We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booking Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. Sort of a boutique hotel. With nicer and professional people at counters. Doormen are excellent and friendly and actually informative. Plus... location and access to sights are excellent. Bistro restaurant also has excellent food and a great manager. Cant say enough. I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: E street view is preferable. Plus higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Steve V. Can’t wait to have you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    352
    101
    20
    18
See reviews for
317
431
135
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel George was the perfect venue for our little family reunion. This boutique hotel is lovely! We so enjoyed the cold towels that awaited us as we came in from the DC summer heat, the elegant and cheerful lobby with white sangrias at happy hour, the spacious, nicely decorated and well-stocked rooms, nice bistro and bar next door, and of course the fabulous location.....all wonderful! BUT the best part of our stay at Hotel George was the staff. They were all kind, friendly and helpful. Each and every member of the hotel provided us with excellent service, greeted us daily with genuine smiles and good humor and created a warm and welcoming atmosphere that made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you mspan. You just made our day. I hope Supercritical below has a chance to read your experience at the George. Super excited you had a great time. Have a great summer and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this hotel mainly on account of very positive reviews and its proximity to Union Station. I had also got a good deal booking through a third party for two rooms that could comfortably accommodate our party of five. A few weeks after making the booking, I 'phoned the hotel direct as we had decided to return to DC for the penultimate night of our trip to the US and wanted to see if they could accommodate us. The cost was a bit steep for this second night so I decided to leave it for the time being, particularly since our plans were still fluid at this stage. During the conversation, the hotel receptionist confirmed the rooms that I had reserved on-line comprised a room with a double bed for two people and a second room with two queen beds that could accommodate three people. So far so good, or not as it transpired!

We arrived at the George to find one room eady for us, which turned out to be the double. It was very small, quite nicely furnished but we were happy enough. Later that day when we returned for the happy hour (or happy 20 minutes in our case as we had spent all afternoon sightseeing), we gained access to the second room which turned out to have one double bed that was far too small for our three teenage children. When we explained the situation to the girl on reception, she replied that the hotel was fully booked and that they had no other rooms with two queen beds available. She also said (quite sniffily in my opinion) that as we had made the initial booking through a third party, we should have called the hotel direct subsequently to check the accommodation reserved, which is utter rubbish as I had indeed spoken to the hotel as outlined above and the accommodation was confirmed on that occasion. To cut a long story short, they gave us another room on a different floor with one queen bed and a sofa bed, which is not what we had booked originally. The attitude was one of "take it or leave it" and no one offered to help us move our luggage from one room to another, which was the least they could have done.

So, in contrast with other reviewers, I can only say that our experience of the George was not a pleasant one nor will we ever return to it. In fact, we booked somewhere else for the return leg of our journey to DC a couple of weeks later. In terms of the accommodation itself, the rooms are poky, the external air conditioning units sounded like tractors and did not make for a relaxing night's sleep plus the bathrooms have a somewhat jaded appearance and could do with a makeover.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I have no idea what the food is like, but having been treated with a distinct lack of consideration by this particular receptionist, we had no intention of spending any more money on the premises. In fact, I got the impression that because we were only staying for one night and because we had obtained a heavily-discounted rate, that we were being treated less favourably than other guests. All in all, a pity as I had high expectations for this hotel that unfortunately were not realised.

Room Tip: Don't bother - just go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: So Sorry Supercritical. I guess your profile name really fits your review style. My apologies for any inconveniences you experienced while staying at the George. I know we tried very hard to accommodate your requests and will try harder next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol Cyprus
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is very close to the Smithsonian Museums and other places of interest, it is also very close to Union Station. I was impressed by the excellent service by very helpful staff who seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. The free wine tasting was a very friendly and social event. The staff were very hospitable and welcoming. The rooms were clean & well equipped - charging points on the desk and by the bed. A docking station, a good hair dryer, iron and ironing board. An umbrella, yoga mat, coffee machine (tea if preferred) all the usual expectations but also a list of things they can supply if needed or forgotton. The free wifi worked well. Although I did not use the bistro it does have a good reputation. There was a very good coffee shop for breakfast almost next door and a couple of Irish Bars for the evening just around the corner. Everything I wanted to see was in easy walking distance but I would also recommend it for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you SueKeo for recognizing our great service and location. You made our day at the George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just had an excellent stay at this hotel. A lovely big room and good service. The bar and doing room were really good and a delicious bar menu. It is about 3 minutes walk from Union Station and an easy walk to Capital Hill and the Smithsonian Museums.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Caitriana, I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned after staying 7 nights in this hotel. The stay was wonderful, the location is excellent and is a five minute walk away from Union Station.which is where all the HOHO buses depart including the Duck.

All of the staff that we interacted with were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed the complimentary wine on an evening after some hectic sightseeing and the free internet was a great help.

The room was a good size and very comfortable and included a flat screen TV and DVD player.

We would not hesitate to stay here again if we return to Washington.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the 8th floor yet it faced the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you AlanSusan for your business and your Wonderful review. Come back and see us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel George and had a great experience. The bed is really comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. The evening wine is a terrific bonus. As a member of the Kimpton program, we even had free wifi!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Marjorie for your TERRIFIC review. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.