We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2.5 - Not what I was expecting...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont Circle

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Dupont Circle
1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A 2.5 - Not what I was expecting...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overall our stay was a right between poor and average, but since there isn't a 2.5, I rated them 3. I was very excited to stay at this B&B, but unfortunately it was not what I had pictured with regard to service. The B&B itself is very conveniently located, right off Dupont circle, and does have the decorative charm of a typical B&B, HOWEVER, the overall experience was not what you would expect when you stay at a B&B. Pretty building and all, you go to a B&B for the service. First of all, the breakfast was not hot..it was a continental breakfast, an assortment of breads, fruit and cereals. The only eggs on the table were cold hard- boiled. Additionally, the parking situation is horrible if you are planning to stay M-F as you can't park on the street and the B&B only has two spots, which we learned even if you reserve one you may not get it as they may overbook it. What upset us most was no one informed the spot was occupied until we asked to park in it....a warning would've been nice. Also, good luck trying to get in touch with anyone before 9am on Saturday or Sunday...no one even answers the phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The folks are nice at the Inn at DuPont Circle but a few upgrades are in order. They're minor things: The front doorknob needs to be replaced; nobody should have to memorize a system to open a door. Same with the bathroom door latch on the fourth floor. Breakfast was nice and they'll make eggs any way you want but all in all the meals and house itself were nothing spectacular. If TripAdvisor had 3.5 stars as an option that'd be about right. The location is excellent. One tip though: The DuPont Circle Metro station's south entrance is closed -- under construction until late 2012. Not a big deal and obviously not the B&B's fault; it just means you need to go through DuPont Circle itself to get to the Metro. There are plenty of restaurants and a couple of cool independent bookstores in the neighborhood too.

Room Tip: I was in the Queen Anne Room (#5) and it was fine but again nothing memorable. I saved $$$ by sharin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a well run and friendly b&b. Staff are nice and breakfast is better than what you usually get in a similar establishment. I stayed in the nook room as I was in a budget but I would recommend not staying in this room as it won't suit everyone. I was prepared for the size, but the bed was uncomfortable and the room was noisy and there was a strong draft from the window. I still enjoyed my stay and would stay again but in a better room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed in "The Nook"- was definately small, as expected by the description, but perfect for my needs. Was very comfortable, and clean! The first thing that you notice when you come here is the lovey rock garden out front, followed by the parlor. In the morning I was completely surprised to wake up to the smell of bacon- I went downstairs to a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, pancakes, chiorzo, and Carolyn's made-to-order omlettes! Then I ate in the lovely sunporch and felt like I was in Europe sipping my very yummy coffee. I would definately stay here again and would recommend!! I think part of what made this place particularly special, besides being very close to the Metro & a 24 hour CVS, was the staff... was truly a home away from home!

Room Tip: Hmmm... well, the Nook was very small- good for the value, and it's a shared bathroom- but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I travel to DC 7-8x a year and often stay at the Inn. It is a very affordable option with a great location - just a block south of DuPont Circle.

Overall, the rooms are quite nice. However, some of them do not have decent-sized desks - a bit of issue for business visitors.

Breakfast is very good with an assortment of muffins, eggs, pancakes, yogurt etc. The lemonade and cookies served in the summer is a nice touch at the end of a hot DC day.

Service is friendly and excellent. Carolyn, the manager, is a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been staying at this B+B for several years now every time I visit DC for work. The rates are very reasonable, rooms very comfortable, excellent service, the location incredibly safe and convenient, and the breakfast is fantastic. I usually stay in the Garden Loft because it is away from other guest rooms and more quiet. However I have stayed in other rooms and enjoyed my stays there too.

A continental breakfast is available for early risers (coffee, great tea selection, cereals, oatmeal, etc.) but once staff arrive in the morning (usually earlier than 8:00am) hot breakfast options (omeletts, pancakes, sausage) along with fruit salad, fresh bread, cheese, smoked salmon, and more is available. Also, cookies or dessert is available in the afternoon/evenings.

The staff here are always friendly and very helpful. I really cannot say enough good things about this B+B!

Room Tip: The Garden Loft is small for a couple, but a great option if traveling alone as it is away from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

It is only half a block to the Dupont Circle Metro station. I stayed in the "Nook" and LOVED it! The entire house is decorated charmingly, with seasonal touches, and the breakfast is sumptuous. In the evening they put out snacks, which is a very nice and welcoming touch.

Room Tip: If you're travelling solo, go for the Nook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont Circle

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Inn at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.