We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Whom the Bell Tolls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For Whom the Bell Tolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Aaron Shipman B&B was our home away from home during a recent vacation to our Nation’s Capitol. The house is a testimony to the artful design of a century old home. It’s been meticulously restored and the woodwork on the stairway is particularly impressive. Owners Charles and Jackie are gracious hosts with many stories of 30 years of running their B&B in the heart of DC. They have filled their home with an impressive collection of Art Deco prints, antique wood furniture and stained glass. Fresh cookies and coffee were provided daily and as guests, we were able to relax in all of the common rooms. The location at 13th and Q Streets could not be more ideal. Only a block away, we were able to hop on Bus 52 and 54 which took us straight the National Mall. We were also only a few blocks away from the culinary delights of U Street.
We stayed in Room 6, queen size bed and Jacuzzi tub. It has a nice size sitting area and being on the second floor, a residential view. The room and bathroom were clean and quiet. It had a beautiful fireplace, however, due to fire codes, it’s only decorative now. Our only recommendation for the room would be to replace the mattress – we rolled into the middle which was uncomfortable.
Our biggest dilemma centered around breakfast. Served family style, gathered around a large central table, it is served promptly at 8am M-F, 9am weekends, and pre-announced through room intercoms (which we ended up unplugging). Guests like us, traveling from West Coast time zones find this particularly difficult as 8am is 5am to us, and there was no alternative if you missed the main meal (i.e. fruit, juice, make your own toast, bagels, etc. in the kitchen for later risers). Family style meals for up to 12 patrons meant some of the hot items were cold and it didn’t provide for much variety day to day.
Overall, we would recommend highly the Aaron Shipman B&B for it’s ambiance and location and the friendly staff. We would also caution about the strict schedule for breakfast, and perhaps request a lower rate or a refund for meals not consumed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Aaron Shipman House and were very pleased with everything. The owners (Jackie and Charles) were welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the neighborhood is very nice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my own and I felt very safe and at home. The place was clean but perhaps a bit tired looking in places. To be expected I suppose for such a busy B&B. The location is excellent though. Just a 15 minute walk to the white house and the mall and short bus journey to George Town area. Buses are the easiest way to get around DC, the metro stations are few and far between. The only thing I would say about the B&B is that at weekends breakfast is at 9.00. They have a sit down family meal type breakfast which although welcoming was lengthy and on my first morning (a Saturday) breakfast wasn't over until nearly 10.00 which makes for a late start to the day in a city which you are invariably in to site see. The first museum I got to that morning had queues of 1 hour, and in peak season I can see how this is a regular event and so I do think a quicker/earlier breakfast would be better. My next morning I skipped breakfast preferring to be up and our earlier to get the most of the day. Plus the B&B itself had no information around the place. My experience of B&B's (in the UK where I live) is that there tends to be leaflets and guides and maps etc for you to take or read and help plan your stay, avoids having to ask the owners all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We felt lucky indeed to have chosen to stay at the Aaron Shipman B&B. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a king bed and a sitting area. The bathroom was a little small. We enjoyed their beautifully restored home and although it was too cool for us to use, the outdoor space looked inviting. Breakfasts were served "family style" in the large formal dining room with plenty of interesting conversation to enjoy. There was off street parking which is a real plus in the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Awesome house and super comfortable bed!
Highly recommended.

是个很舒服的B&B。虽然是老建筑,但是房间内的设备都工作顺畅。King size的床很舒服,床品干净质地柔软。女主人热情细心,并有专人每天打扫房间卫生。总体感觉是个超值的B&B。地理位置靠近市中心,可徒步走到白宫,但就离略远。我们当时选择了taxi加徒步出行,DC的taxi价格不算太贵。

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Beautiful older home about 25 minute walk from the Mall. Comfortable room with full breakfast. What made our stay most memorable were the owners Charles and Jackie and the sit down breakfast with the other guests. Charming hosts and interesting conversationalists.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful host and hostess! The home is so large and welcoming. We had fairly packed plans exploring DC while in town, but the living room was so inviting with a fireplace and fresh cookies and candy strewn about. The breakfast every morning was delicious. I've never stayed at a B&B where all were required to eat together at a certain seating time, but it was so lovely to do so and get to know other people, including the sweet couple hosting us, and have the food hot and fresh. Enjoyed my room thoroughly, took a jacuzzi bubble bath, in the clean bathroom. Could not have had a better stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc
Aaron Shipman House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.