We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great DC Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great DC Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

I am in DC 1-2 times per year and always stay at the Aaron Shipman House whenever I can. If I had my way I would never stay in a DC hotel again- this place is a winner. Unfortunately my travels keep me away from what I hear are enjoyable communal breakfasts as I usually need to leave for an early morning meeting.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aaron Shipman House for 4 nights in Sept 2010. Though initially booked into another B&B we had a last minute cancellation by those owners who arranged our saty at Aaron Shipman instead. We were thrilled when we saw it. The bed was wonderful, the bedroom spacious and comfortable. The house itself is beautifully preserved and decorated - quite a labour of love from its previous appearance 25 years ago. We enjoyed relaxing on the lovely verandah overlooking the garden. The breakfasts were a highlight with Jackie and Charles gracious hosts. Our only disappointment was that we had to miss 2 breakfasts because of early morning committments though provisions were left for us to help ourselves. It felt like staying with friends. The house is close to public transport, lots of good restaurants and a supermarket. Its even close enough to walk to the city centre for those who enjoy a good walk. Would love to come back to the wonderful hospitality at Aaron Shipman House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This bed and breakfast was lovely to stay in while visiting Washington DC. It was clean and the room I stayed in (room 7) was very comfortable. The hosts were very kind and nothing was too much trouble. A delicious breakfast was provided every day with the hosts and all guests eating together. The bed and breakfast was close to bus stops but you can also walk (about 20-25mins) into the tourist area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed with them for 4 nights and had a very pleasant time. Jackie and Charles were very helpful. For example, they pointed out that we could travel much faster if we used the bus system.

The house is very interesting with many historical pieces. The rooms were comfortable. It was almost like staying with friends. We could store some wine or beer in one of the fridges and have a drink in the living room or the porch at night.

The highlight, in many ways, was the breakfast. The food was good but I enjoyed the conversation almost as much since it was lively and informative. A great way to start the day in DC.

The location was very convenient for visiting the standard places in DC. Just take the bus
and you will be in the mall fairly fast. There is a site on the web that can tell you the bus to take from 14 & P to whatever spot you want.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. we were made very welcome and had the run of house. The breakfast was very good and was changed every day.We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasik
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I can't ever forget my lovely stay at this beautiful B&B among such loving hosts!! The place is well-located and is very safe! It is very well-kept, beautiful and cozy as well. The room I stayed in was cozy, very comfortable and convenient. The hosts, Jackie and Charles are one of the most wonderful and warm people I have come across! I never felt like an outsider during my stay. There was always plenty of help/guidance whenever requested. I was also allowed to use the kitchen for my morning hot water-honey-lime ritual while Jackie was best trying to make me feel at home! The best part was when they invited me to join them and their grand-daughters for dessert one of the evenings and I had a great time with all of them! And ofcourse, how can one not mention the lip-smacking hot breakfast served in style!! Dear Jackie and Charles, I LOVED staying at Aaron Shipman House and loved you both!!! Thanks for being such wonderful hosts!! God bless you!!
Lots of Love,
Vasundhara.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I thought this would be a unique alternative for my six year old's first trip to DC. The location was great. Only 4 blocks to the metro and then only 4 stops to get downtown. Also a good location if you are driving. You can easily drive downtown. There were plenty of nice restaurants in the area as well. The common areas were very comfortable. Lots of antiques. The grounds were gorgeous and very inviting. Lots of tables and seating to enjoy a glass of wine in the gardens. The breakfasts were AMAZING! and the warm cookies in the lobby were a special treat. And after spending a day walking...the beds were comfy and the shower was great. Charles, Jackie, and Grace really made you feel like family. It felt like a weekend visit to Grandma's. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House Hotel
Aaron Shipman House b&b
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc
Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list