We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #95 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you go beyond the "fancy entrance" you find a one star hotel. It is not good for a hotel of that class to cut expenses and earn the maximum of money just leaning on a very motivated and professional staff. I stayed two nights for business with husband and had barely no room to even walk around the front of the hard bed the furniture was very basic and cheap. Our check in was a mess. We were part of a big group of people and found the hotel completely unprepared for this event. The staff was wonderful doing their best to remedy the total lack of organization of the management. The luggage were packed in a cramped space right in the entrance until 3pm the time for check in. Our room was on the second floor, dirty carpet in the corridor and room, a fridge stayed just outside our door room the whole time. The room was small whit a strong smell of humidity and dark even during the day. I would give to that room with a very basic furniture a grade of a one star hotel.
On top of all of this we left our luggage with computers and everything, the day of the check out and they were lost. Nobody knew were they were. The staff again was wonderful trying their best to make up for the lack of staff. Finally after hours of wait, somebody having found our cell phone number in my phone book, called from another group to let us know were our luggage were.

Restaurant food was horrible and apparently it was very difficult (almost impossible) to serve a hot chocolate for breakfast.

Switched hotels...same price, bigger room, across the street.

Room Tip: ask for rooms above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Although I am pleased you found the staff friendly and helpful, I sorry you found your accommodations and check in disappointing. We do hope you come back in the future to experience our Double Tree, warm cookie hospitality. We would also be pleased to note your reservation profile for a room type preference on your next visit. We do have several different room types and sizes depending on a guests priority and needs.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in our city and we do hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    246
    132
    60
    29
See reviews for
127
115
46
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, KS, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall clean, updated hotel with courteous and friendly staff. Hotel located within walking distance to the Smithsonian, central mall, National Gallery, etc. Upon entering the hotel room, the space for the bed and desk area was adequate and furnished as expected, but when I opened the bathroom door I discovered a very tiny space making it difficult to maneuver. I travel a lot for business and pleasure and was surprised by the mismatch between the sleeping and bathroom accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your reviewing our hotel during your recent visit. I’m happy you experienced our friendly staff and found our location convenient to most attractions in the DC area.

I am sorry for your disappointment with the bathroom size on your particular room. We do have a variety of room types available based on availability and would be pleased to note your reservation profile for future stays for preferences.

Thank you again for the kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjtraveler2008
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good: Great breakfast (omlet bar), fun happy hour if you feel like staying in and clean rooms. I've never had any issues with customer service at this DoubleTree and overall enjoy my stays when visiting DC.

Bad: Gym lacks major luster. AC/Heat constantly stays on. Normally you can hit head at 69 degrees and when it gets to 69 it clicks on. This hotel doesn't give you an option for AC or Heat so if you put 69 degrees the heat goes on then the air all night on. They desperately need to fix this. Other than that; good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your reviewing our hotel during your April visit. I’m happy you got to experience our breakfast buffet with omelet’s made to order and our lounge area in 15RIA. Our proud team is always anxious to take care of guests needs.

I am sorry you had experienced some issues with the HVAC unit. We will investigate with our engineering team. I understand your dilemma.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this Double Tree hotel at the end of April. The entire staff was cordial and helpful. The room was nicely furnished. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom, while very new and clean, was quite small, but very nice with new, fluffy towels. The buffet breakfast was very good, and a good value when included in the price of the room. There is a nice fitness room. Close to the McPherson metro stop and a 7-11 and a Whole Foods. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your reviewing our hotel during your April visit. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and recognized our cordial team, warm breakfast and clean rooms with comfy beds. Our convenient location makes for a good walk to most local attractions but is also located not far from the Metro line for further trips.

I hope you enjoyed your time in DC. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel was convenient and clean. Love the warm cookies of course. Lovely seating area situated between the bar and lobby. Staff friendly. Short walk to the White House. We were able to walk to Georgetown easily because the weather was nice, but took a cab back after dinner and it was under $10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay and recognition of our friendly staff and our warm cookies. I am happy you had great weather to get out and enjoy some walking to Georgetown and also enjoyed the comfort of our lobby lounge.

I hope you enjoyed your time in DC. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at this hotel. No incidents to complain of. The place was very clean, staff were friendly and attentive. This place is not the largest hotel but it is quaint. They do give you a cookie when you check-in. Nice. They have plenty of room in the lobby to hang out and watch the news. Food was average, but there are a lot of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in our hotel and found our team to be friendly and attentive. Our hotel is convenient to many area attractions and local eateries along with our 15RIA restaurant.

Thank you so much for the kind words. Your review has much meaning to our proud team. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay in. Not to far to walk to reach the main part of the city and plenty of amenities in immediate vicinity. Reasonably priced. No complaints at all with this hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am pleased you found our hotel to be convenient with lovely accommodations. Our location is great for accessing most major attractions in the city easily.

Thanks again, I hope you enjoyed your time in DC. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1515 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Washington Dc
Washington Dc Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.