We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good and affordable option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont Circle

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Dupont Circle
1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A very good and affordable option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I travel to DC 7-8x a year and often stay at the Inn. It is a very affordable option with a great location - just a block south of DuPont Circle.

Overall, the rooms are quite nice. However, some of them do not have decent-sized desks - a bit of issue for business visitors.

Breakfast is very good with an assortment of muffins, eggs, pancakes, yogurt etc. The lemonade and cookies served in the summer is a nice touch at the end of a hot DC day.

Service is friendly and excellent. Carolyn, the manager, is a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been staying at this B+B for several years now every time I visit DC for work. The rates are very reasonable, rooms very comfortable, excellent service, the location incredibly safe and convenient, and the breakfast is fantastic. I usually stay in the Garden Loft because it is away from other guest rooms and more quiet. However I have stayed in other rooms and enjoyed my stays there too.

A continental breakfast is available for early risers (coffee, great tea selection, cereals, oatmeal, etc.) but once staff arrive in the morning (usually earlier than 8:00am) hot breakfast options (omeletts, pancakes, sausage) along with fruit salad, fresh bread, cheese, smoked salmon, and more is available. Also, cookies or dessert is available in the afternoon/evenings.

The staff here are always friendly and very helpful. I really cannot say enough good things about this B+B!

Room Tip: The Garden Loft is small for a couple, but a great option if traveling alone as it is away from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

It is only half a block to the Dupont Circle Metro station. I stayed in the "Nook" and LOVED it! The entire house is decorated charmingly, with seasonal touches, and the breakfast is sumptuous. In the evening they put out snacks, which is a very nice and welcoming touch.

Room Tip: If you're travelling solo, go for the Nook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Inn at Dupont Circle came to my attention because of the good price. And it's a couple blocks to the metro, further helping my budget! I was wonderfully surprised by the quirks - you're in a former residence, so every room is different - interesting, but still as clean and well-stocked as a chain hotel. The complimentary breakfast was the real treat - eggs cooked to order, cereals, fruit salad, a lovely buffet. The one thing that threw me is the place is not attended by staff 24/7 - but it turned out to not be a problem. I felt safe and secure. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try bilevel room behind kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

If you appreciate the sterile anonymous atmosphere of a large hotel, then this is not for you. The Inn is old and with its age comes the warmth and charm of an urban bed & breakfast. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. The dining area has refreshments all day and a hot breakfast is individually prepared to your order by a chef/innkeeper who takes care and pride in her work. Free wifi is easily accessible but if you're here on business, then you might not fully enjoy the ambiance. As others have stated, the location cannot be beat. For the price the Inn at Dupont Circle is a bargain. I wish I could have stayed longer and I will return.

Room Tip: Park your car across the street and forget about .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for 4 days and it was fabulous. We never went away from breakfast hungry. Wonderful fresh baked bread every morning that made its' way up stairs to great us. Delectable desserts that stayed on the table all evening. Perfect for a late snack when getting in from the theater. The Kennedy Center has a shuttle that takes you to a Metro stop where you can ride to within a half block of the Inn. It is so convenient to go into DC on the Metro. Breakfast each morning has just about everything to please all ages in the group. We truly felt like we were in our own home. There is a CVS store across the street so you don't have to pack all those toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The inn is located away from the capitol and right next to the metro station to the capitol. The area is alive, vibrant, with museums, embassy row, restaurants and more. The operators of the Inn are friendly and very entertaining.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont Circle

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Inn at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.