We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont Circle

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Dupont Circle
1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

I go to DC a lot for business and I stay at the Inn at Dupont Circle every time -- it is truly my home away from home. The Inn beats any large hotel for style, hospitality and location. I've stayed in several different rooms all of which were beautifully furnished and comfortable.

The breakfast can't be beat! And if you need to leave early in the morning before the innkeeper arrives there are other options (cereal oatmeal, etc.) They also leave a dessert for guests in the late afternoon/evenings with ice tea, which is a nice touch.

The location is fantastic. the metro is just a short walk away and there are many restaurants with various cuisine within walking distance. There is also a great cafe and book shop directly across the street.

The Innkeeper and the staff are all welcoming, curtious and efficient. The Inn is always clean and inviting. I've stayed in many different hotels across the city, and this Inn beats them all.

  • Liked — My room - very comfortable and cozy
  • Disliked — In some rooms, the heating can get too hot
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

The location was perfect for either walking or catching the metro all over the city, and the comfort and hospitality could not be faulted. We stayed in the lovely Renoir room, which was ideal (although the original heating system was so effective that we had to keep our window open all night, despite sub-zero temperatures outside!) This had for us just the right blend of service, (with rooms tidied every day,and excellent brekafasts as well as afternoon coffee and cake), and privacy, with the place largely to ourselves after-hours. We couldnn't imagine a better place for a DC break.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We just got back from a weekend in DC. My husband was there for a medical conference and since I was tagging along we really wanted to find a cozier place to stay than an impersonal chain hotel. I had read the TripAdvisor reviews and they were all so great. The pictures looked fabulous. I emailed the inn to ask some questions and the innkeeper, Carolyn, replied with such friendliness. I finally called directly to book the only room they had left available which was at their T street location. From the website (www.thedupontcollection.com) you can view all 3 of their inn locations and the rooms at each. We had such a great time! We were arriving after hours and there was someone waiting there for us to come. He showed us in while we waited for the owner to show up and take us to where we could park. We received a fresh, hot cooked breakfast each morning (we stayed 3 nights) and the hostess there each day was so friendly. It was so nice and personal. It was like being a guest in someone's home. We had our room heater break, and they had it fixed that same day by the time we returned to our room. We definitely recommend this inn!

  • Liked — the personal attention and cozy atmosphere
  • Disliked — wood floors are a bit noisy when walked on
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Well first of all I had no intentions in staying at a Bed and breakfast I always stayed at a major hotel chain but this time the hotel I wanted to stay at was booked up so I found this Hotel inn [--] via the search engines. I Called it directly and made reservations for my yearly conference. When I got there the rooms were amazing, from the bathroom, to the the bed, it really had a good vibe to it. it was like I rented out an apartment or something. it was close to all the places I wanted to visit, like the Whitehouse, Adams Morgan, Dupont circle and Georgetown. They had a limousine service called Silverline which picked up from the airport brought me to the Inn. I definitely plan to stay there again when I come to Washington D.C

  • Liked — the look of the rooms, location and good breakfast
  • Disliked — no wake up call and dinner
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

What a great find, in the heart of DC. The inn keeper was very enthusiastic, friendly and accommodating. We felt right at home. Stayed in a top floor room with shared bath. Beautifully decorated and great AC system to keep it cool. Iced tea and snacks available. So convenient to public transit. We took the Metro all over. Was a little further of a walk from the Capital Mall but, all in all, we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

This is a great inn, within walking distance from all the major sights - Lincoln Memorial, White House, Capitol... blah blah blah. If you're up for a walk, stay here. Good luck getting a cab, though. The Inn was really sweet and clean, and they were waiting for me with bated breath when I arrived late without notice. I'll definitely stay again - it's a great value for the area. Much cheaper than any big box hotel. Highest recommendations.

  • Liked — It's proximity to the sights, and to Kaz Sushi - Yum!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

Our stay at the Inn at Dupont Circle was the best we have ever experienced at a Bed and Breakfast. Our room was large and comfortable and wonderfully decorated! We felt instantly at home! The staff at the Inn are wonderful, considerate and caring. They take such terrific care of you! One of the ladies even brought a coat from home for a guest to use during her stay. She hadn't brought one with her and it was somewhat chilly! The breakfast was outstanding with a selection of cereals, fruits, cheese and meats, bagels and, (Hallelujah!) freshly baked bread each morning! Freshly brewed coffee, teas and fruit juices! Once you have settled with your "appetizers", out comes the chef with your choice of omelets and pancakes! To Die For!

The Inn is a very short walk away from the Dupont Circle Metro station so sight seeing is a breeze! It was so wonderful to come up out of the station after the end of a day of sightseeing and see the front door of the Inn welcoming us home.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff and the Inn and plan to make it our Home away from Home when we are in D.C. again. And, for you Krispy Kreme lovers...there's one across the street, next to the Metro!

  • Liked — Wonderful service and accommodations. Excellent room!
  • Disliked — I cannot think of anything negative about my stay at the Inn.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Inn at Dupont Circle! Its a Home away from Home in Washington D.C.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont Circle

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Inn at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.