We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BnB with a heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“BnB with a heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Beautiful house lovingly restored, delicious and plentiful breakfasts, perfect location. You should see the woodwork all stripped manually. If that wasn't enough, the hosts, Jackie and Charlie, treated us as members of the family. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Room 7 in the back corner of the third floor is small, cozy, well-lit (2 windows) and very quiet. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
66
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Eggs benedict for breakfast, amazing location, lovely atmosphere, original art-deco decor and furniture and a lovely DC touch. Jackie and Alan are really the bests hosts and their house is a home away from home. Do not miss the tremendous patio and garden! A serious treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked last minute for a one-night trip to DC and wasn't sure what to expect, so was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The house is charming, and you can tell a lot of love has been put into it. The hosts, Charlie and Jackie, were wonderful, and I enjoyed our conversation at breakfast. Breakfast, by the way, was fantastic- best eggs and pancakes that I've ever had! The B&B is in a great location as well, it's walking distance to the Logan Circle area. I ate dinner at Policy, which I highly recommend as well. I can't wait to return to the Aaron Shipman House!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A delightful place with exceptional attention from the hosts. Breakfasts were lovely to behold and yummy to eat! Jackie, Charlie and family could not have been more helpful. She even lent a jacket and hat to my daughter when the weather turned cold. Being greeted with freshly baked cookies and being surrounded by wonderful art work made us know that we had chosen a very special place to celebrate a family gathering. Having the apartment on the ground floor made it easy to enjoy one another in privacy. Highly recommend this spot!!

Room Tip: Apartment works great for family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Visited this B&B a few days before Thanksgiving, so we couldn't take advantage of the huge outdoor space, and would love to return in the warmer months. Our hosts were fantastic. Jackie and Charles were very welcoming and accommodating. We travelled with our 17 month old son, and Jackie and Charles had toys, a pack n play, a high chair, and toddler friendly utensils. The house was child friendly-yet it retained all the sophistication of a beautiful town house in the heart of Logan Circle. Within walking distance of the B&B, we found numerous restaurants, several coffee shops, a Whole Foods, and a CVS. While the B&B is right near a bus line, we found we could walk easily to the monuments and Smithsonian's. Additionally, the parking space was well worth it. You will leave with a full tummy-the breakfasts are delicious and there are fresh baked cookies every afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Exceptional breakfasts accommodating a variety of food preferences from healthy to indulgent. Wonderful, safe location close to convention center - superior restaurants close-by. Hosts are fabulous people - kind and clearly concerned about guest comfort.
The 'small touches' are delightful - cookies by the front door, chocolates in the sitting room, and fresh fruit/coffee/tea 24/7.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else in DC...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I enjoyed breakfast with host Charles and Jackie. You can spend time with your family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13th and Q Street NW, Logan Circle, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central, downtown Bed and Breakfast offering a choice of 6 rooms or a fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment. We are within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center, less than a 10 minute walk to the Metro, easily accessible to the Smithsonian Museums, National Monuments, White House and US Capitol. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Shipman House b&b
Aaron Shipman House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Shipman House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.