We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel George - another outstanding Kimpton experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Hotel George - another outstanding Kimpton experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I spent three nights at the Hotel George while attending a conference at another hotel. I chose the Hotel George because I have stayed there before and had positive experiences. The same was true for this stay. First, the location is ideal for anyone arriving in D.C. on the train -- just one block away from Union Station. So it also makes it easy to travel around the city on the metro, to museums and restaurants. The staff are consistently polite and helpful, and the rooms are nicely appointed. I also like the separate shower stall in the bathroom. The only hitch was my inability to log on to the WiFi in my room, which may have been a problem with my iPod.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    352
    101
    20
    18
See reviews for
317
431
135
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dandridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed in DC for a couple nights and we were super excited about the deal we got at The Hotel George. Priceline gave us an incredible rate for this "4 Star" hotel, but it was anything but "4 Star". The wallpaper was peeling and the carpet was faded. I do have to say that the bathroom was very nice and it's in a great location next to the Capitol and Union Station; but if you don't get a great deal, I wouldn't stay here. We won't again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I spent a long weekend at Washingtion DC with my wife and 1 year old daughter to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had previously stayed at the Hotel Palomar, another Kimpton Hotel several years ago. We decided to stay at the Hotel George this time because of the location and to take advantage of their Park and Go deal (free valet parking). The Hotel Palomar didn't have this package available for our date.

Check-In is usually at 3pm. Suprisingly, we did not hit any traffic driving down from Philly. So, we got there a little past 12pm and the receptionist had no problem checking us in ahead of time. We requested a crib for our daughter ahead of time and the crib was already in our room when we went in. Make sure to join their Keep In Touch program because you'll get a $10 credit to the mini-bar and free wireless Wifi.

The room was nice and clean. I appreciated the seperate shower stall with complimentary body wash, shampoo, and conditioner. The room was smaller compared to the Hotel Palomar. However, I knew that ahead of time, but the location is more convenient because it's only a couple of blocks from Union Station and a quick walking distance from the Capitol Hill.

The only negative that I could find was that there are no convenience stores (Wawa/7-11) or pharmacies (Rite Aid, CVS, etc.) near the hotel. We needed to buy milk for our daughter and the only place nearby was a liquor store down the block which had milk, but at a premium price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for your business and your “Very Nice” feedback of the Hotel George. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I travel frequently to DC for work and I always try and stay at Hotel George. Well located near the Hill and Union Station, it has a terrific restaurant (Bistro Bis) and outstanding staff that is really responsive. On my last trip there were specific things I wanted in my room and Michael Love the concierge remembered from my previous stays and made sure they were there. Terrific!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for your business and returning to the George once again. I appreciate your feedback and compliments of our outstanding service. I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel proved to be an excellent choice from the very first moment I stepped in. I travelled with a group of people and not all of them spoke English. Despite that, check in was smooth and fast. Rooms are up to Kimpton’s standards. Comfortable beds, high quality toiletries, nice mini bar selection and complimentary fast internet connection. The happy hour did the trick as all of us enjoyed the wine. I totally loved the architecture (the hotel’s coral colored walls) as well as the room design that definitely show attention to the last detail. The idea of having George (the golden fish) welcoming every guest proved to be brilliant. Instantly put a smile on our faces.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for your “Excellent feedback” and comments on the George. When you come back to the States and D.C. please let me know so I can say hello again and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

From the moment we walked through the door, we felt that we were treated like family. Whatever we needed, the staff was there for us. Our suite was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We ate at the Bis bistro which was fantastic! The location was great...easy access to wherever we wanted to go. I will definitely stay there again....hopefully soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for your business and “Wonderful” review of the George. Please let me know when you return and I will personally look after your stay. Thank you again for staying at the George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I chose this hotel after looking around online. The room decor was funky without being over the top, the TV was set tot he correct aspect ratio (pet peeve), which is unusual in any hotel and the bed and pillows were comfortable. I have stayed at hotels from The Four Seasons, W, SLH and Le Germain and value for money The George was excellent. The rooms while not as large, or quite as comfortable or the amenities quite as fancy as these others, was just about on par but for far less money. The restaurant had excellent food and the fitness center was clean and the equipment all in working order.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.