We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B+B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dupont Circle

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Dupont Circle
1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 50 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great B+B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been staying at this B+B for several years now every time I visit DC for work. The rates are very reasonable, rooms very comfortable, excellent service, the location incredibly safe and convenient, and the breakfast is fantastic. I usually stay in the Garden Loft because it is away from other guest rooms and more quiet. However I have stayed in other rooms and enjoyed my stays there too.

A continental breakfast is available for early risers (coffee, great tea selection, cereals, oatmeal, etc.) but once staff arrive in the morning (usually earlier than 8:00am) hot breakfast options (omeletts, pancakes, sausage) along with fruit salad, fresh bread, cheese, smoked salmon, and more is available. Also, cookies or dessert is available in the afternoon/evenings.

The staff here are always friendly and very helpful. I really cannot say enough good things about this B+B!

Room Tip: The Garden Loft is small for a couple, but a great option if traveling alone as it is away from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
25
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

It is only half a block to the Dupont Circle Metro station. I stayed in the "Nook" and LOVED it! The entire house is decorated charmingly, with seasonal touches, and the breakfast is sumptuous. In the evening they put out snacks, which is a very nice and welcoming touch.

Room Tip: If you're travelling solo, go for the Nook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Inn at Dupont Circle came to my attention because of the good price. And it's a couple blocks to the metro, further helping my budget! I was wonderfully surprised by the quirks - you're in a former residence, so every room is different - interesting, but still as clean and well-stocked as a chain hotel. The complimentary breakfast was the real treat - eggs cooked to order, cereals, fruit salad, a lovely buffet. The one thing that threw me is the place is not attended by staff 24/7 - but it turned out to not be a problem. I felt safe and secure. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try bilevel room behind kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

If you appreciate the sterile anonymous atmosphere of a large hotel, then this is not for you. The Inn is old and with its age comes the warmth and charm of an urban bed & breakfast. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. The dining area has refreshments all day and a hot breakfast is individually prepared to your order by a chef/innkeeper who takes care and pride in her work. Free wifi is easily accessible but if you're here on business, then you might not fully enjoy the ambiance. As others have stated, the location cannot be beat. For the price the Inn at Dupont Circle is a bargain. I wish I could have stayed longer and I will return.

Room Tip: Park your car across the street and forget about .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for 4 days and it was fabulous. We never went away from breakfast hungry. Wonderful fresh baked bread every morning that made its' way up stairs to great us. Delectable desserts that stayed on the table all evening. Perfect for a late snack when getting in from the theater. The Kennedy Center has a shuttle that takes you to a Metro stop where you can ride to within a half block of the Inn. It is so convenient to go into DC on the Metro. Breakfast each morning has just about everything to please all ages in the group. We truly felt like we were in our own home. There is a CVS store across the street so you don't have to pack all those toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The inn is located away from the capitol and right next to the metro station to the capitol. The area is alive, vibrant, with museums, embassy row, restaurants and more. The operators of the Inn are friendly and very entertaining.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Dupont Circle for three nights in mid April. The inn is well located, within an easy walking distance to most of the attractions in the city and very close to the subway. We had a lovely room on the first floor with our own bathroom. The inn is old and so if you want slick, sleek decorations and furnishings this is not the place for you. The king-sized bed was huge and extremely comfortable and the shower, although temperamental, was adequate. Breakfast was okay. There was plenty of food but not a huge selection – understandable when you might only be catering for 8 – 12 guests.
On our second morning the ceiling above our bed started to drip (obviously a burst pipe somewhere). The staff called a plumber straight away and while we were out for the day they rearranged the furniture so that we were out of harm’s way if it should happen again (it didn’t). On the day that we left I had an “itchy rash” on my arm that later came up in lumps. After consulting a doctor he confirmed that they were bed-bug bites and unfortunately the only place I could have been bitten was at the Inn. Luckily there were only 26 bites but after four weeks they are still visible. My partner, who shared the room with me, was not bitten at all. I have been told that there are bed-bugs in lots of different accommodation in the US and unfortunately it is pretty likely that you will encounter them somewhere sooner or later.
All in all the Inn is a lovely place to stay. The location is great, the food is okay and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont Circle

Address: 1312 19th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Inn at Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.