We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay in room # 6” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Two night stay in room # 6”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay at the Aaron Shipman House in room #6. The home is beautifully restored and meticulously cared for. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We did not make use of the jacuzzi (the original reason we chose this room) due in part that it has some protrusions on the bottom of it that look as thought they'd be very uncomfortable and that it may have been a tight fit for the pair of us. The shower, however was very spacious. The water temperature and pressure were very good. Breakfast service was announced each morning over the in-room tele-com system. If you did not want to partake in breakfast or had a special request, the night before you could simply note your preference on the kitchen's whiteboard. A Keurig coffee maker and tea were readily available in the kitchen at all hours. Freshly baked cookies were always available on a small server near the front door. I believe this was my husband's favorite amenity.

The owner, Charles, was an absolute delight. Each morning he would join the guests for a family style breakfast where he would help promote conversation among everyone. (“family style” = no assigned seating, we all sat at one long table together, and we passed the plates around the table serving ourselves as much or as little as we liked.) These morning conversations were one of the highlights of our trip. It was wonderful to hear travel stories from other guests, learn about the area and the Aaron Shipman house's history from Charles, and enjoy many hearty laughs. Although the breakfast start time was fixed at 8am, everyone was free to linger and chat for as long as they pleased. Charles even has a photo album showing the restoration of the home that he was happy to allow my husband and I to peruse while he answered all of our questions about each photo, etc. We were very sorry to have missed out on meeting his wife, Jackie, as she was traveling during our stay.

Another huge plus for us is that the Aaron Shipman House is an easy walk to the Metro subway line. We used the “Shaw” station as it was the closest and easiest walk from the B&B (from Q Street; we went left on Vermont Ave, right onto R Street, arriving at 8th & R where the Shaw Metro Station is located. Just a few blocks / under 8 minutes walk). We did not drive anywhere in DC since the Metro subway and Circulator bus lines have stops at or near every point of interest. The subways are exceptionally clean and we felt completely safe the entire trip (unlike may other city subways on which we have traveled). Finding our way around using the Metro was surprisingly easy. And if we had any questions, the Aaron Shipman House staff we always willing to help. Janice, Grace, and Marie were an absolute pleasure. A nicer group of people would be hard to find.

In summary; the location is great, the home is beautiful, we wanted for nothing, we felt welcomed from the moment of our arrival, and the Aaron Shipman House 'family' are among the nicest we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. A “5 star” experience all around.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Aaron Shipman for 10 nights when we arrived in DC from Australia. We were in the basement apartment, so were fully self contained with a completely equipped kitchen of our own, a small outdoor area and a bedroom that is separate to the living space. The accommodation was nice, comfortable and convenient and had everything that we would need to stay for as long as we wanted. The location is fabulous - 300m to an excellent grocery store, and some of the best bars and restaurants in DC are just around the corner (about 100m away). Jackie and Charles were wonderful, friendly, hospital and knowledgeable hosts - and when we decided to join them for breakfast it was a delicious meal! We will definitely be looking to use this accommodation for our future long term visits to DC.

Room Tip: Basement Apartment was great for longer term, self sufficient living. Only down side being that ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Charles and Jackie were wonderful host. Location was perfect. Their home is lovely. Breakfast was outstanding we meet all the other guest which was nice. Our room on the the 3rd floor was very quite and comfortable. We had a great stay. I'd give our stay an A. Thanks Jackie and Charles love those cookies!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We purchased two parking spaces; we parked one car and went to the theater with the second car. When we came home after the theater our second space was occupied. So we paid that space but still had to park on the street late at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Charles and Jackie are the best, clean, comfy and just all around lovely. The location is perfect and it really is all that you can ask for.

I have stayed twice, once with my wife and once with my son and it is where I will be staying from now on when I go to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I spent a 3 day weekend here and it was just wonderful. The host is charming and informative and the house is simply beautiful breakfast is great, and, having a formal breakfast is an excellent way to meet the other guests. I love places that do this!

We booked the two rooms that share a bath in the hallway right outside, which is a good way to keep costs down while still staying in a nice place.

The house is close to many trendy restaurants and it is wonderful just to walk through the streets lined with beautiful old homes.

I higly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My second stay at this relaxing home. Great breakfasts, wonderful cookies, always a warm welcome from the hosts. Very comfortable rooms, ac, computer access provided. Wonderful location near Logan Circle and busy 14th St. It won't be my last stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House Hotel
Aaron Shipman House b&b
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc
Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list