We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duluthians Tour DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DuPont Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added DuPont Place to your Saves list
DuPont Place
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1905 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly Gallery Inn Hotel) (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Outdoor Festivals in DC
Ranked #21 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Duluthians Tour DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Studio 4 met all our needs perfectly - the very nice appointed kitchenette was especially surprising.The furniture and bed were very comfortable. Enjoyed the outdoor patio for coffee/drinks - felt a part of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Duluthians,
Thank you for staying with us at DuPont Place and for taking the time to leave a review. I am very glad to hear that you took full advantage of our well-appointed kitchenette, we did our best to anticipate guest needs for simple meals.

Our lovely tree-shaded patio is a welcome bonus this time of year. It is indeed a great place to relax in the shade with a coffee/tea and watch the neighbors pass by.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again at DuPont Place, in the meantime we would be delighted to welcome your visiting friends and family.
Best,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The apartment is located on a fairly quiet, mostly residential street, and yet within 7 minutes (walking), you are at the metro station or can find a plethora of great cafes, restaurants, bars, etc. It is a studio apartment with a modest kitchenette, good-sized bathroom, and 2nd floor loft space with queen size bed. The couch/futon folds out to a comfortable bed as well. There is even a small table and chairs. While it's a compact space, the 3 of us didn't feel crowded. It was great for a long weekend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Karen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at DuPont Place, we are delighted to hear that it was a 5* experience all the way around.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your fellow travelers again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We liked the convience of the location, which is near Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan. We would not recommend the place, because of the street noise and the need to keep shades drawn for privacy. Perhaps unity above street level would be an improvement.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Hello MJDavid,
Thank you for your stay at DuPont Place and for leaving a review.

For future reference the studios facing the back of the building are indeed quieter, these would be studios 3, 6 and 9. As for the blinds, the units facing Florida Avenue have new shades that open both bottom up and top down. Lowering from the top allows light in while affording you privacy. We swapped out our existing blinds based on guest feedback similar to yours. It seems that we need to take the additional step of informing our guest that the blinds open top down as well.

Again, we appreciate the feedback, it is always helpful in fine-tuning our guest services.
Charlotte
Manager, DuPont Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

DuPont Place is a three floor building with eight "boutique-style studio" rooms. It is very conveniently located in/near the Dupont Circle neighborhood. This is not a hotel because there is no on-site staff and no dining room, etc. Once you have made a reservation (I did it through < Airbnb.com > but there is also a < DuPont PlaceDC.com > web site.) you are provided a code to gain access to the building and another code to gain access to your room. My room (#4) was very comfortable with a good bed, couch, table for two, bathroom, and a kitchenette with small fridge, microwave, coffer maker, coffee/tea, sink, etc. My room had three large windows as well. The building is at the corner of 19th Street and Florida Avenue, NW and I was concerned about the possibility of traffic noise. However, I did not find this to be a problem and the noise was effectively muted (not silent). I was there during a bitter cold spell but my room was well heated. Unlike some heating/air conditioning units in many hotels, this one was quiet, not noisy even though it was running constantly. There was plenty of resource material in the room for Washington newcomers/tourists. While there is a flat screen TV, there are no directions for how to operate it and I tried various combinations on the remote without ever getting the TV to work. The room comes with free wi-fi and while it seemed slow to me, maybe it was me (using Chromebook). The bathroom is small but modern and quite adequate, though I wondered why there was no soap dish in the shower and no clothes hook in the bathroom. There is no closet in the room, but there is a small sort of chifferobe (only four hangers) and a strange apparatus in the corner with various pegs where clothes can be hung. If you are going to bring a lot of clothes, you'll probably be living out of your suitcase. Would I choose to stay here again? Yes. I liked the privacy, the ability to come and go as I liked without having to deal with housekeeping or other staff, and the general comfort of the room. It didn't bother me that there was no maid service each day and in fact for three days I never made up the bed. DuPont Place is only about a block from a very large Hilton and I treated myself by walking there each morning for a sumptuous breakfast (but there are many dining options in the area).

Room Tip: I don't know about other rooms. I can only promise a room as good as the one I stayed in if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear M Hayes,

Thank you for staying at DuPont Place, we appreciate you taking the time to write a long and thoughtful review of your home-away-from-home in Washington DC.

Your feedback is valuable to us. Thanks to your comments we are ordering a large supply of coat hangers, and installing hooks on the backs of the bathroom doors. I apologize that housekeeping missed placing soap in the shower, that is standard procedure. We have recently ordered a large supply of luxe lemon verbena soap to always have on hand.

The rooms have a compact wardrobe with hangers and drawers plus (thanks to the comments from another guest) a versatile coat rack with adjustable pegs for longer items. All rooms also have a luggage rack for those who prefer to live out of their suitcase. :-)

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the Spring and Summer. We have a private back patio where you can read or work at our bistro tables while enjoying a mug of your in-room Keurig coffee. We also have a lovely patio on the side of the Inn where you can soak up some rays while watching the residents of DuPont Circle going about their day. Next week a hair salon will be opening on the ground level, be sure to ask about discounts for our DuPont Place guests.

