We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay during Inauguration Festivities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC to your Saves list
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice Stay during Inauguration Festivities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property for two nights while in DC to attend a few of the 2013 Inauguration festivities. While check-in was efficient we did have to enlist the Manager- AJ to have our room changed to meet my Diamond-Level HH room preferences. We appreciated very much how AJ assisted in securing us another room. Our 5th floor room with King bed was quietly tucked away from the main hallway and was very comfortable. Wi-Fi was complimentary with a coupon code, but it was basically useless in our room and we could not stay connected.
The hotel offers valet parking at $37.00 per night with in/out privileges. The valet team does a great job. We had dinner one night in the on-site Aria Restaurant where both the food and service were very good. We used our complimentary coupons each morning for the breakfast in the same restaurant. The offerings include made-to-order options and a standard menu. Breakfast was good and so was the service from our waiter. The staff overall was very attentive and welcoming.
We did use the computers in the Business Center with no problems, but the center was lacking basic supplies available in most hotel business centers, i.e. pens, pencils, notepads, etc. The hotel is within walking distance to a number of places to eat and in our case 5-6 blocks from Inauguration activities. We typically stay at the Capitol Hilton when in DC, but this property met our needs during this visit.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi not really good in rooms tucked off the main hallway. We were in 541.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Inauguration Attendees,

Thank you for taking time during this exciting week to review your stay. I am pleased to here AJ, our valet team and restaurant team were very accommodating and you enjoyed your stay. My friendly team, takes great pride in assisting our guests. I am not quite sure why your internet seemed to be amiss during your visit but will follow up immediately in house. My engineering team is available upon requests to help trouble shoot technical issues.

I hope you enjoyed your week and we greatly appreciate you spending the inauguration with us. I hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for the kind words. I will be sure to share with the team.

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    269
    155
    66
    31
See reviews for
140
131
48
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a great hotel in a terrific part of D.C. The area is less-traveled by tourists, but it's our favorite D.C. neighborhood (we actually lived around the block for years). Lots of nightlife, restaurants and conveniences are within walking distance, it's six blocks to the White House, and an easy cab to Georgetown or metro to the National Mall. Our wedding guests stayed here in 2011, and the service, food and event area was great. We also stayed here when visiting D.C. in late 2011 after moving away and had a great experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Tahnk you for the great review and recommendation. Our friendly team is very hospitable and enjoys taking care of our guests. Our great location, hotel and great team make for a winning combination when visiting fashionable DuPont Circle area.

Thanks again for the kind words. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. We are happy we can make your return visits so inviting.

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel staff went the extra mile to provide great customer service. We had a few minor problems that were addressed quickly and with FANTASTIC resolution. We love the location of this hotel in the DuPont Circle area of DC. Close to an array of restaurants and walking distance from the White House and many of DC's attractions. We will definitely choose this hotel again the next time we travel to DC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay. I am happy you recognized our proud and friendly team. They are very eager to take care of our travelers. Our friendly team and great hotel is combined perfectly with a great location as you mentioned in the heart of fashiable DuPont Circle area.

Thanks again for the kind words. i will be sure to share with my team. We are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for four nights and it was neat, relatively quiet and a few blocks from Dupont Circle metro. The hotel is near a few zipcar locations but not any inexpensive restaurants or convenience stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Business center on 2nd floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your reponse regarding your recent stay. We appreicate you pointing out our convenient location and the neatness of our hotel. We are looking forward to your return visit. Our guest service team would be pleased to make some other recommendations for reasonable local restaurants. Our in house restauratn , 15RIA is priced competitively with the area. We have everything from sandwiches and appetizers to full entree selections. Thank you once again for your time. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regrads,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I spent five lovely days in December in Washington D.C. and the Double Tree Hotel on Scott Circle, 1515 Rhodes Island, NW, was our home away from home. What lovely people! From their first greeting to their friendly farewell, the staff was totally engaged. They were pleasant hosts. Our accommodations was priced right and cozy, the restaurant was spot on, and the bar an inviting oasis. Their signature cookies accentuated one of the most pleasant hotel stays we’ve had in years. The hotel’s location in ideal for walkers who enjoy short, medium and long familiarization strolls around the active inner city. Kudos to Gary Gray, General Manager. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a response regarding your recent stay. I am happy you were pleased with your accomodations. Our friendly staff and warm, cookie welcome, is equally matched by our convenient location to most major attractions and transportaion in the city.

I will be sure to share your kind words with my team. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable trip and look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice location close to dupont circle and the G2 bus takes you straight to Georgetown. Nice comfortable room and bed & a shower that is powerful that I love. The bathroom is quite small indeed,very small and was quite disappointed that there was only ONE garbage bin in the bathroom and none in the bedroom, none! Chair by the computer desk is uncomfortable and makes for bad back if you are up doing work. Comfy big bed. Charging $9.95 for internet is awful I am a HH member and only stay here so as to not loose my points as Hhonors as this policy if you dont use it or stay for a 12 month period, you will loose your point.
Overall good value for money based on location,price and space. Oh! The warm welcome cookie was delicious but I could not see where the receptionist took it from !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a response regarding your recent stay. We value your input and appreciate the time placed into posting a response. I am happy you have pointed out our great location and comfy bed and powerful showers.

My staff eagerly awaits your return, and yes, we will always have a great warm cookie waiting for you. Thank you once again for the great response. Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The king bed was as comfortable as I've had in a hotel room and the room was clean. The other nice positive is that we were able to check in several hours prior to official check-in time and check-out time is noon, so you don't have to hurry out.

A few negatives: The room safe was totally non-functional; it didn't happen to us, but others in our traveling group reported noisy hallways at night; the in-room coffee was the worst coffee I have ever tasted (it was Wolfgang Puck, so I'm a bit surprised it was so bad), one of the creamers they left came out in a chunk; lack of a quick service place to eat (I think there's a coffee shop on the nearby circle); $37 to park...really?

Overall, it was OK though and despite a few minor negatives, I would consider going back.

Room Tip: Try to get on one of the smaller wings away from the elevators; less likely to have noisy hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay. I am glad you found the bed and room comfortable and clean. I am sorry to hear about the in room safe not functioning. Our efficient engineering team is available on property to quickly assist with any technical challenges with guest rooms. I do apologize for any noise in the hallways from other guests we are very pleased to address any issues that are reported in the hotel to ensure every guest has a satisfying stay. We do hope to see you again soon.

Happy Holidays!

Gary Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC

Address: 1515 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#85 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Washington Dc
Washington Dc Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.