We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING like it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion on O Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mansion on O Street to your Saves list
The Mansion on O Street
2020 O St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“NOTHING like it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

This place is amazing. I've stayed in a hundred hotels and have never seen anything like this. Some of the rooms are average but the rest are unreal. Great location too. Can't comment on the service, but this place is a true one of a kind.

Stayed January 1999
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    3
    7
    7
See reviews for
13
12
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

As soon as you walk in, your life is forever changed. Secret doors, art and antiques everywhere, music all around. We stayed in the Garden Room that had two plasma Tv's, a deep Jacuzzi that has a set of hidden stairs, and a bed we almost took home with us. This isn't a hotel. You stay in a mansion that is as comfy as your own home.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

When you enter, you know immediately you are in a place where your senses can finally escape the dull, routine world outside. Every room you walk through is different and stimulating. We stayed in the John Lennon Room, which reminds you of his bed-in, while surrounded by unique, authentic memorabilia.

The Sunday Brunch was spectacular as was the entire experience.

No other hotel experience can compare.

TT

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

The lunch buffet was not exciting, the pork dry, coffee cold. We had to ask for water or milk for coffee; our request was treated like it was an imposition. One bathroom, although expensively decorated, was so small that one could not move in it without banging into the walls. We were very glad to leave.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

I just have to agree with a previous poster that there is just no service at all. Once you paid them, the service stops there.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

This pass weekend I had the chance to stay at the Mansion on "O' Street. The creation of every room or hallway was spectacular. Everywhere you go, you have something different to look at. Whether it be art work or old books and jewelry. The food was something spectacular. They did have breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also had a kitchen that was stocked, so if you wanted to cook something yourself. But, my hat is off for the chef, he made some magnificant meals for us. The desert was out of this world.
This hotel is something very special, it is not like your everyday stuff shirt hotel. Very relaxed atmosphere. The owners were very gracious and attentive to our needs. I thouhgt the history behind this hotel was very empressive.
I will positively make an effort to stay again. Another thing, you can read all the other comments about this hotel, but go and make your own opinion .
Everyone is different.
DM

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

Wonderfully eclectic and romantic, yet also frustrating and at times downright unfriendly, the Mansion on O Street has the potential to be truly special but ultimately did not quite deliver for us. The highlight is the hotel itself. Uniquely designed rooms with features you will not find anywhere else (e.g., movie beamers, giant size chess boards in the bathroom, holograms devoted to John Lennon etc,). Common areas are just as much fun, with knick-knacks everywhere (everything is for sale), secret passageways, lots of over-the-top chandeliers. (the kids will love it!).

The negative aspects of the Mansion pertain mainly to the way the hotel is managed. Reservations are taken by email, not by phone. It can take several days for your reservation to be confirmed. Final bills are charged to your credit card without any breakdown of costs. When we called the Mansion to report a significant mistake (i.e., overcharge) in our bill, we were instructed to “send us an email”. In the end, it took well over a month to resolve the dispute. Finally, the management (H and Ted) couldn’t be more different. Ted is good-natured and will find the time to assist whenever there is a problem, but H can be downright rude. Considering that you are paying 5-star rates, it is completely unacceptable to be treated with anything but 5-star service.

The O Mansion room rates reflect the effort that must have gone into designing the place: rates start around $200 (very small rooms, some with shared bathrooms). The nicer rooms are priced around $350/$550. Some multilevel suites top $1000 night.

Our advice: if you desire something out of the ordinary, have a lot of patience, and can manage to only deal with Ted during your stay, we recommend the Mansion on O Street as an intriguing and private place to stay in Washington DC. Otherwise, do yourself a favour and go with the 4 Seasons or the Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion on O Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on O Street

Address: 2020 O St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to over 100 rooms and 32 secret doors the Mansion is an intimate private club, luxury hotel, conference center, and museum. The Mansion combines music, art, architecture, literature and inspiration to craft an exhilarating, entertaining experience, for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mansion on O Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On o Street Hotel Washington Dc
Mansion On o Street Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion on O Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.