We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel George many times over the years and always feel welcome. Greeted by name when I arrive, both Johnnie at the front desk, and the manager, Mike, make it a point to take care of our every need. Mike once got me cufflinks as I had left mine at home. Above and beyond the call of duty. Friendly, accommodating, and efficient, it is a wonderful place to stay in the Capitol Hill area.

Room Tip: Street side is better for noise reduction
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in room. REad about the George's environmentally friendly activities
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review, BarryA269! We're always excited to go above and beyond for our guests. And so glad to hear that it keeps you coming back!

See you soon,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    398
    106
    20
    18
See reviews for
350
467
139
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Centrally located, this hotel affords very nice accommodations. The rooms are quite elegant with friendly staff. The workout facility is small but has good equipment for its purpose. Great choice in downtown DC.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We like your style, BrainyDr. Succinct and positive! Thanks for taking the time to review us so kindly.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed one night in this modern, comfortable hotel which is within five minutes walking distance of Union Station and Capitol Hill. The location is very convenient for exploring Washington. Our room and the public areas were sparkling clean and stylish. The front-of-house staff, particularly the receptionists and porter, were welcoming, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the review, Worksop! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that means you'll come back soon!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My fiancé and I visited DC in March to participate in the Rock'n'Roll Marathon. The George was one of the hosting hotels and offered a great rate. Upon entering the George we were greeted warmly by the front desk manager, Michael. He checked us in swiftly and let us know about all the recent upgrades the hotel had made to the rooms, including new decor and a Keurig machine in each room. The room didn't disappoint- it was beautiful and spacious! The rest of the hotel was equally gorgeous and the adjoining restaurant was delicious (best risotto I've ever had). But what really made our stay was the hospitality we experienced. Michael Love, the manager, and his staff were warm and attentive to every need (and we are some needy travelers). We've stayed at a couple Kimpton hotels across the US and The George is our favorite so far. We would stay at the George again any day!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you, MeganCollar! We do our best to make you feel welcome and it's such a reward to see that it was your biggest impression of your time with us.

See you soon,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Came to the George with my husband and 10 year old son for a long weekend in Washington DC. We were given room 203 which has recently been renovated. 2 queen beds plus a sofa couch. Room was well appointed and spacious. Staff was friendly. Only downside to the room was a noisy HVAC unit when it turned on and off. The location in DC was great as the hotel is within walking distance to the Capitol and the Mall. Great access to the Metro. Restaurant onsite Bis expensive with slow service. Conveniently located near a Corner Bakery for breakfast.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you, HNSadler! We're glad your family enjoyed the long weekend here with us. Thanks also for letting us know about the HVAC in that room. We're looking into it immediately! The whole hotel has been renovated, but there's always work to be done. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family of four, including two kids felt very welcomed by the staff, who was accommodating and friendly. The hotel seems to be more of a businessman's hotel, but our kids thoroughly enjoyed staying there and we were made to feel comfortable and at home! The attached restaurant was fabulous! A little pricey but worth it! And the best part was that the hotel is in walking distance of all the sites to see in DC!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you, 789Maria23! We do work hard to make everybody feel welcomed here on Capitol Hill, so it's great to hear that you and yours felt it! See you soon?!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a great time at the George, recently remodeled rooms. We were upgraded to 2 larger rooms since our initial booking could not be accommodated. Food choice a little limited near hotel but cafe around the corner was nice for breakfast and restaurant at hotel is very good but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, Tennisfan1013! Give us a call when you're booking next time and we'll make sure there are no snags like that upon arrival. We really appreciate your understanding though.

Thank you,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.