We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I spent a 3 day weekend here and it was just wonderful. The host is charming and informative and the house is simply beautiful breakfast is great, and, having a formal breakfast is an excellent way to meet the other guests. I love places that do this!

We booked the two rooms that share a bath in the hallway right outside, which is a good way to keep costs down while still staying in a nice place.

The house is close to many trendy restaurants and it is wonderful just to walk through the streets lined with beautiful old homes.

I higly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My second stay at this relaxing home. Great breakfasts, wonderful cookies, always a warm welcome from the hosts. Very comfortable rooms, ac, computer access provided. Wonderful location near Logan Circle and busy 14th St. It won't be my last stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was visiting my daughter's family 3 blocks away and was looking for a B&B experience in the neighborhood. I was so pleased to find this GEM. A beautiful renovation and wonderful garden, great for relaxing. My room was a queen on the third floor and I was worried about the exhausting heat of DC and being on the third floor. It was a cool oasis. Plentiful cookies, lemonade, coffee and tea and a wonderful breakfast prepared by the innkeeper.. This property is a block from the hot restaurant scene on 14th street and walking distance from DuPont Circle and the metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked the ground floor apartment for a convention and me and my guests really enjoyed the accomodations. It was in walking distance to everything we needed, the Walter E. Washington Convention Center and the Verizon Center. The metro wasn't too far either, if you're not really into walking. There were a host of really good restaurants within a 5-6 block radius (Le Diplomate..YUM!). Cabs were a little hard to come by, so I'd recommend using Uber if you'd need to grab a cab. The apartment had cable, wireless (a little tempermental) and always had hot water. There's a washer/dryer as well. There was plenty of privacy in the apartment and the noise above was minimal. There's even a little patio area in the back to enjoy..would totally recommend this place! If I'm back in DC, I'd book it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hosts were super welcoming right away and showed us to our lovely room (with ensuite). They provided excellent and large breakfasts (something unique for each day we were there for a total of 6 mornings), and they gave great advice on what to see, how to get there, any anything else we might needed. The neighbourhood has excellent restaurants and the buses are just a couple of blocks away. You really can't ask for more. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the basement apartment with a family of 5 and found it to be exactly as described on the Inn's website. The Hosts were pleasant and accommodating. It was wonderful after walking in the July heat to come home to a cool comfortable apartment. Thank you Jackie and Charles. Did I mention cookies waiting for you upon arrival. YUM!

Room Tip: If you want to be able to cook some of your own meals the Apartment is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked the ground floor apartment. Apartment itself is very decent - plenty of room for 2 adults, 2 teens on 3 night stay - living area w/ small dining table, W/D, small kitchen, bedroom and (tight) bath - central A/C. In general, furnishings a bit tired, but not objectionable and nicely decorated. Backyard outdoor sitting area is nice in the evening with wine and lightning bug show. Don't let the initial "walk up" put you off - apartment is fine, however, photos of exterior on web site taken in better times.

Walked to local Whole Foods (1.5 blocks west), for breakfast foods, snacks, wine, etc... very convenient. Restaurant area at Q and 14th is up and coming. Nearby El Centro and Stoney's is good for value / food.

A couple of other items to mention: 1) time to upgrade beddings, fold-out mattresses in particular 2) Subway stop is a long 4 blocks north, just be aware.

Room Tip: Breakfast not included with the Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House b&b
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list