We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont South

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Dupont South
Save
You added The Inn at Dupont South to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

I go to DC a lot for business and I stay at the Inn at Dupont Circle every time -- it is truly my home away from home. The Inn beats any large hotel for style, hospitality and location. I've stayed in several different rooms all of which were beautifully furnished and comfortable.

The breakfast can't be beat! And if you need to leave early in the morning before the innkeeper arrives there are other options (cereal oatmeal, etc.) They also leave a dessert for guests in the late afternoon/evenings with ice tea, which is a nice touch.

The location is fantastic. the metro is just a short walk away and there are many restaurants with various cuisine within walking distance. There is also a great cafe and book shop directly across the street.

The Innkeeper and the staff are all welcoming, curtious and efficient. The Inn is always clean and inviting. I've stayed in many different hotels across the city, and this Inn beats them all.

  • Liked — My room - very comfortable and cozy
  • Disliked — In some rooms, the heating can get too hot
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

The location was perfect for either walking or catching the metro all over the city, and the comfort and hospitality could not be faulted. We stayed in the lovely Renoir room, which was ideal (although the original heating system was so effective that we had to keep our window open all night, despite sub-zero temperatures outside!) This had for us just the right blend of service, (with rooms tidied every day,and excellent brekafasts as well as afternoon coffee and cake), and privacy, with the place largely to ourselves after-hours. We couldnn't imagine a better place for a DC break.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBunny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We just got back from a weekend in DC. My husband was there for a medical conference and since I was tagging along we really wanted to find a cozier place to stay than an impersonal chain hotel. I had read the TripAdvisor reviews and they were all so great. The pictures looked fabulous. I emailed the inn to ask some questions and the innkeeper, Carolyn, replied with such friendliness. I finally called directly to book the only room they had left available which was at their T street location. From the website (www.thedupontcollection.com) you can view all 3 of their inn locations and the rooms at each. We had such a great time! We were arriving after hours and there was someone waiting there for us to come. He showed us in while we waited for the owner to show up and take us to where we could park. We received a fresh, hot cooked breakfast each morning (we stayed 3 nights) and the hostess there each day was so friendly. It was so nice and personal. It was like being a guest in someone's home. We had our room heater break, and they had it fixed that same day by the time we returned to our room. We definitely recommend this inn!

  • Liked — the personal attention and cozy atmosphere
  • Disliked — wood floors are a bit noisy when walked on
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mdezmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Well first of all I had no intentions in staying at a Bed and breakfast I always stayed at a major hotel chain but this time the hotel I wanted to stay at was booked up so I found this Hotel inn [--] via the search engines. I Called it directly and made reservations for my yearly conference. When I got there the rooms were amazing, from the bathroom, to the the bed, it really had a good vibe to it. it was like I rented out an apartment or something. it was close to all the places I wanted to visit, like the Whitehouse, Adams Morgan, Dupont circle and Georgetown. They had a limousine service called Silverline which picked up from the airport brought me to the Inn. I definitely plan to stay there again when I come to Washington D.C

  • Liked — the look of the rooms, location and good breakfast
  • Disliked — no wake up call and dinner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank musicbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

What a great find, in the heart of DC. The inn keeper was very enthusiastic, friendly and accommodating. We felt right at home. Stayed in a top floor room with shared bath. Beautifully decorated and great AC system to keep it cool. Iced tea and snacks available. So convenient to public transit. We took the Metro all over. Was a little further of a walk from the Capital Mall but, all in all, we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

This is a great inn, within walking distance from all the major sights - Lincoln Memorial, White House, Capitol... blah blah blah. If you're up for a walk, stay here. Good luck getting a cab, though. The Inn was really sweet and clean, and they were waiting for me with bated breath when I arrived late without notice. I'll definitely stay again - it's a great value for the area. Much cheaper than any big box hotel. Highest recommendations.

  • Liked — It's proximity to the sights, and to Kaz Sushi - Yum!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BackpackGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Our stay at the Inn at Dupont Circle was the best we have ever experienced at a Bed and Breakfast. Our room was large and comfortable and wonderfully decorated! We felt instantly at home! The staff at the Inn are wonderful, considerate and caring. They take such terrific care of you! One of the ladies even brought a coat from home for a guest to use during her stay. She hadn't brought one with her and it was somewhat chilly! The breakfast was outstanding with a selection of cereals, fruits, cheese and meats, bagels and, (Hallelujah!) freshly baked bread each morning! Freshly brewed coffee, teas and fruit juices! Once you have settled with your "appetizers", out comes the chef with your choice of omelets and pancakes! To Die For!

The Inn is a very short walk away from the Dupont Circle Metro station so sight seeing is a breeze! It was so wonderful to come up out of the station after the end of a day of sightseeing and see the front door of the Inn welcoming us home.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff and the Inn and plan to make it our Home away from Home when we are in D.C. again. And, for you Krispy Kreme lovers...there's one across the street, next to the Metro!

  • Liked — Wonderful service and accommodations. Excellent room!
  • Disliked — I cannot think of anything negative about my stay at the Inn.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Inn at Dupont Circle! Its a Home away from Home in Washington D.C.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank valsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#45 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
#49 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dupont South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont South

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Dupont South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing