We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel George A Real Winner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

Save Saved
You added The George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Weekends in 2014
Ranked #10 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel George A Real Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel George is a great place under any normal circumstances. We were stranded there for an extra 3 days during Hurricane Sandy. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as free of stress as possible. We met lots of other stranded people from all walks of life. Best of all, we were fortunate to not lose power or internet during the storm. Great food and drinks at the restaurant too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Its58_12, WINNING! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel George in spite of that nasty weather. Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    905
    317
    93
    20
    18
See reviews for
288
379
129
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed two nights at the George last week, and this hotel remains my favorite spot near Union Station. Edgardo and Jennifer were terrific at check-in (yes, I even noted their names). They gave me some advice for nearby eateries and pubs. The room was what I have come to expect from a Kimpton, always very nice.

Room Tip: Bistro Bis is a great spot inside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Michael M, thank you for this great review! Edgardo and Jennifer are quite the peachy pair when it comes to great service! Thank you once again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had an awesome stay at the george after deciding to say in and talk to Nikki and Bupe all night! They gave me a nice glass of merlot and great company. Definitely a breath of fresh air after 20 hour days 7 days a week working. I'll be coming back to see you guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Robert B, thank you for this 5 star review! Nikki and Bupe AKA our Dynamic Duo are pleased they were able to provide such great service after your long work hours. Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Love it here! great sized rooms, clean, modern, great beds! The customer service was wonderful and I would definitely go back. The only thing that I did not love was the restaurant and the room service... lets just say I paid a lot and didn't get that much. But other than that I loved the hotel and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: casies091684, well this is such wonderful review! I too am I big fan of our luxurious beds- zzzZZzzzz… We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a fantastic hotel and an even more amazing staff! After spending two sleepless nights at the Hyatt across the street (the same place where enormous groups of students not the least bit interested in curfews stayed), my husband and I took our chances and schlepped across the street to Hotel George, where we were greeted by Michael, Johnny and Edgar, three gentlemen who helped to save the day. Not only were we assured that peace, quiet and relaxation would be the themes of our stay, but we were unexpectedly and MOST happily upgraded to the most beautiful room in the building!

We had two fantastic nights at Hotel George and plan to stay there every time we return to DC!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: akj31, thank you for this amazing review! Coincidentally “saving the day” is the middle name of Michael, Johnny and Edgar! We are very thrilled to see we have another loyal Kimpton fan now! Thank you once again and we look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

While the staff was quite lovely, this is far fom a smoke free hotel. My room had a stron, stale smoke odor hat just got worse as the stay went on. If you are sensitive to smoke, avoid this hotel- or at least be very sure your room is manageable for your needs as they book up (and as such were unable to move me).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: Chris B, thank you for sharing your experience from the Hotel George. I can assure you that we are a smoke free hotel and I truly apologize if there was an odiferous smell in the air. When business or pleasure brings you back to DC, please don't hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally ensure your next visit is flawless. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I were in DC for a wedding over Thanksgiving weekend. We had stayed at a NY Kimpton hotel on our wedding night a year and half ago and had such a nice experience we wanted to try one in DC. Kimpton definitely didn't disappoint as Hotel George has nice rooms, is pretty well located, is clean, has great perks (see: afternoon/evening hot chocolate and hot toddies!), and most of all excellent staff! When we checked in Edgardo was super friendly and accommodating, and made us feel welcome throughout our stay. He was very helpful, assisting with everything from parking to breakfast to our late-checkout. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager at The George, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Assistant Front Office Manager, Patrick Donovan: adr387, thank you for this wonderful review!! Edgardo is thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us! Come back and see us for more hot chocolate and hot toddies!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, the George stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. Hotel George, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill’s business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.