We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Hostel Meets B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of William Penn House

William Penn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Penn House
Save
You added William Penn House to your Saves list
515 East Capitol St SE, Washington DC, DC Washington, DC (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Where Hostel Meets B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

A very comfortable group living room and eating area accommodates a lot of people. A school group of 6th graders made the evening boisterous, but they were quiet in the sleeping area. Sleeping quarters are bunk beds and there are four to six beds (2-3 bunks) per room. Even the 10-bed dorm was partitioned into 2 rooms.
Plenty of bathrooms, but to get to some requires traversing all three levels of the house. Early morning quiet hours made it tougher to get up early and get rolling.
It's inexpensive, so you make and unmake your own bed and put up with the wiggle-worm on the other bed in your bunk. All said, an enjoyable visit, especially good for a large group of 4-10 people. Dorms are segregated by sex, but I don't know what the rules would be if a family of four wanted a 4-bed dorm.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was Google Searching to find the Quaker Meeting House in Washington DC and was delighted to find the William Penn House. No Smoking, No Drinking, No Television with Morning Meditation Available. Perfection!!!! The Most Interesting Guest stay there. I met a 77 year old woman going to a Protest at the White House. This was enough to make my Activist Quaker Heart dance with Joy. I stayed there in July of 2013 and returned again in January of 2014.

Room Tip: The Ten Bed Dorm is just as good as the Four Bed Dorm in my not so humble opinion,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Penn H, Manager at William Penn House, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We're so glad you found us, thanks for writing a review! It's great to hear appreciation for how we try to foster community through the simple accommodations, comfortable guest living room and of course the shared breakfast. We love the mix of backgrounds guests bring to the William Penn House, and how many breakfast conversations are about making the world a better place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had never been to DC before, but I had an extra day to tag on to a business trip. I picked this place for location, price and the tripadvisor reviews. What a lucky find! The facilities were adequate to my needs - I wont quibble about getting bumped from the 4 bunk to the 10 bunk room to accommodate a group - but I do wish they had bigger lockers, I could barely fit my lap top in it! But it really is about the location. It's an easy and charming walk from the Eastern Market stop on the metro - there is also the most ridiculously funky breakfast dive on the corner. There are bars and restaurants and a little market, not to mention the Eastern Market nearby. And best of all, its about 4 blocks to the Capital, the Library of Congress, 2 blocks from the Shakespeare library. I could not be happier with this choice and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Penn H, Manager at William Penn House, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for being so understanding about switching rooms. I'm glad you liked enjoyed our Capitol Hill neighborhood, and found Jimmy T's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyed the friendly staff, comfy bunk, and most of all, the location on Capitol Hill. Within 10-mins' walk from Eastern Market, this place is a dream come true. I enjoyed meeting other guests and taking in the quiet 1/2-hour Walking in the Light from 7:30-8 AM. Overall comfy space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was in town for two days on business and I brought my 13 year old daughter along. We chose to stay at WPH after reading the reviews of fellow travelers and we were not disappointed at all. The accommodations were clean, the staff was friendly, the location was excellent, and the experience was unique! Thank you, WPH.

Room Tip: Any room with other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

First experience of staying in a hostel and wasn't disappointed. Breakfast was self serve cereals, toast hot coffee/tea, beds were comfortable and shower was hot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The William Penn House is a quiet but friendly hostel with reasonable prices, clean accommodations, and the best location for all the Federal sights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to William Penn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Penn House

Address: 515 East Capitol St SE, Washington DC, DC Washington, DC
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Penn House is a hospitality center on Capitol Hill grounded in the Quaker faith. We provide overnight accommodations for travelers from around the world in an affordable community-based setting. Rooms are shared with 4-10 beds per room, and cost $40-$45 per person. Included are linens, towels, hot showers, and access to internet and computer. Our cooking facilities include, tea, coffee, microwave, toasters, and fridges. Books, games, meeting and living rooms available. We also serve a simple breakfast and can accommodate gluten free, lactose and vegan diets if given advanced notice. In addition, we work to engage people from all walks of life with issues of peace, social justice, and environmental awareness, through inward reflection, service, education, and community building. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William Penn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.