We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem Hotel Close in Prime Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Save Saved
You added The George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1!
Ranked #9 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gem Hotel Close in Prime Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel George for three nights in April and loved it! The hotel is only 1/2 block from Union Station and roughly 2 blocks from the Capital. So convenient. The hotel room was nice and clean. The carpet was stained in places, but everything else looked new. My girls loved their kids program. They received a toy upon arrival and also received cookies and milk every night. They also loved the local resident fish. The fitness center was very nice too. There is no question that I would stay at the Hotel George again when visiting the lovely DC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You Worldsbig. Was super happy to read your girls loved our treasure chest filled with toys. Thank you for your business. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    933
    330
    93
    20
    18
See reviews for
304
395
133
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the friendly greeting from Soloman and Isreal (who moved luggage, parked cars, opened doors, provided impromptu concierge services and generally worked hard to make sure that all was well) on our arrival 'til the equally friendly adieu on our departure we thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at the George. While the room that we had was not huge it was beautifully appointed with comfortable bedding, good lighting, free wifi, well stocked mini bar and a great bathroom. The hotel has a complimentary wine service in the lobby lounge between 5:00 and 6:00 every evening which was a wonderful way to unwind after a heavy day of sightseeing in DC. The Bistro Bis restaurant adjoining the hotel serves top class cuisine. Last but not least, the location, very close to Union Station is ideal for taking the Metro or boarding tourist buses. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Awesome news Roddy, Solomon and Israel are part of the legion of super nice people on our George Team. Very kind of you to take the time share your great time at the George. I hope to be able to meet you again in person when you return to visit us. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were moving from one hotel to another. When we arrived at The George, we had been given incorrect information and our room was not ready as promised. Johnny Pelzer was absolutely awesome. He went well above and beyond what we expected and did everything in his power to accommodate us and make our stay the best. We were completely satisfied with the hotel and the service we received. The restaurant in the hotel, Bistro Bis, was also a great place, the staff was very accommodating and the food was great. Overall a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Antfa, Super Johnny to the rescue again. We were super excited to have you stay with us and thank you very much for recognizing Johnny’s efforts. I will share your comments with him and the rest of the team. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, clean, friendly, well serviced and above all a wonderful location in downtown Washington. This is an especially nice location and within walking distance of Union Station. This is a really appreciated addition especially for thos who don't llke driving to Washington and enjoy a leisurely trip by train. To enjoy Washington you don't need and preferably should avoid driving. We were there recently and had a great time seeing the sites and enjoying the Spring weather. The GEORGE is less than a 15 minute walk to the Capital and the mall. The Smithsonian museums are similarly close at hand. The neighborhood near the hotel is amazingly rich in a variety of restaurants even for someone like myself, a jaded New Yorker. The hotel rooms are large enough so you don't have to hide your luggage away or trip over it in the room. The bathrooms are very modern with all the amenities and excellent toiletries-suitable to take home. The only small issue is the price of breakfast which is frequently overpriced in any hotel and the George is no exception. However the proximity to Union Station provides a multitude of breakfast alternatives from the chic to the fast-food variety. Signing onto the frequent guest club (free) provides free internet access--another large perk if you need to stay in touch. I would return here without question and recommend highly.

Room Tip: A room in the back avoids some of the street noise which was NOT excessive anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you New Jersey for your business and for taking the time to share your great comments about your stay at the George. Union station is just 2 blocks away which does make us a perfect location when travelling by train into D.C. Please come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night while attending a conference. Room was clean and spacious, a pretty standard room. Some of the fixtures such as the chipped bathtub are aging but the friendly staff make up for it. We were going to have to valet park for $50 but they told us about the garage across the street which was $22. They also told us that we could park on the street for free on a Sunday. Most hotels don't freely give you this sort of information so we really appreciated their honesty. Great location, friendly staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed in May 2013. The staff could not have been nice, providing us with anything and everything we asked for. Started with the front desk and bellman as soon as we arrived and continued through our stay and checkout. They could not have made our stay more relaxing or comfortable. They helped with a fridge and micro wave so we could warm food that we brought and secured our belongings after checkout until we returned to leave DC in the very late afternoon. The room was fantastic, very comfortable with all of the amenities we could imagine and some that we had not imagined. Great location near the Capitol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: From one New Yorker to another (me being from New York) Thank you for recognizing our great team. We know there are many choices in D.C. (126) and we thank you for staying with us. Come back you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in January 2013. Wonderful location, truly only a short walk to the Capitol and mall. The room was well appointed and spacious. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was a gem. The food was excellent - and the desserts fantastic. The wait staff was friendly without crossing the line - I would go to the restaurant again even of we never get to stay at the hotel,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Judith W. Glad you had a great experience at Bistro Bis and hope when you come back you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;