We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Love the George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am in DC two weeks a month and began staying at the George three months ago. I is absolutely the best hotel in DC for my money. The staff knows you after your first visit, treats you like family. Bistrot B has great food and the BEST burger in DC. Its the only hotel I will stay at in DC from now on

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: mark d, love the review! We are very happy to see that we have another loyal Kimpton member! We are looking forward to your many future stays here with us at your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    352
    101
    20
    18
See reviews for
316
430
135
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the spur of the moment my wife and I decided to visit my daughter and son-in-law in DC. As we have a new poodle puppy "The Biscuit" we needed a place to stay that allows dogs. The George could not have been a nicer choice. The room was great, the staff friendly and accomodating especially the concierge Edgardo. The food was wonderful in their restaurant the "Bistro Biz". I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: howard s, thank you for this great review! We are always looking forward to welcoming new guests, especially their four-legged friends! Edgardo and the staff are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay here with us! We look forward to seeing you and “The Biscuit” soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at many Kimpton hotels throughout America and this hotel was a let down. The staff at the counter were not very helpful or polite on both checkin and checkout.

The rooms were quite old, and needed some work. The windows looked onto other parts of the building, making it very depressing. The air-conditioning made a rattling sound, and our parts of our air-conditionier were falling out of the wall. We asked staff about this when we checked in - to see if there was another room available - and we were advised that 'all' rooms were in fact like this.

Although this hotel is reasonably cheap, I would prefer to pay a bit more and stay in a better location with a better room and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Jane F, I sincerely apologize that you experienced a less than stellar stay here at Hotel George. We strive for excellence and what you have experienced is not how Hotel George operates. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly on your next trip to Hotel George, and I can assure you of a flawless stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and selected this hotel due to its vicinity to Union Station and an early train departure. The hotel is of a great standard and offered great size rooms and all the amenities you could require (even a fish bowl if you so wish).
My only downer is that on a Sunday evening it was very difficult to find somewhere to eat- Union Station was it and some Irish Pubs around the corner. Walking around didn't feel too safe especially as there was a health centre about 2 blocks down with a lot of people spilling out into the streets. Don't let that stop you though as its only about $7 incl tip by taxi to get to a bustling area. Also you have to pay for wifi (pet peeve) unless you sign up for the Kimpton club.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Thelma_oz, thank you for this lovely review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Next time you come visit, see us at the front desk as we have wonderful restaurant recommendations. Thank you once again and we look forward to your future stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A friend who lives in the area recommened Hotel Monaco (another Kimpton Hotel) but we decied on The George due to proximity to Union Station. The George is a modern boutique hotel that had all the amenities AND many more. All room furnishings were new, clean and well maintained. When we checked in we had to make arrangements to store frozen foods that we brought with us from CA, and the front desk staff gladly took care of this for us. We were able to check-in a bit early (much appreciated after a red-eye flight!). All our small requests were accomadated with a smile. Hotel was very near Capitol, 1 block from Union Station, and within walking to most NW attractions. Getting taxis and airport shuttles was easy. Loaner bikes available in lobby. Environmentally conscious hotel. We had a Great Stay, we felt as though we were at home! The Bistro Restaurant was an added bonus, but we sampled many of the other local food offerings. Of you like higher-end, un pretentious hotels, then this is a place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Ed P, thank you very much for this upscale review! We are very happy to see that we provided a home away from home! This is what we like to accomplish! Thank you once again and we look forward to providing many exceptional stays for you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Euro boutique hotel is conveniently located near the Capitol and Union Station. It is a great Kimpton. Clean, friendly staff, great rates, Nice rooms and decent room service food.
If you have business on the Hill, this is the place to stay. Also nice wine bar in the lobby the weeknight I was there...

Room Tip: Choose side of hotel away from E Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: SCP60745, thank you for this great review! Ah yes, the manager hosted wine reception for our guests of the hotel is one of our biggest treats!! Thank you for your business and we look forward to your future stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed with my teen son for a sight-seeing trip in DC. We stayed 5 nights. Even before we got there, I had asked questions to Edguardo, a guest services professional, who was kind in answering all questions and very welcoming and professional when we arrived. They have nice amenities if you sign up for their free loyalty program with free Wifi, some snacks and wine reception in the evening among other things. Edguardo went beyond and wrote personalized welcoming notes to make us feel at home and was able to get a mini-frig which I had requested since we stayed so long and were very tired at the end of our days. It was my first time in DC and each staff member made you feel like they cared about you and wanted to help. It was very close to walk to union station to use the metro or busses and a few blocks to walk to the capitol and the mall. Easy to stay without a car. The price was reasonable for where you were and being a nice boutique hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Teresa820, thank you for letting us be your first 5 star review!! I have shared your review with my staff, especially with Edguardo and they are thrilled to have made your stay. Thank you once again we hope to see you for many future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.