We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton never dissapoints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kimpton never dissapoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I frequent DC for work and usually stay in a Kimpton in Dupont Circle, however, this time had to stay near Capitol Hill so stayed at the George. As usual Kimpton, did not dissapoint! The staff was amazing as usual- very welcoming and when I asked for a quiet room on a high floor they obliged warmly. Hotel George has wonderful rooms with room for stretching out on the couch and large, well kept bathrooms.The bed was comfortable -which has been my experience in kimpton hotels, hot stiff hotel beds - and down bedding. As usualy, had a great stay at Kimpton!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: ellagrace8, we take great pride in honoring our guest's preferences and requests - so I am very happy to read that we were able to make you most comfortable during your stay here at The George. Please come join us again soon and we will be sure to continue the amazement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    352
    101
    20
    18
See reviews for
316
430
135
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings on Hudson, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel George is wonderful. My husband and I love to stay here when we visit DC. On our last trip we had so much fun biking around DC (with bikes provided by The George!) and every afternoon we returned to Michael's amazing Sangria! Everyone at Hotel George is very friendly and helpful. The location is great, the accommodations are clean and lovely. We look forward to many stays at the Hotel George.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Linda Ty E, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay here at The George. If you thought the sangria was good, then you gotta come try some of our soul-soothing Hot Totties. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

WOW! That is what I say when it comes to THE STAFF of The George Hotel & Bistro Bis In Washington DC. We stayed The Weekend , Friday thru Sunday, Celebrating our daughters Birthday & Her halfway Through her "Residency" Celebration. We were treated as If we were Kings, Queens and Princess's . No Where else have we been treated with such great service, from the Bell man at the door with His Smile and Greeting, to the Gentleman that Brought us an extra Coffee Mug & Tea. All of the Staff worked to satisfy our every need, and Both Edguardo & Michael, Stand out among the best Customer Service representatives of Any Hotel Lodging Facility any where in the world! From Michael's Premier "Hot Totty's to Edguardo's Personal Touch on My Daughters Birthday "Surprise" in Our Room! We were able to check in early, and were given the best Restaurant references for our "WALKING TOUR" of DC. The Room was Excellent,Clean and Like home with the "Throw" on the chair..The Long neck Pillow On the Bed. We also enjoyed the DVD Music , it soothed the "Savage" beast in me after walking 8 hours in DC. We will most assuredly be back to THIS "Kimpton" Hotel George again very soon. THE STAFF is what makes this a great HOTEL!

Room Tip: Stay on "E" Street 3rd Floor Corner Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: mwrotondavesgranite, YES! By golly George I think we've got it! This is what instantly passed through my mind as I read & re-read your awesome post in regards to our exceptional/personalized guest service. Thank you SO much for the kind feedback and shout outs to my rockstars Michael & Edgar, their smiles are from ear to ear! We hope to share some of our magical guest service with you very soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Bid on my room on Priceline.com. Can't believe how lucky I ended up being by staying at the George. What truly makes the George memorable is the staff. Edguardo, Jonny and the ever smiling and accomadating doormen. and oh yes the wine hour. My wife and I can't wait to return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Mark D, Can't wait - Why wait? My team was super stoked to get the shout out. The George's smiles and wine hour awaits your hopefully soon return! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikbolandet
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We made a prepaid reservation on Hotels.com which turned out to be a hit. I have spent too many nights on hotels in my job but this the fastest ever check in and check out. Impressive! Have slept in better hotels but George is real good value. I have one thing that would improve the room, softer bed.
Georges location is superb if you have come to Washington to see the National Mall and surroundings. 300 meters to Union stn, couldn't ask for more!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Unicornone, thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. Please return for some more of The George's excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and convienent to meetings at federal buildings. The staff makes you feel so welcomed, expecially Johnny, Michael Love, Isreal, Edgar and Salama. Love the happy hour after a grueling day of walking the hill.
The rooms are nice and clean. The view isn't great, but for the proximity to office buildings it is just fine. We also had a meeting there that went very well with a nice continental breakfast. Appreciate the coffee pot in the room. So many other hotels have stopped providing coffee pots and for one who likes a cup of coffee before starting my day, it is appreciated.
The restaurant waiters and kitchen are slow, so be prepared. The restaurant manager was very helpful when we had to separate checks. Thanks.
I will certainly be back next year and look forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: jojostew, we are very happy to hear you've found your new home away from home in DC! Please come back for some more exceptional service and happy hour fun. Thank you for your kind feedback and business, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My second visit to this hotel. Nice unique boutique feel, clean, wonderful staff, nice touches all over the place. Hot chocolate in the afternoon, wine at 5, a goodie bag for the kids. Close to Union Station and not far from the mall. As other people have mentioned, the Bistro downstairs is a great place to people watch. You have a good chance at seeing many familiar faces from politics and TV news. One of my favorite hotels in any city.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: PennsyTravelers thank you for coming to stay with us again! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the hot chocolate and children’s goodie bags! Thank you once again and we hope to provide you and your family many more outstanding visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.