We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago,IL
1 review
“Concierge fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My sister and I stayed for an extended weekend of culture/great food and Michael Love, concierge, was fabulous. He quickly figured out what type of food we wanted to experience and made great recommendations. He was also really knowlegeable about more obscure items (good place for tea) as well as ways to make the trip more fun (the trolley service on really hot days!).
Jessy Scott, manager, also went above and beyond.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    398
    107
    20
    18
See reviews for
350
468
139
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houma, La.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Clean, comfortable and great food all in one Hotel! Walking distance from Capitol Hill and most museums! I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for your positive comments Mike and Thank you for your business. In addition to being located just blocks away from the Capitol building we are just 2 blocks away from Union Station and many outstanding restaurants like Bistro Bis. I look forward to seeing you soon Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel George at the beginning of our trip up the coast to Boston. The hotel is very well presented, the staff as friendly and helpful as you could want (particularly Shana, who was the personification of charm and professionalism).

The hotel is well-located for the Capitol, White House, etc. and also Penn Station, which was useful as we were heading to Baltimore and New York, which are on a direct train line from Penn - see Amtrak timetables.

Be warned that it is quite a long way from Dulles airport to the centre of Washington, so if you have the time, take the train, as our taxi was pretty expensive.

We were in DC in the middle of a massive heatwave, and when we got back to the hotel they provided iced water etc to cool us down, and they do offer coffee and pastries to take to your room for breakfast if you don't want to pay for a full breakfast.

Dinner in the bistro attached to the hotel offers very good food (and is reputedly popular with the local politicians, senators, etc,) however it is very expensive, and we found our waitress to be over-attentive and intrusive; interrupting us when we were in the middle of a conversation, etc. which was pretty annoying.

If you walk out of the hotel and turn right, there is a liquor store on the opposite side of the road, so you can buy beers, soft drinks etc to store in the hotel minibars. Also, in the same direction there is a Starbucks on the corner of the next block.

This is not a great neighbourhood, and there seemed to be quite a lot of homeless people around, so do be careful if you go out at night. Don't wear conspicuous amounts of jewellery.

Whilst I don't have a problem with the hotel itself, which met my expectations, I have to say that next time I'm in Washington I'll stay in Georgetown/Foggy Bottom, which is more residential and peaceful, although a metro ride from the centre.

Overall, this is a welcoming hotel which offers good value for money.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are just 2 blocks away from Union Station which is convenient when travelling to New York’s Penn station. I look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I was at the Hotel George on a business trip, and this was my very first stay here. The staff was very welcoming, friendly, and helpful - making this stay a very pleasant one. The hotel is a short 2 blocks from Union Station and 2 blocks form the Capitol, so it's in a fabulous location for seeing the DC sites. Rooms are modern and best if all, totally ECO-friendly, with a recycling basket in each room. WAY TO GO, HOTEL GEORGE!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you SANDYK for sharing your experience at the George. We are also Green Seal certified and continue to strive to be the leader in this very important area of our business. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The Hotel George is beautiful, quiet, luxurious and clean. The staff are all personable, helpful and very respectful. The value is superb.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you jflintcflint for your wonderful positive feedback of the George. The team and I at the George were very proud to read your recognition of our outstanding service. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My friend and I spent one night at the Hotel George. It is conviently located to Union Station and the Capital. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and it was plenty roomy for the 2 of us. The one draw back was that the shower was on the small side. Once you draw the blinds no light gets into this room, it is very quiet and the beds are super comfy. I got a great nights sleep here!

In addition, the staff is very friendly and really go out of their way to make sure you stay is comfortable. We also grabbed a drink at the resturant bar and it was a great place to just relax with a drink.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for your business and for your feedback of the George. Our Shower and separate tub combination make our guest bathrooms spacious enough for families and multiple occupancy travelers. Bistro Bis is outstanding and one of Washington D.C.’s premier restaurants located just next door to the George. I look forward to having you stay with again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

very positive, great room, quiet, relaxing. everything was very pleasant. (My wife, who is Japanese and expects more than we Westerners would, also was very happy.) We stayed two nights and next time I go to DC on business will request travel department to put this hotel in over the JW Marriott - simply because it was smaller, friendlier and still had the services.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.