We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Jetsetter.com
and 11 more sites!
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Weekends in 2014
Ranked #9 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
bucks county pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We always stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location is perfect for walking to museums or taking the metro as Union Station is so close. It's very clean with a super-helpful staff, ready to help with finding good restaurants (that were gluten-free), and procuring special museum tickets for my boys. Good design, a wonderful staff and doggie bed with bowls were much appreciated. We've stayed here before and we'll stay here again as it's part of what makes going to Washington DC so wonderful for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: anniefamily, we are so glad you found your home away from home in Washington, D.C. We sincerely appreciate you choosing The George time after time, and look forward to many more of your visits! Thank you for your business and loyalty to Kimpton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    865
    304
    89
    20
    18
See reviews for
273
362
126
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 4th anniversary with a weekend stay at Hotel George. We had a lovely experience in the city, and the our accomodations were wonderful. The hotel is conveniently located close to Union Station. Every staff member we encountered was gregarious and helpful. And the staff even sent a lovely card, bottle of wine, and cookie plate to our room to help us celebrate. The daily wine reception in the lobby was a welcome experience and the hot toddies provided some much needed warmth from the blustery cold weather. We certainly would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: HotelHopper25, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! We are stoked to read that we "knocked it out of the park!" in regards to your awesome stay. Regardless of the time of year, we will ensure there are comfortable weather-appropriate beverages ready to be served at your arrival :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Would have given the hotel 5 star plus but we had some problems with a very noisy ventilation system and a disappointing Christmas breakfast. Avoid prebooking breakfast at hotel. Overall however we'll be back:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: JonHenwood, thank you for choosing The George as your preferred hotel over this past Christmas and future stays to come. We appreciate your feedback, and are proud to announce a full renovation this upcoming new year of 2013. Thank you for your business and loyalty to Kimpton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Walking distance to the train station and metro. We were given cookies and wine in our room when they realized it was my husbands birthday. Super friendly and helpful staff. The sheets are so nice and the beds are super comfortable. It feels so clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: rcplantz, thank you so much for choosing The George for your husband's birthday! We are super glad to read that we made it one to remember. We hope to see you again for more special stays. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The staff is terrific--helpful, courteous, and efficient. Rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. Convenient to the Capital and Federal Courthouse. I didn't eat in the restaurant on this trip, but have in prior trips and the food is excellent. Mini-bar is well-stocked and suprisingly reasonably priced. Rooms are good sized, although they don't offer particularly interesting views. Plenty to do in the area and it's easy to walk to where you need to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Michael G, I just finished sharing/praising Team George on your review and kind words describing their performance...All I see when I walk around is :-)
Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for choosing The George!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here while on an overnight trip to see Washington, DC. Everything with this Kimpton hotel was fantastic. While booking the hotel, I noticed a Last Minute Deal price drop from the Last Minute Deal I had booked earlier. With no questions asked, the customer service rep on the phone adjusted my non-refundable price, and gave me a better room!

Arrival was easy. Despite the construction all over Washington, it was pretty easy to get to this hotel. Once there, the decor was wonderful and welcome. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We arrived 4 hours prior to check in and were offered a different room than our original room, if we wanted. We passed, but it was nice to know the offer was there.

Despite being in a major city, the room was spacious (for a city room) and had every amenity that counted. An umbrella, robes, and my absolute favorite - 2 charging stations. By far one of the most needed things in hotels these days. The charging stations had a USB port for smart phones and for tablets.

Parking is a bit of a hassle, but use the parking garage across the street for a lower rate than valet, if you don't plan on moving your car. There are 1 or 2 free street parking spots, if you can snag one, in front of the hotel.

All in all Hotel George manages to keep up the Kimpton style, quality and excellence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Shaka_Dog, we are stoked to have met and exceeded the Kimpton standards of style/quality/excellence throughout your stay. Your review has made my day! Thank you for your business and come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We arrived late at night and immediately were treated with everything we needed by NIkki and Adam. We were here for three nights and there wasn't anything we needed that the hotel wasn't able to help us with. They even provide a whole bunch of complimentary travel items you might forget (phone chargers, tooth brushes, contact solution etc.). They also have a very nice restaurant and bar in lobby which was very enjoyable to visit. I highly recommend the George hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Danny K, WOW!! We are very proud to have both Nikki & Adam on our Team. Our sundries motto is "Forget it? We got it!" so we are very glad to read that we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton
Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The George to your Saves list