We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Aaron Shipman in the lower ground apartment and thought it was wonderful. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet the owners but talked on the phone and Jackie was extremely friendly and helpful, as was Steve at Bed and Breakfast DC. The apartment is very well set up and we felt very much at home. It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions but we don't mind walking plus there is a bus at the corner. Would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australian at Large
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the summer, and it was a great experience.
The house is in a clean, safe and rejuvenated neighbourhood and Charles and Jackie have done a wonderful job restoring the house with taste and care. After a long day taking in the sights of DC, we genuinely felt like we were going home when we returned to ASH each night.
One of the highlights of the stay was breakfast. The food was marvellous and the guests from all over the world mixed very well. There are some places where you just want to eat breakfast and get out for the day; we made breakfast last as long as possible!
Charles was a gracious host. He is very knowledgeable about the city and his neighbourhood and is a real gentleman. (We were sorry not to be able to meet Jackie, his wife, she was away while we were there).
Public transport is close. The subway sounds good but the bus service is also close, and quite efficient.
We loved our stay at ASH and when we get back to DC, I really hope we can stay there again.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the one room but they all seemed to be very nicely appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here with another couple for 3 nights from 10-13 September and were very impressed with the comfort and facilities of the basement apartment (including a very well equipped kitchen) and the convenience of nearby public transport to all the local attractions. The hosts were friendly but we saw little of them as we had private street access and could come and go as we pleased. Rear parking was convenient but the apartment lacked some privacy with only one bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in room 5 which is, I think, one of the smaller rooms, but it was spacious enough and very comfortable. This room has a Select Comfort bed (adjustable firmness), ensuite bathroom with shower only, ceiling fan, and wardrobe for hanging clothes.

The neighborhood is quiet at night. Breakfast is plentiful and served family style every morning. Access to all the sights is easy by bus, which is just a block away as are plenty of restaurants.

Our room was clean, towels were changed daily, and guests are welcome to use the living spaces and outdoor areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this House for two nights in September. We drove in from the North and parked our car at the back street of the House. $15 per day for parking is reasonable. The location is convenient - close to restaurants and bus stops. Jackie is very considerate and she lent us two Metro cards so we could travel by bus in the city.

We have breakfasts with other guests and the hosts each morning at 8:00 am. It's good to know other guests and shared/exchanged information about what to see or where to go as tourists. Jackie and Charles are excellent hosts and we enjoyed the conversations at the breakfast table. It's a unique experience and it's fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Aaron Shipman house is a beautifully restored, authentic Victorian brownstone. It's located in the trendy Logan Circle neighbourhood and in very close walking distance to some of Washington DC's top restaurants and bars. The area feels affluent and safe, with lots of locals out and about walking their dogs, strolling with children or going for a run.

We didn't hire a car so all our experience was on foot and by public transport. The 52 and 54 buses into the heart of DC stop nearby and work well. The Metro is a slightly longer walk, 10 mins or more, but cheap and efficient. Dupont Circle is also in reasonable walking distance and offers further choices of places to eat, including the excellent Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe.

But what will make your stay here most memorable are your hosts, Charles and Jackie. Breakfast is always 'family style' in the dining room with other guests. It's like having a dinner party every morning. While we were here we met a surgeon, three doctors, a judge, at least three lawyers, engineers - from locations as varied as Texas, Boston, Melbourne and Canada (plus us from the UK) which meant we had lots of interesting topics and viewpoints to discuss. This was also a good opportunity to exchange recommendations of places to visit. Jackie and Charles are excellent conversationalists who will put you at your ease and keep you laughing. They are also mindful of special dietary needs, you just need to ask.

Depending on your expectations you may find the rooms a little basic. You are after all staying in someone's home, not in a branded hotel. But for the price, location and atmosphere this was superb and the personal touches made it very special. For instance, there are freshly baked cookies every day by the front door; and Jackie has a strict check-out procedure - you must give her a hug before you leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The hosts, Jackie & Charles are great conversationalists over breakfast. The location is good & close to metro. We drove in from the north & getting to the house is pretty easy. Their home has so much character & is in a nice neighborhood. We've stayed twice & won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc
Aaron Shipman House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.