We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Quiet Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont Circle

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Dupont Circle
1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice & Quiet Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My fiance and I stayed a few nights here back in April. We stayed in the Garden Loft and it was very nice having our own bathroom. It was a little cramped in the room, but we were fine with that. The breakfast was good and the snack in the afternoon was nice. We didn't hear much noise even with being over the kitchen. Location was excellent and very easy to find. Not to mention there was a Krispy Kreme donut shop across from the B&B. The neighborhood felt really safe to walk around even at night. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again when we visit DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed at The Inn many times and will call it our "home" anytime we are in Washington. The location is fantastic with numerous metro stops close by and a short walk to any of the many parks and historic sights in the area. The staff at the Inn provides service above and beyond that I would expect to find at B & B's, they have gone out of their way to provide world class service to my family and for that I thank them.

And then the meals.....let's just say they are mouthwatering and simply overwhelming. As the breakfast is being prepared there is opportunity to engage the other guests and they never fail to provide stimulating conversation.

This B & B is great and I recommend it to travelers looking for a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Within days of my inaugral visit to New York City I met the man of my dreams. For the purpose of anonymity I'm going to call him Gus. It isn't his real name.

We immediately, spontaneously and romantically made the mutual decision to get away from it all. It's important to get away from it all. Especially if you have a soulmate to get away from it all with.

We're incredibly compatible, and it took literally ten seconds for us to agree that we had to go to Washington DC. Because:

1. In the U.S.A (but not too far from New York).
2. The capital of world politics, but also a capital of world food.
3. An enchanting city, and probably very sexy.

In my opinion, the success of the trip can be primarily accredited to our dazzling chemistry. But, please, let's never forget Carolyn, our secret weapon, our hero, the beautifully spirited commander of Dupont Inn South. Carolyn single-handedly raised the status of our DC trip from 'A Really Fantastic City Break' to 'A Really Very Exceptional and Fantastic City Break / Life-Changer'.

Carolyn, this review really is dedicated to you. Thank you Carolyn. Thank you for your beautiful spirit, hilarious breakfast small talk and free maps. Thank you for your exceptional communication skills, your pleasant demeanor and impeccable presentation of the inn. Thank you for feeding us. Thanks so much for the free tea and coffee. Thank you again for the fruit.

So it's over and out from this satisfied Trip Advisor. Please do heed my advice and go Wild in Washington (I did!).

Love Camilla and Gus*

FYI: We slept in the Garden Loft. It may still have a little of our magic fairydust engrained in the walls

*I already mentioned it, but this name is fake to protect George's identity

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in the Queen Anne and Country rooms, as well as the Nook, over the course of a week this Spring. Caroline did a fantastic job of scheduling my stay, and she cooks a great breakfast (actually, all the breakfasts I had there were great). The dining area includes a cozy greenhouse area in the back that is very peaceful. The sleeping rooms were comfortable and surprisingly private considering that all three share the same bathroom (all are on the top floor), which was immaculate every day that I was there. As others have noted, the location is quite good - very convenient to the DuPont Circle station on the Red line. Parking on the street can be tough - if you can book one of the Inn's spaces, do so, and do it early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You walk so much in DC, it is nice to have a metro station 1/2 block from your "home." The room and bed were comfortable, but rather expensive- $240 for Tiffany. It could just be DC and the nicer Dupont Circle area. The "hot" breakfast was warm, but varied each of the four days we were there. Tea, Coffee, dessert, fruit were available all evening. We rarely saw staff, but had fresh towels and bed made each day. The shower in this room is cramped in a corner- tiny bathroom. I like the fact that you need a code to get in. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room because the front room was extremely noisy until 2:00 am due to the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Private
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the Queen Ann room normally $115/night increase to $345/night due to the Presidential Inauguration. To be honest, $115 is rather high for the room itself; however, the location and service is worth the higher value.

Location:
- DuPont Circle is one of the more popular locations to stay within D.C.
- Located within steps of the Dupont Circle Metro station. This becomes priceless during the winter season
- Panera, Jamba Juice, Krispy Kreme, Baja Fresh, Cosi, Buffalo Billards and Levante are all right outside of the Inn. That is not including all the dining options in and around Dupont Circle.

Breakfast:
- Hot freshly cooked rotating breakfast: eggs (any way), omelette, chicken sausage, bacon, pancakes, biscuits, orange juice, cranberry juice, fruit, etc.
- Decorated breakfast nook, sun patio, outdoor garden or room service options
- A to-go breakfast option of juice, muffin and banana for early departers
- Assortment of oatmeal/cereal, beverages and dessert available all day

Decor:
- Eclectic charm with guest comfort priority
- The location is a converted home, so not as polished as the others
- No elevator, so keep in mind when packing
- Stairs are EXTREMELY noisy and the exterior walls are thin. I slept fine, but was worried about other guests when coming in late up the stairs.

The owner Carol really endears the guest. She is exceptionally warm. She is not happy unless her guests are happy. Her and the staff are the charm of this location. For the regular rate, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6 and 7 share a bath. Room 5 is exceptionally small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overall our stay was a right between poor and average, but since there isn't a 2.5, I rated them 3. I was very excited to stay at this B&B, but unfortunately it was not what I had pictured with regard to service. The B&B itself is very conveniently located, right off Dupont circle, and does have the decorative charm of a typical B&B, HOWEVER, the overall experience was not what you would expect when you stay at a B&B. Pretty building and all, you go to a B&B for the service. First of all, the breakfast was not hot..it was a continental breakfast, an assortment of breads, fruit and cereals. The only eggs on the table were cold hard- boiled. Additionally, the parking situation is horrible if you are planning to stay M-F as you can't park on the street and the B&B only has two spots, which we learned even if you reserve one you may not get it as they may overbook it. What upset us most was no one informed the spot was occupied until we asked to park in it....a warning would've been nice. Also, good luck trying to get in touch with anyone before 9am on Saturday or Sunday...no one even answers the phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont Circle

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Inn at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.