and it was a great experience! I travel to DC 4-5 times a year on business, and this time I added a few days onto my trip before a business meeting. I was looking for a quiet place, but something still close to the Metro, restaurants, etc, and this was it. It was so nice to stay here instead of a generic hotel! Owners and staff are really great, and it was really great to meet the guests who were staying there -- all very interesting people! Most of us lingered over breakfast (which was quite yummy!) for quite awhile talking before we headed out for the day. One night we also all sat on the lovely front porch talking for several hours and people watching before heading out to dinner. I also had a room with a shared bathroom, which I was a bit apprehensive about at first, but it worked out just fine. I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights (2 couples), the rooms are just as you see them on the website...beautiful. All of Courtney's staff are very welcoming and friendly, as is Courtney. The breakfasts are nice and consist of breads for toasting, cereals, eggs, smoked salmon, granola, porridge, fruit, cream cheese, tea, coffee, juices. Sometimes you crave a little bacon or sausage, but this was our last stop, so we had eaten enough!! A really comfortable nights sleep in a spacious clean excellently decorated room - just as advertised. The metro sataion is literally around the corner for getting around DC, and the Marriott over the road offers a great place for a late night drink on the way home. Adams Morgan is a 20 minute walk away where there are 2 major streets full of restaurants and bars, and it's really easy to flag a cab home after dinner, even on the weekends!

Room Tip: Just pick the one you like on the website.....you won't be disappointed....Although 107/108/109...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We enjoyed our three-night stay here very much and felt very welcome. The quality and cleanliness of the house, shared areas and our room are unsurpassable.

It's an American B&B, with a communal breakfast table, so if you want anonymity, go somewhere else. As tourists, we were very grateful for the helpful tips from our courteous fellow travellers and the innkeeper.

(European travellers will eventually get used to the ominpresent air conditioning in American buildings. It's worth noting that this guest house has a central system, so you always have cool air in your room, which is of course much more environment-friendly and quieter. You'll get used to it too.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This guest house is in top condition, just off Connecticut Avenue in Woodley Park, just a few steps from Metro. Breakfast only is served, and the owner and staff are very helpful. Beautiful neighborhood and safe enough to return via bus or Metro late at night. Great choice of restaurants within easy walking distance, as is the National Zoo. Adams Morgan with its restaurants and clubs is an easy 10-minute walk away.

Room Tip: Check carefully with staff when booking since some rooms have share bathrooms and are priced accordi...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodley Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodley Park Guest House

Address: 2647 Woodley Road, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodley Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Woodley Park inn is located in downtown Washington DC, convenient to everything you want to see and do in the Nation's Capital. Just steps to the Metro, and a short walk from the National Zoo and Adam's Morgan, in safe and historic Woodley Park, our bed and breakfast in Washington DC is ideally located for business or leisure travelers. Relax in comfortable and beautifully furnished rooms at our Washington DC B&B and enjoy a delicious complimentary breakfast, newspapers and Internet access. If you are looking for an outstanding District of Columbia bed and breakfast, come experience world-class accommodations and hospitality at our Woodley Park Guest House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Woodley Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodley Park Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodley Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.