We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Amityville, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Right down the street from the Capitol and near other DC landmarks, this is a nice enclave to park your stuff if you're in town for a DC visit. The premises are immaculate and everything is service
able. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Short but sweet! Thanks for the review, MikeMehary. We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    352
    101
    20
    18
See reviews for
316
430
135
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The George has outdone itself with their beautiful new guest rooms. This is my second stay and I so enjoyed the posh new rooms and even cozier beds. And as for the staff....top notch service once again. It was Valentines weekend and my husbands birthday and they made the stay awesome by having wonderful selection of amenities in the room at our check in. The management goes above and beyond to make their guest feel special. Thanks again for a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
You're welcome, Vetgirl69! We're delighted to have contributed to your Valentine's/Birthday success this year. Thanks for the photos along with such a stellar review. We're looking forward to impressing you even further next time!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had business in Washington DC this week, so took the train into Union Station. I looked for a hotel that was nearby both the train station as well as where I was working. The Hotel George was within a short walking distance to Union Train Station, but it was not overcrowded, busy or loud outside.

They had a room available, so I was able to check in early, drop off my bags, and get off to my meeting. Check in was easy. The front desk staff was pleasant. I had booked a Queen room, but I was able to get upgraded to a King room (just a $10 difference, but nice touch). Maybe that had something to do with joining their loyalty club. In addition, I received a $10 “raid the mini bar” coupon for joining their club, as well.

The hotel has recently been refurbished. The rooms are modern, and large enough for one or two people. There’s a desk, a bed and lounge chair. Closet is big enough (not huge), and the bathroom was great. It had both a tub and a large walk-in shower. The soap they use in their showers are in big bottles with pumps. (I guess that’s to eliminate all the tiny plastic bottles that fill our landfills. I like it.). It has a wonderful peppermint scent, that exhilarates and wakes you up!

The room comes with an iron and a hair dryer, AND it has a Keurig coffee maker. I need my coffee in the morning (especially when I work, I’m up early). This is a great feature, and I was happy to have a nice, hot cup of coffee after my morning shower.

There’s a mini bar (snacks as well as a big choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages), and you can either order room service, or visit their restaurant/bar downstairs. I got in late, so ordered just a cup of onion soup and a pot of tea from room service. It was perfect.

The bed, pillows and linens were clean, and comfy, and there are 2 “animal print” bathrobes to wear while you’re there. I picked leopard, but that’s just me…you might be more the zebra type.

All in all, this hotel met my expectations. I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to a friend or business associate.

Green Features: They have large soap/shampoo bottles in the showers so they don't have to throw away so many small shampoo/conditioner bottles. You can hang your towels, so they don't replace them everyday.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for the great review, TheMoonfish! We're glad you were able to stay with us. Let us know if you'll be around again. We'll even scramble for that extra star if you give us the chance.

Cheers,
Kiah (I'm a zebra myself--it takes all kinds!)

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

On our first trip to DC we were looking for somewhere central to stay and decided on the Hotel George.

First impressions of the hotel were great and it is very stylish, clearly alot of though has been put into the design and guest comfort.

The room was very spacious, and it overlook an alley and offices.

It is a great location for Capitol Hill and everything is only a stones throw away.

Whilst is didn't bother us the hotel clearly was full of corporate guests on business and this gave a very cold feel at times. It is the type of place that I would want to stay if I was away on business.

The staff were very helpful and I really wanted to give this place 5*'s however I was not blown away and also the hotel was very noisy, It was not other guests and appeared to be coming from the air conditioning which was loud in itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, KieHugh. We appreciate your sentiment and given our proximity to the Hill don't have much of a choice, but we'd love to welcome you back sometime when Congress is adjourned. We really do play as hard as we work!

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have stayed at Hotel George many times a year for more than 10 years because of the great location and extraordinary service but with the recent renovation to the guest rooms it's also a style setter. My work takes me to DC and staying here makes it a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
That last sentence, Elaine R! We're swooning. Of course compliments are nice but when you say something like that we know we've hit the mark. We look forward to seeing you for more of the same in the future!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked a room at the Hotel George for a special birthday night out. I mentioned the celebration and was greeted with a lovely bottle of wine and cookies to kick off my celebration. The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. I frequent the restaurant that services the hotel, Bistro Bis, and enjoyed my breakfast the next morning as I knew I would. All in all I'd recommend the hotel and restaurant for both business and pleasure trips as the staff is outstanding and accommodations are a step above most in DC.

Room Tip: I believe the hotel is undergoing a remodel- ask for a newer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
What a lovely review, Vlsmaher! Thank you for taking the time to compliment us so eloquently. I'm sure we'll see you at Bistro Bis again, but we hope to see you back here at The George as well.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The people at the hotel are not only knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly, they treat you like a friend right away. They go out their way to help you out, specifically Mr. Michael Love (aka Dr. Love) the Assistant Front Office Manager. He not only recommended the best restaurants and places to go in DC, he helped us out of a serious jam for our competition. He was a LIFE-SAVER for us. The other members of the front desk staff were just as friendly and helpful as well. Everyone was wonderful. Also the food at the Bistro Bis is amazing!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The George, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, Magslivs! Glad to be at your service, as ever. Let us know when you'll visit again!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.