We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best deal in DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodley Park Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodley Park Guest House to your Saves list
Woodley Park Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2647 Woodley Road, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1/2 Price Sunday
Ranked #3 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The best deal in DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We're on an extended road trip and are staying only in B and B's. There is a reason this one is rated so well by the Tripadvisor community. The location is great - close to the zoo, subway, Dupont Circle, walkable restaurants and easy to get a taxi. It is close to Connecticut Street which is a main artery, but far enough away to not hear any noise (totally quiet at night). While the house has been gutted and refitted as a hotel, meaning the interior has none of the original details - our room is on the larger side with a rocking view of the gardens across the street. All textiles are high end - great sheets, towels, etc. and beautifully decorated in a mix of antiques with cool original, funky art. The staff is helpful and nice. Free Wifi and on site parking, too. This has to be one of the best values in DC.

Room Tip: Room 122 has a lovely bay window that faces a very nice garden in a great walking neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    33
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
132
99
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay here!! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! The owners treat u like family. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location was great, right near the metro and near awesome restaurants. The breakfast was superb!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had an excellent stay here. A couple of minor distractions first. Lower level room (107)means basement with a view of a wall and quite small. It's a nice room in all respects, just don't be disconcerted by the location-quiet!!! The air conditioner didn't work properly the first night and was fixed immediately. This has happened in our house too so we felt right at home.

The really good news regards the owners and desk staff. All of them are delightful and very concerned about you as a person and making your trip worthwhile. They were extremely helpful to a couple of folks who are not D.C. veterans. The breakfast was good but not extraordinary as we've experienced in other B & Bs across the country but the table company was great and international. Above all, this place provides a fine alternative to high priced, sometimes noisy, and almost always hectic hotels.

Make sure to visit the National Cathedral which is close by. Awesome services and tours. Touring Annapolis and the Naval Acadmey is also impressive.

Travel a lot? Try the Sooke Harbor House, Flagstone Meadows Ranch and some of the B & Bs in Charleston.

Room Tip: Call and ask. These folks are a great help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was my first experience at a B&B. The Woodley Park Guest House is on my "will always stay there wahen in D.C." list. It is so comfortable...it was like coming home after a long day at a conference. Courtney (owner) greets you at every breakfast and takes a personal interest in you (and remembers your name after the first meeting!) Ingrid was such a great morning hostess. Although she is quiet, her attention to your needs cannot be beat. And, although I know she is ready to graduate from school soon...Janet was such an entertaining hostess in the evenings. She not only manned the desk, but spent time personally engaging with the guests (yet not intruding on those who wanted quiet). She knew right away I was gluten intolerant and talked about how the morning menu was improved to meet needs of people with special diet needs. If you want comfort and pampering...this is definitely the place!

Room Tip: I was on third floor with a beautiful view of the street. Although I shared a shower in the hall, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I am a fan of bed and breakfast options; but not for business. I ended up staying at the Woodley because my conference hotel was not available. It was a great surprise because it was very quiet, very private, and truly charming. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, the breakfast was fresh and healthy, and my room was large and comfortable. And while I am a self-confessed television addict; the quiet was a peaceful change. I encourage you to give it a try for business or pleasure!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Four of us Mom’s stayed at the Beautiful Woodley Park Bed & Breakfast from July 19 till July 22. We were in DC for the National Downs Syndrome Congress with our adult Downs Syndrome kids. Our kids stayed at a different site. They wanted to show their independence from us. We loved staying at the Woodley B&B. Courtney and her whole staff were so friendly and so helpful to us. The rooms were really nice and quite. The breakfasts were really like a family was eating together. Everyone felt like we were friends and by the time we left on our last day we had made so many friends from all over the world. Courtney and her staff would sit and talk with us and helped us so much with things to do and see in DC. They even helped us plan a dinner together with our adult Downs Syndrome kids.
It was so nice to go back to the Woodley B&B every evening to the peace and quite after long hectic and busy days. So peaceful to get a cookie and cup of coffee and sit on the beautiful front porch of the Woodley B&B. I sure miss sitting on that porch!!!!!!

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms would be great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The positive reviews are all true! The overall ambience of the Woodley Park Guest House is tasteful, sparkling, and welcoming. Most of all, it's the staff that makes this inn special. Kelly, Ingrid, and Courtney are down-to-earth, omni-competent, and have just the right attitude toward guests. They roll with you, understanding your needs and maintaining such a positive, honest outlook that it pervades the whole place. This inn is run so well you feel relaxed and comfortable in every way. We could have sat on the front porch for hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#27 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,124 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 33 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 33 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodley Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodley Park Guest House

Address: 2647 Woodley Road, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodley Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Woodley Park inn is located in downtown Washington DC, convenient to everything you want to see and do in the Nation's Capital. Just steps to the Metro, and a short walk from the National Zoo and Adam's Morgan, in safe and historic Woodley Park, our bed and breakfast in Washington DC is ideally located for business or leisure travelers. Relax in comfortable and beautifully furnished rooms at our Washington DC B&B and enjoy a delicious complimentary breakfast, newspapers and Internet access. If you are looking for an outstanding District of Columbia bed and breakfast, come experience world-class accommodations and hospitality at our Woodley Park Guest House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Woodley Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodley Park Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodley Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.