We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Style, Ambiance and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Save Saved
You added The George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1!
Ranked #10 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Style, Ambiance and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Seeing a Kimpton Hotel special offer on the internet, we decided to reserve a King room at the Hotel George rather than drive home after a day and evening of socializing in Washington DC.

We received an almost unheard of rate of just less than $100 for a great DC hotel. We were greeted warmly by the valet and the front desk personnel. Check in was almost instant. Our room was fairly spacious, with an adequate closet, flat screen TV, desk, small sofa and a well appointed and very comfortable king bed. It was spotlessly clean and almost everything worked. As a member of the Kimpton Hotel awards program we received free internet (which was fast and flawless) and a complimentary $10 "raid" of the mini-bar. The bathroom was clean and well lit. It was not large but very adequate for the two of us.

After a flawless check out the following morning we drove home only to discover that we had left several articles in the room's dresser drawer. A phone call to the hotel confirmed that they had the articles and would either mail them to us, or hold them for pick up. This was not the hotel's fault, but they stepped up immediately to remedy the situation for us.

We did not eat at Bistro Bis, the Hotel's restaurant, but we did visit the bar. Service was friendly and prompt. There was a good vibe in the bar area, providing us with a pleasant atmosphere for a glass of wine with friends.

Overall a great experience at a very reasonable price. The only very slight negative was the bathroom sink that did not drain very fast. Given the condition of the rest of the facility, I believe it would be repaired for the next guest, though we did not report the problem until we checked out.

This place is a great and we'll visit again!

Room Tip: King Room on the top (8th) floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Tod25, thank for this wonderful review! I am so happy to see that you had a great stay with us and that my staff promptly took care of the lost articles. Speaking from experience it can always be such an ordeal given the situation. Thank you so much for being loyal Kimpton InTouch members, please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    930
    328
    92
    20
    18
See reviews for
302
393
131
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Although our entire stay at the Hotel George was fabulous, the highlight was
the hot toddies made by Michael Love during wine hour. Michael, who used
to be a bar tender, made the spiced bourbon himself! He mixed that delicious
concoction with hot cider and topped the glass with a huge dollop of freshly whipped
cream, sprinkled with cinnamon. We are going back to the Hotel George this Friday evening and I plan on having a few more of his delicious hot toddies!

The hotel staff is wonderful and our room was spacious and spotless. We parked out
front for no fee in metered parking after 6:30 PM.

Union Station, which is located within a short walking distance, offers a huge selection of restaurants. Union Station is a beautiful historic building and a destination in itself. Go there for a fabulous time!

I thank Michael Love for his incredibly delicious hot toddies at wine hour, which were served next to the beautiful lobby Christmas tree! Kimpton, you’ve once again outdone yourself!!!

Room Tip: Request a hotel front view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
General Manager, Chris Cannon: laffinalot, thank you so much for this 5 star review! Yes, Michael is a key ingredient in not only our amazing service, but our delicious beverages provided during our manager hosted wine reception. You should definitely visit us in the summer months when he serves his Special Summertime Sangria! Thank you once again and we look forward to your future stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph Center, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed from Tuesday through Saturday with my 8 year old, and we're definitely coming back. The staff was universally gracious, intuitive in meeting our needs and, since my spelling out words no longer works, occasionally fluent in reading my improvised sign language!

Rose the housekeeper was especially great when I invited her to come clean while I scurried around to gather my stuff before walking out for the day. She could both "disappear" and, in another instant, be a great listener, depending on what I needed.

Even the Salvador Dali-look-alike janitor who passed by my room around 9 one night was as well trained and hospitable as the front desk staff. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Ann B, aw-shucks, you made us blush. This review is the best! The entire staff, especially Rose and our very own Salvador Dali are captivated by your kindhearted words. Thank you once again and we look forward to providing you another exceptional stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay here at the Hotel George in Washington, DC. My company recommended that I stay at this hotel and in my opinion they couldn't have picked a better location. I cannot stress how amazing the customer service and employees have been during my stay here. Nikki at the front desk, has taken excellent care of my needs and I would l like to commend her and the management team on a job well done.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Rob W, thank you for this excellent review!! Nikki and the management team are currently on cloud nine (weather is great) after reading about your sensational stay!! We are looking forward to your visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I wanted to stay at a Hotel in the D.C. area because my company's holiday party was located in the same vicinity. I wanted to enjoy a nice night out on the town and not have to worry about driving 30 min. home to Northern VA. My wife and I were amazed at the rooms, hospitality, and overall comfort. Johnny and the rest of the staff were more than accommodating to our needs. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you for making our once a year celebration a success.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Ryan R, thank you for this A+ review! Any mention of party and Johnny will be at your service faster than you can say Jack Robinson!! Joking aside, Johnny and the rest of the team are overjoyed with the marvelous stay that was provided. Thank you once again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Edgar Podill was great. Because we booked in two pieces, we had two different room prices for the three days. Edgar changed it so that all three days were at the lowest rate, saving us over $200. The room was fine; the bed incredibly comfortable. Bistro Bis is a wonderful place - we had dinner there two nights with friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Nilene C, Edgar did what?!? I can’t believe he just provided another great stay for our wonderful guests! Thank you so much for sharing your exceptional experience here at the Hotel George!! We look forward to your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel George is a great place under any normal circumstances. We were stranded there for an extra 3 days during Hurricane Sandy. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as free of stress as possible. We met lots of other stranded people from all walks of life. Best of all, we were fortunate to not lose power or internet during the storm. Great food and drinks at the restaurant too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Its58_12, WINNING! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel George in spite of that nasty weather. Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.