With kind regards,
Charlotte Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Customer service was not high on the list of activities the owner chose to demonstrate during my recent visit. We arrived late, as prearranged and mutually agreed. The room was a shambles! As we learned the next day, the owner had made a few extra dollars by accepting a last minute, one night booking for the night prior to our arrival. We called the owner upon making discovery of the dirty room, with linens scattered about and musty odor in the air. While he lives only a short distance away, he would not be bothered to come and tend to his responsibilities. Instead, he insisted the only way to get through the night was that we must find linens in the laundry room and make the bed. He sent flowers and refunded one night of our week long stay the next day. Inadequate performance, inadequate compensation and a generally poor demonstration of care and concern for guests.

Room Tip: Room #3 fronts the back alley, sports a mild mildew odor and is occasionally visited by very large c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear James,

We apologize that your colleague Cori arrived to find an apartment that was not clean at DuPont Place. This was a very rare occurrence, which happened simply because we veered from our 3 night minimum policy in order to help out a regular client. While making exceptions to assist regular clientele is good business, we were distressed to learn that when Cori arrived 2 days later, we had missed the post departure cleaning. In addition to disappointing your colleague Cori (and you) as a guest, we failed to meet our own standard of excellence. We take this very seriously and have thoroughly reexamined the way we coordinate guest departure cleanings and arrivals, and have taken multiple steps to ensure this does not happen again.
We thank Cori for being so gracious about the lapse at the time and offering to just change the sheets on her own that night. She was also very thankful for the flower arrangement and Starbucks gift card we delivered the following morning in addition to the professional cleaning and full night refund.

We would love to earn your business back and hope that you will try DuPont Place again.
All the Best,

Charlotte Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This was our first experience at a VRBO lodging. Overall it was a good experience. The room though small was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The location was wonderful, a couple of blocks off of Connecticut Avenue north of Dupont Circle. An easy walk from the Dupont Circle Metro Station. The first night started rough, however, when the smoke detector began beeping at 4:00 am. Removing the bad battery did not stop it, a quick trip to the nearby Rite Aid and a new battery took care of the problem. City street noise and some noisy neighbors made for a restless night. The difficulties of staying in lodging without an on site manager became obvious. The hotel ran out of coffee, the message was that they were waiting for a shipment. Don't understand why they couldn't go the the store and get some more Keurig cups to supply the residents but not a big issue. Plenty of restaurants, clubs, and shops in the area. Overall a positive experience and one I would be willing to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write, we really appreciate the feedback. You bring up good points and we will take steps to avoid these "hicups" in service in the future. All batteries in the building will be swapped out now every January so we do not have to worry about chirping alarms again. We will increase our onsite inventory for coffee capsules, we were busier than expected this October, and the shipment was delayed with Columbus Day. If it happens again, we'll pick up capsules at Safeway to tide us over.

We would be delighted to host you again on a future visit to Washington, come visit us again. A small but excellent restaurant will be going into our space on the ground floor this winter as an additional amenity to our guests.

Charlotte P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Everything about this stay was positive even prior to the trip. There was a very high of communication and booking was easy. I worked closely with Kevin and he is very professional. It was a great day overall and fantastic neighborhood. It took me approximately seven minutes to walk to the metro and I loved it because you walk through the heart of Dupont Circle.
It is also extremely close to Adams Morgan which is a fun neighborhood. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, General Manager at DuPont Place, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write. The reasons you cite for loving DuPont Place are the same reasons that convinced us to buy the building and convert it to short-stays for professionals traveling to Washington.
We would be delighted to host you again on a future visit to Washington. In the meantime let your friends and colleagues know about us. :-)
Charlotte P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DuPont Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DuPont Place

Address: 1905 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly Gallery Inn Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DuPont Place 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DuPont Place we pride ourselves in providing a positive guest experience that will ensure your visit to Washington is a memorable one. We have an inviting landscaped patio with tables and chairs where guests can plan their excursions or relax after a long day of sightseeing or business meetings. Above all, we want our guests to remember DuPont Place as a pleasant, comfortable home away from home while visiting with us. "Best kept secret in DC...It was wonderful." DuPont Place has 3 types of studios; we have 4 studios with a queen bed, 2 loft studios with a queen bed in the loft and and a convertible sofa in the living area, and 2 large studios with a queen bed and a convertible sofa. Our studios accommodate 1 to 2 guests in a queen bed, the larger units can accommodate an additional 1 to 2 guests on the convertible sofa. A. AMENITIES: They feature modern decor and thoughtful amenities throughout including granite-countered kitchenette with Keurig coffeemaker, microwave oven, and mini-refrigerator and a beautifully tiled bathroom with contemporary vanity. • Great DuPont Circle / Adams Morgan location • Stylishly furnished • Kitchenette (microwave oven/coffeemaker/mini-refrigerator/toaster) • High-speed WIFI • Wall-mounted TV with cable service • IPhone docking station/clock/radio • Linens, towels, place settings • Guest laundry facility • Key-less entry • Beautiful outdoor patio with seating • Limited private parking (additional fee) B. TRANSPORTATION: You won't need a car with the great access to public transit from this location, but if you do have one we have parking spots available for $20/night (please book in advance!). Car share and bike share programs parked around the neighborhood for your convenience in getting from point A to B. You can rent by the hour, for that trip to the grocery store, or by the day so you can venture out to see Monticello or Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your DuPont Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DuPont Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.