We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual hip with good food at equally good prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commissary

Commissary
1443 P St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1907 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)
202-299-0018
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Commissary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Cross street: Between 14th & 15th
Transit: From Dupont Circle: Walk 5 blocks east on P St. Commissary in on P St. between 15h and 14th. From U Street/Cardozo: Walk 6 blocks south on 13th St. Take a right and walk one and a half blocks west on P St. Commissary is on P St. between 14th and 15th. From McPherson Sqaure: Walk 7 blocks north on 14th St. Take a left on P St.
NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Casual hip with good food at equally good prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

During our three days in DC this restaurant was the most enjoyable and best value for our family of four. The kids split a mozerla basil pizza, the wife had the chili, and I had the brats with potato pancakes. All were very good. We'd definitely go back. The BK menu looked very good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    72
    71
    21
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If You Are Not A Regular Do Not Bother Going In”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Decided to stop by as a walk in for dinner. When we entered there was a line and we were not the first and not the last. The two couples in front were asked if they had reservation and they did not but were seated.

When it came to us, we were asked if we had reservations which we did not we were told it was a 20 minute wait. As we were leaving, the couple behind us were asked if they had a reservation which they did not. But you could tell they were regulars and were seated right away.

To add insult to injury, the restaurant was not full. Commissary must think that they are something special. Well, they will not get our business again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfort Food in Hipster Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to this place for an early dinner after catching a play at Studio Theater. It’s very close to a trendy area of 14th Street. I prefer Commissary to its sister restaurant down the street, Logan Tavern, and it did not disappoint. I ordered the pulled chicken quesadilla, which was just the right size for me and appropriately filling. I also had a side of spinach. My dinner companions all enjoyed their food, and one friend’s pizza looked particularly delicious. I had the brownie sundae for dessert, and there was plenty to share with my friends. Another friend shared the chocolate and peanut butter mousse pie with the table. It was super delicious, but very rich—perfect for sharing. My biggest issue was that the tables were placed very close together. I found it impossible to get in and out without skimming the adjacent table and overheard more of other diners’ conversations than I would have liked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a fantastic brunch venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Sunday am. - was packed with a great vibe. Meals were terrific - fresh and tasty. If in DC again will definitely seek it out

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recommend this place, reasonable price for Washington DC. Good service and good gourment american food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commissary also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Commissary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commissary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.