We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wasn't incredibly impressed with the George, but still a nice place to stay. We were given free WiFi on arrival, the staff were polite and genuine. Rooms were spacious. A significant complaint for me was the inroom safe did not fit a standard 15" laptop. The USB/power charging hubs, while a great idea, did not work. Bathroom facilities were good, and large amounts of free shampoo/conditioner/lotion were found in the shower, but all three smelled quite strongly of eucalyptus. Beds were comfortable. Location is very good, especially for Union Station (a 5 min walk).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thanks for the review, PeterB. Never hesitate to ask us for different amenities! We'd love to impress you if you're ever in the neighborhood again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    371
    103
    20
    18
See reviews for
328
448
136
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at The George several times when in D.C. I am always impressed with the personal service, the hospitality of the staff, the warm comfortable atmosphere, the great ambiance, the comfortable and spacious rooms and all of the amenities provided. There is a great restaurant attached to the hotel with 5 star quality food, a wine tasting every day at 5 pm in the lobby which provides an opportunity to meet other guests and share experiences. The fitness center is also well appointed with machines, dumb-bells, and elliptical or treadmill machines. The staff take the time to know the guests and remember their preferences. The bar in the restaurant is warm, inviting, and sociable. And the location is perfect: a couple of blocks from Union Station (train and metro stop) and walking distance to the Capitol and Congress and other great D.C. monuments. I always look forward to returning to The George when I am in D.C.

Green Features: I also appreciate all the steps the hotel takes to engage in environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thanks for the excellent review, Joseph. We hope to continue hosting and delighting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Talk about a pleasant surprise. Since I'm often away from home for work, I decided to surprise my wife with a little bit of a romantic staycation.

Our evening planned on checking into Hotel George, catching a cab to some local adult establishments, visiting H street corridor and having some fun. Our night did not play out that way.

We checked in at 4 after walking all of the way from Metro Center (stupid red line shut down). The check in was quick and easy. The staff took notice to the comment I left on the reservation (explaining it was a rare one on one opportunity with my wife), and it seems we got upgraded to the suite. The hostess checking us in let us know that management had put us in the best available room! What an excellent surprise!

Even better was after getting up to our room, there was a note thanking us for our stay and wishing us a great night, then there was a bottle of red wine, two bottles of water, and a cheese /fruit / sweets plate. What an unexpected but pleasant surprise. We also saw that there was a wine (and Sam Adams Octoberfest) hour at 5.

This was the start to a spontaneous and unplanned night!

We enjoyed our in room snacks and drinks, and headed down to the happy hour. In the lobby near the piano had been set up a bar, where one of the staff members were serving white and red wines, as well as Sam Adams Octoberfest. There had also been a "Wii Bowling Tournament" set up. My wife and i got our drinks and sat down, and LUCKILY stumbled into a round table discussion of Psychologists (in for a conference). We were having some of the most interesting impromptu conversation when the piano fired up. What luck!

It seems as though a visiting guest was an avid piano player, so decided to step the atmosphere another notch with live piano music. This hour was one of the most relaxing, fun hours I've had and never expected.

We had initially planned to go out to dinner somewhere swanky place like 1789 or somewhere else, but with the party moving towards Bistro Bis (the in house restaurant) we decided to go there instead.

Back to the room. The suite was beautiful, had wonderful couches, excellent space, dining room, but the bathroom was what blew my wife away. A Beautiful jacuzzi tub (large enough for 2), beautiful shower, with a vanity for a queen.

Right around the corner is the Dubliner Pub, so if French food isn't your style that is always another option.

After a wild night, we got home in time to catch some of the Ohio St. / Northwestern football game on the tv. The only issue was when my head hit the pillow, I fell asleep. Comfortable bed and pillows, only waking up at 6:30 when the a/c cut off and back on abruptly (I had an alarm set for 7 am anyways).

The biggest regret I had was that we only stayed one night.

Like everyone else suggests, make sure you're a member of the Kimpton Loyalty rewards program, it offers free wifi and a $10 credit for the mini bar.

I plan on being back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Nothing like a staycation, Chrisspike. And nothing we here at The George enjoy more than doing it right. We do share your regret about it only being one evening, though. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived late - a long flight Auckland/SF/Washington DC - but greeted warmly and a glass of vino to settle us for the night. This was our second visit to The George - this time for 4 nights. The location is great for Union Station, Capital Building, NewsMuseum etc; the staff are welcoming and all very friendly & happy; the sangrias at the happy hour go down very nicely thankyou and there is a great restuarant "Bistro Bis" attached to the hotel. We requested a quiet room due to our long flight and late arrival and were very pleased to be put in a quiet, comfortable corner room. Join the Kimpton loyalty program (it costs nothing) and get free wi-fi. Would certainly return - and especially when a good deal comes along which we managed to snag that fitted in with our travels to the US/Canada.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Fred & Denny, Nothing makes up happier than seeing familar faces and welcoming return guests. We hope to host you for a third stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff is by far superior to any hotel I have EVER stayed at. They are friendly and personable and very helpful. The room was great. The restaurant Bistro Bis was excellent and the manager of the restaurant was very nice. Just blocks from Union Station. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: That's what I'm talking about, Phrogfrau! Thanks for taking the time to let us know that our hard work is paying off. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening at the hotel but were welcomed warmly by the staff, who also helped us with the takeaway dinner. It was in the morning that we saw and realized how conveniently located the hotel was. I was particularly happy with the room - super comfortable, clean, well appointed and had every thing that I needed. I also remembered the friendly and helpful bellman. Keep up the good service :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: IneszKL, I'm glad to hear you had a good stay with us here at The George. Let's make it even better the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel only a couple of blocks from Capitol Hill. The staff were friendly from the start to the end of my stay. They were informative and helpful with any questions I had. The room was nicely laid out and I had no issues with it.
NB: Joining their loyalty program gets you free wi-fi in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thanks for the beautiful review, Adam H. I'm wondering what we could do to earn that fifth star, though. Let us know next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.