We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and close to Union Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The George to your Saves list
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #13 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
“Great place to stay and close to Union Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff, especially at the front desk. Hot cider was delicious after a cold day sightseeing. Close to Union Station and the Metro for easy transportation. Just a great hotel and location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Arlene A, wow it looks like our hot cider is a huge hit! You should definitely visit us in the summer when we have our cool sangrias on those hot days! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel George, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    431
    115
    23
    19
See reviews for
380
505
145
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great location for visiting the Capitol and Museums. One block from Union Station. Came in for a Holiday visit on Amtrak and the locaiion could not be better. Can walk to the Metro or the Amrak and Capitol Hill from the Hotel. Very friendly staff and with the off season rates a real bargin. Hot mulled cider and wine every evening made our stay enjoyable. Clean confortable rooms and a teriffic bathroom. No pool so keep that in mind if bringing kids. All and all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: panman58 thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience! Ah yes, our hot apple cider is one of a kind and one of my favorite perks here at the George!! Thank you once again and we look forward to your future stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My spouse, two children and I stayed at this location for our first visit to the capital this December. We picked this hotel because Kimpton hotels are so nice, the location next to Union station and metro access was awesome, and they had a great off season / preChristmas deal. It was easy to walk to the capital building and Smithsonian and easy to catch the metro for more distant destinations. The in hotel restaurant Bistro Bis was pricy but excellent. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly. The room with 2 queen beds accommodated our family well. It was an older hotel redone as a Kimpton so there was some wear but it was very clean. We were on the 7th floor and had no noise issues. It will certainly be my first choice when we return again.

Room Tip: There was no street noise in our 7th floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Wayahdoc, thank you for this great review! We are very happy to see that you and your family had a wonderful stay here with us. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks county pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location is perfect for walking to museums or taking the metro as Union Station is so close. It's very clean with a super-helpful staff, ready to help with finding good restaurants (that were gluten-free), and procuring special museum tickets for my boys. Good design, a wonderful staff and doggie bed with bowls were much appreciated. We've stayed here before and we'll stay here again as it's part of what makes going to Washington DC so wonderful for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: anniefamily, we are so glad you found your home away from home in Washington, D.C. We sincerely appreciate you choosing The George time after time, and look forward to many more of your visits! Thank you for your business and loyalty to Kimpton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 4th anniversary with a weekend stay at Hotel George. We had a lovely experience in the city, and the our accomodations were wonderful. The hotel is conveniently located close to Union Station. Every staff member we encountered was gregarious and helpful. And the staff even sent a lovely card, bottle of wine, and cookie plate to our room to help us celebrate. The daily wine reception in the lobby was a welcome experience and the hot toddies provided some much needed warmth from the blustery cold weather. We certainly would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: HotelHopper25, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! We are stoked to read that we "knocked it out of the park!" in regards to your awesome stay. Regardless of the time of year, we will ensure there are comfortable weather-appropriate beverages ready to be served at your arrival :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Would have given the hotel 5 star plus but we had some problems with a very noisy ventilation system and a disappointing Christmas breakfast. Avoid prebooking breakfast at hotel. Overall however we'll be back:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: JonHenwood, thank you for choosing The George as your preferred hotel over this past Christmas and future stays to come. We appreciate your feedback, and are proud to announce a full renovation this upcoming new year of 2013. Thank you for your business and loyalty to Kimpton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Walking distance to the train station and metro. We were given cookies and wine in our room when they realized it was my husbands birthday. Super friendly and helpful staff. The sheets are so nice and the beds are super comfortable. It feels so clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: rcplantz, thank you so much for choosing The George for your husband's birthday! We are super glad to read that we made it one to remember. We hope to see you again for more special stays. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,495 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 136 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.