We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Blue Mountains
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent three nights at this beautifully restored house and enjoyed it immensely. Hard to beat the entire package with the combination of a well equipped, clean and comfortable room in a sympathetically restored and furnished house with a lovely garden. The owners were absent in this case but it didn't matter as were were welcomed and looked after for the whole stay by Grace the charming and very friendly housekeeper and another lady (can't recall the name) who made everyone very welcome at a great breakfast each day. The house is within easy walking distance to both bus and metro transport and lots of restaurants and bars. Would have no reservations in recommending Aaron Shipman house as a place to stay in Washington DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My only regret was that my wife was unable to travel with me, and experience this wonderful B & B. I enjoyed eating at some of the restaurants around the area. Lots of good energy in the neighborhood. Taxis to and from my meeting were reasonably priced and easily attainable.

Room Tip: Be sure to call ahead if you need parking, which is limited. They are usually very accommodating i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights with our 5-year-old granddaughter as our guest. We were there with family for a Studio Theater performance, and Aaron Shipman House could not have been more convenient. But more than this we found both Jackie and Charles to be terrific people. They took a genuine interest in our granddaughter, and this added so much to the whole experience. The house itself is charming, and the breakfasts are top-notch. Thanks also to Grace (their helper), who was most attentive and helpful. We'll do it all over again when we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed with my family twice at the Aaron Shipman House in the basement apartment. We thought it was a great alternative to staying in a hotel, particularly travelling with a small child, as we had a separate living room with pullout couch, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and access to the beautiful yard and back porch right outside our door. The owners were very warm, friendly and welcoming to our young son, which is not easy to find at a bed and breakfast. It felt like we were guests in their home but with plenty of space and privacy whenever we wanted it. The location was great, within walking distance to many restaurants and a Whole Foods. Only a few negatives on our more recent stay, there was a problem with the hot water which went unresolved in our room most of the day, and the bathtub/shower curtain were pretty moldy. I have read recent reviews which indicate this bathroom issue may be resolved and the hot water issue which unfortunately coincided with our stay should hopefully not happen again. Without those two problems would definitely recommended this apartment highly, particularly for a family with a child visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Elegante e confortevole B&B in un silenzioso e tranquillo quartiere a poca distanza dalla Metro "U Street", in ottima posizione per raggiungere tranquillamente a piedi Dupont Circle dove si concentra la "movida" di Washington D.C.
Gestito da una coppia di persone squisitamente cordiali ed ospitali, Charles & Jackie, sapranno accogliervi con tutta l'ospitalità del caso come due eccellenti padroni di casa.
Da godersi il momento della colazione mattutina in autentico American Family Style che contribuirà ad un rilassante inizio di giornata.
Se mi capiterà nuovamente di tornare a WDC non avrò dubbi su dove soggiornare!

[Elegant and comfortable B&B in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood not far from the "U Street" Metro Station, in an excellent position to reach easily on foot Dupont Circle, where is concentrated the evening "movida" of Washington DC.
Run by a couple of people exquisitely friendly and hospitable, Charles & Jackie, will welcome you with all the hospitality of the case as two excellent hosts.
The authentic American Family Style breakfast will contribute to a relaxing start of your day: enjoy it!!!
If I go again to WDC, I will not have doubts about where to stay!]

Room Tip: Noi abbiamo soggiornato nella "Room 2 Queen", molto grande, confortevole e silenziosa. Il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Aaron Shipman House with our two children (6 and 2) in the Basement Apartment. It is very spacious and nicely furnished with a fully eqipped kitchen (no breakfast though in the house). Jackie got straight to the hearts of our children when she provided a huge box of Lego. In addition, there was a huge selection of films, all their Disney favourites.It was really hard to motivate them to leave the appartment again. Another big plus is where it is situated. Very nice neighbourhood with great restaurants and a huge Wholefoods Market around the corner.

The only slight downturn from the apartment is in our view that it is a bit dark but which is to expect from a basement flat. However, there is access to a little patio which is probably nice for a sundowner. Only there was some work done when we were there so that we could not use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This will be the third time I have stayed at the Aaron Shipman House over several years.
I stay there when I have events two days in a row in DC.
The owners are a delight and are at the breakfast table with the guests.Great conversation at breakfast.All three times I have booked the smallest room which is quite nice and all that I need.It does have a shared bath yet is in a private part of the hall.Twice,because there was room,they upgraded me to larger rooms with a private bath.
The part of the house that appeals to me most is the deck/porth with lights and cozy furniture,hanging baskets and lattice work so that is seems enclosed yet you can see the sky.I love to read out there or if visitng with someone,knit.

Room Tip: On the web-site there are pictures of each room with the prices which makes it much easier to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House b&b
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.