We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Save Saved
You added The George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1!
Ranked #10 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel George is a great place to stay, especially if you have business on, or near , the Hill. It is a small to medium sized hotel with an excellent bistro and daily happy hour in the lobby. The rooms are large and well appointed with ample lighting. The internet is fast and reliable. The staff are outstanding and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Treeeman, thank you so much for the shout-out in regards to our outstanding staff. Exceptional service is what we strive for here at The George so I am very happy to read that we accomplished our goal. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    923
    326
    92
    20
    18
See reviews for
301
387
131
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stay at Hotel George regularly and it is always great. Perfectly located near the capitol and easy to get to the subway. Staff here are always friendly and helpful. Restaurant is one of the best in DC serving outstanding french food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: chanjinla, thank you for choosing The George as the best hotel in DC. We hope to create another perfect stay for you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blooming Prairie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travelled to participate in a national collaborative retreat and was directed to the Hotel George as one of the lodging options as the location was very close to our meeting venue.
I had not previously stayed at a Kimpton Hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the attention to the information I completed on my "In-Touch Membership". Staff members were pleasant and with this being my first time in DC, helpful in providing me maps and information on the many attractions. I liked the boutique atmosphere and my room was in a quiet location, clean, spacious, and very comfortable.I enjoyed a breakfast meal in the Bis restaurant and excellent wine in the lounge as well as during the wine/beer hour in the lobby. Overall an excellent experience, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Recommend enrolling in the "In-touch" member program allows one to select room preferences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Diane O, "pleasant/excellent/highly recommend"... reading these words in your post just made my day - thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I love the Kimpton chain and stay in their hotels whenever possible. I'm part of their loyalty program and that usually snags me extra special attention. Not so at Hotel George in DC.

First impressions were okay. Hotel was centrally located near Union Station. On site restaurant Bis Bistro looked promising. Lobby was small but I liked the funky George Washington art on the walls. Then the room - small, rundown and facing 3 brick walls, also right next to the elevator. The room was so awkwardly laid out that there was nowhere to open a suitcase. We didn't complain because we were only in town for one night and didn't want to deal with the hassle. We had a late lunch at Bis. Lovely sitting outside on the sunny spring day. Food was pretty good but expensive (and we live in Manhattan).

That evening, we woke up like 20 times as rowdy guests came home and got on and off the elevator. Adding to this was the A/C that was so loud every time it came on that we finally decided to turn it off and just sweat. Also the bed moved the other person anytime one person moved. No extra pillows in the room. After a night of no sleep, we had to get up at 5am to run a half marathon. When we returned, we requested a late checkout so we could shower, etc before we left. They said no. That was the final straw. I'm done with Kimpton forever.

Room Tip: Far away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Wanderlust6553, let's turn this experience around. Contact me directly next time business or pleasure brings you to DC and I will ensure you have a flawless stay. Thank you for your loyalty and business to Kimpton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Am surprised at all the rave reviews. Check in service efficient and pleasant. Hotel itself is in need of refurbishing. Hallways are really depressing and room (6th floor on E St side) felt dated; visible spots on room easy chair; no turn-down service; no extra pillows in room; pump bottle dispensers for soap, shampoo, etc., housekeeping for day didn't arrive until after 3:30 pm. None of these things alone are awful, but hotel certainly does not exude luxury.

Hotel restaurant, Bistro Bis is pretty highly rated. Again, surprised. Food average and also in need old a re-do: banquette seats had holes/cracks. Hotel says its independent, but it doesn't reflect we'll on hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: MCSCarmel, I was pleased to read that your experience at the front desk was pleasant. However, I do apologize for your less than stellar stay in regards to your feedback about the condition of the hotel. We have a full renovation scheduled for early next year so we hope to see you again to turn this experience around. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I travelled to participate in oral arguments at the Supreme Court. The location was superb--just one block from the train station and several blocks to Capital Hill and the Supreme Court.

As with most Kimpton Hotels, I was treated well as an in-touch member upon arrival. It is not inexpensive to stay there, but it is a beautiful boutique hotel with great ammenities. Wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level/quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: NorthhamptonSyd, we are very happy that you were able to experience our "wonderful staff" first hand. Please come back for some more exceptional service - thank you for your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel in August 2012 after dropping off our daughter at UMD. The staff was very friendly and had the admosphere of being at home, but with a chic flare. It is in a great location near the Capitol and Union Station. We were only here two nights and got a great rate through priceline. Absolutely no complaints except we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: MaggieSpice, we never let our guests leave the hotel with an unresolved complaint...So you must come back for another flawless stay ;-) Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.