We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dupont Circle B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont South

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Dupont South
Save
You added The Inn at Dupont South to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Private
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Best Dupont Circle B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the Queen Ann room normally $115/night increase to $345/night due to the Presidential Inauguration. To be honest, $115 is rather high for the room itself; however, the location and service is worth the higher value.

Location:
- DuPont Circle is one of the more popular locations to stay within D.C.
- Located within steps of the Dupont Circle Metro station. This becomes priceless during the winter season
- Panera, Jamba Juice, Krispy Kreme, Baja Fresh, Cosi, Buffalo Billards and Levante are all right outside of the Inn. That is not including all the dining options in and around Dupont Circle.

Breakfast:
- Hot freshly cooked rotating breakfast: eggs (any way), omelette, chicken sausage, bacon, pancakes, biscuits, orange juice, cranberry juice, fruit, etc.
- Decorated breakfast nook, sun patio, outdoor garden or room service options
- A to-go breakfast option of juice, muffin and banana for early departers
- Assortment of oatmeal/cereal, beverages and dessert available all day

Decor:
- Eclectic charm with guest comfort priority
- The location is a converted home, so not as polished as the others
- No elevator, so keep in mind when packing
- Stairs are EXTREMELY noisy and the exterior walls are thin. I slept fine, but was worried about other guests when coming in late up the stairs.

The owner Carol really endears the guest. She is exceptionally warm. She is not happy unless her guests are happy. Her and the staff are the charm of this location. For the regular rate, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6 and 7 share a bath. Room 5 is exceptionally small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overall our stay was a right between poor and average, but since there isn't a 2.5, I rated them 3. I was very excited to stay at this B&B, but unfortunately it was not what I had pictured with regard to service. The B&B itself is very conveniently located, right off Dupont circle, and does have the decorative charm of a typical B&B, HOWEVER, the overall experience was not what you would expect when you stay at a B&B. Pretty building and all, you go to a B&B for the service. First of all, the breakfast was not hot..it was a continental breakfast, an assortment of breads, fruit and cereals. The only eggs on the table were cold hard- boiled. Additionally, the parking situation is horrible if you are planning to stay M-F as you can't park on the street and the B&B only has two spots, which we learned even if you reserve one you may not get it as they may overbook it. What upset us most was no one informed the spot was occupied until we asked to park in it....a warning would've been nice. Also, good luck trying to get in touch with anyone before 9am on Saturday or Sunday...no one even answers the phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gbdecoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The folks are nice at the Inn at DuPont Circle but a few upgrades are in order. They're minor things: The front doorknob needs to be replaced; nobody should have to memorize a system to open a door. Same with the bathroom door latch on the fourth floor. Breakfast was nice and they'll make eggs any way you want but all in all the meals and house itself were nothing spectacular. If TripAdvisor had 3.5 stars as an option that'd be about right. The location is excellent. One tip though: The DuPont Circle Metro station's south entrance is closed -- under construction until late 2012. Not a big deal and obviously not the B&B's fault; it just means you need to go through DuPont Circle itself to get to the Metro. There are plenty of restaurants and a couple of cool independent bookstores in the neighborhood too.

Room Tip: I was in the Queen Anne Room (#5) and it was fine but again nothing memorable. I saved $$$ by sharin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDTomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a well run and friendly b&b. Staff are nice and breakfast is better than what you usually get in a similar establishment. I stayed in the nook room as I was in a budget but I would recommend not staying in this room as it won't suit everyone. I was prepared for the size, but the bed was uncomfortable and the room was noisy and there was a strong draft from the window. I still enjoyed my stay and would stay again but in a better room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed in "The Nook"- was definately small, as expected by the description, but perfect for my needs. Was very comfortable, and clean! The first thing that you notice when you come here is the lovey rock garden out front, followed by the parlor. In the morning I was completely surprised to wake up to the smell of bacon- I went downstairs to a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, pancakes, chiorzo, and Carolyn's made-to-order omlettes! Then I ate in the lovely sunporch and felt like I was in Europe sipping my very yummy coffee. I would definately stay here again and would recommend!! I think part of what made this place particularly special, besides being very close to the Metro & a 24 hour CVS, was the staff... was truly a home away from home!

Room Tip: Hmmm... well, the Nook was very small- good for the value, and it's a shared bathroom- but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keira930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I travel to DC 7-8x a year and often stay at the Inn. It is a very affordable option with a great location - just a block south of DuPont Circle.

Overall, the rooms are quite nice. However, some of them do not have decent-sized desks - a bit of issue for business visitors.

Breakfast is very good with an assortment of muffins, eggs, pancakes, yogurt etc. The lemonade and cookies served in the summer is a nice touch at the end of a hot DC day.

Service is friendly and excellent. Carolyn, the manager, is a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been staying at this B+B for several years now every time I visit DC for work. The rates are very reasonable, rooms very comfortable, excellent service, the location incredibly safe and convenient, and the breakfast is fantastic. I usually stay in the Garden Loft because it is away from other guest rooms and more quiet. However I have stayed in other rooms and enjoyed my stays there too.

A continental breakfast is available for early risers (coffee, great tea selection, cereals, oatmeal, etc.) but once staff arrive in the morning (usually earlier than 8:00am) hot breakfast options (omeletts, pancakes, sausage) along with fruit salad, fresh bread, cheese, smoked salmon, and more is available. Also, cookies or dessert is available in the afternoon/evenings.

The staff here are always friendly and very helpful. I really cannot say enough good things about this B+B!

Room Tip: The Garden Loft is small for a couple, but a great option if traveling alone as it is away from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#45 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
#49 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dupont South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont South

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Dupont South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing