We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautifully maintained!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cardozo Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cardozo Guest House
13th and T. Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and beautifully maintained!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

spent a week in DC, 1st time and stayed in the Norwell room which was magnificent. minute walk to Metro Plenty of restaurants walking distance for breakfast. Bens Chilis a must for breakfast or lunch. Secure neighborhood and with the Metro so close by were able to visit all of DC with no hassles driving or parking. Will return in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
35
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were in Washington for 3 days and the Cardozo Guest Houese was a very good solution to stay there. It is located in a very good area where we can find a lot of restaurants and bar, and the area is very safed. Very near from the subway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We chose this Apartment rental in the Cordoza Guest House for convenience of it's awesome location, which was the only thing nice I can say about it. I do not leave a bad review unless deserving and this place was,as you can see by enlarging photos, fully deserving of this review.
I can't speak for rooms upstairs in guest house. The major factor in choosing the Apt vs a room was the kitchen, washer/dryer convenience.
As explained before our arrival, I have some trouble walking and questioned " a few stairs" w/ management company.They repeated " just a few steps." The steps were a semi circular staircase with very narrow foot room and no hand rails going down 7-8 of them making it someone with walking challenges of any kind, difficult.No where to hang on anywhere.
Upon entering unit, the smell of mildew, mold was present and was warm and stuffy, we opened two of the side windows behind bed to "air out" room. We did exactly what any traveler does, we looked around place expecting to unpack and start our weeks vacation!
We tried to familiarize our selves w/ kitchen and bath and were taken back by the dirty conditions and immediately phoned the management company who handles the property.
We explained the garbage left by other guests that hadn't been removed, dirty shower,dirty bathroom sink w/ leftover toothpaste spit and no clean area to unpack bathroom toiletries etc., because vanity shelves disgusting as even a dental pick was left behind.
The management company was not believing us, said they would get back to us in a few moments. Returning our call we were told housekeeper thought we were arriving next day and apologized, stated maid would come in and get it done. We agreed and went to dinner allowing time for her to complete.
When we returned from dinner and coffee approx 3 hours later, nothing had been touched.Even garbage was still there. They said they would credit us for the night and maid would be in tomorrow to make sure apt would get done. Okay, but gross to stay, at least bed linens were changed otherwise we wouldn't have.Took it upon self to clean shower, toilet and sink for use for the night while in tears.
Next day, went out sightseeing, came back at about 8:30 pm and were furious nothing was cleaned except trash emptied and new towels hung! They had questioned our integrity again and stated maid said it was completed.We sent him a few pics of what we were talking about. He stated he would gladly refund our money since they were not going to be able to "meet OUR standards", we should call him back and let him know if we were going to vacate.As it was nearing 10:00 pm, we were exhausted and frustrated beyond measure, we decided to sleep there one more night as we then had to scour internet to find new place to go.
The maid left us a couple notes as if we were stupid as to why we should shut the windows for more cool, but the smell of mildew was still overwhelming after a short time of being in room and had nothing to do with the room being "cool". Also, there was a metal trash can for use which we knew, but told US not to use garbage in the cabinet area, like the garbage was ours!
We kept the pics of what we sent management company to show "OUR STANDARDS" were not unreasonable,(approx.14 pics,hope they all loaded as this is the first time I have done this) and will let viewers determine their standards before booking here.
We moved out first thing in morning and this place cost us approx another $500.for last minute booking and no weekly rate since 7 night stay was impossible for any discounts.Travelers beware.You can tell by freezer door pic alone this place is never cleaned properly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbaccomDC, Manager at Cardozo Guest House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It is clear these guests were unhappy with their stay. We tried to work hard on addressing their issues, but in the end, the only remedy left was to let them find accommodations that met their needs and refund their full stay. There were more than a handful of reasons/ issues this guest expressed dissatisfaction with. Our first reaction was to offer a choice of several alternative accommodations or a full refund. Both of these options were turned down. We then offered to have the housekeeping return and correct the issues of cleanliness, and offered make to the first nights stay complimentary. Upon their return, again unhappy with the apartment, we again offered a full refund, or to move to one of the other units. This was turned down again. They requested the housekeeper return again to correct a new list of issues. When they returned at the end of the second day, again unhappy with the cleanliness of the apartment, it was clear we were not going to be able to satisfy them. We then recommended that they seek accommodations where they would be happy, and that we would provide them a full refund. Given the time (it was about 7pm) they were welcome to stay the second night and relocate in the morning if they needed this time.

Looking at previous reviews of the property, cleanliness is consistently rated at 4 or 5 stars. Of course the housekeeper is not infallible, which is how we approached this guests concern. It is true we were surprised to hear the apartment had cleanliness issues, but it did not prevent us from having the housekeeper return to attempt to correct the issues. Upon review, we have noted that over the 5 years of reviews, cleanliness concerns have happened in the apartment 3 times (2011 and 2009). The owner has reviewed this with the housekeeper, and implemented revisions to the checklists putting more scrutiny on the apartment. As the reservation service, we have also made adjustments to ask more specific questions of a guests needs with regard to the steps. There are exactly 6 stairs, and they do make a turn for the last 3. This guest did ask about the number of stairs, but did not indicate their level of mobility challenges, however, we could have asked for more clarification, and will in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Cardoza Guest House while visiting our son in Columbia Heights.
Great location to his place, the U Street stop on the Metro, restaurants.
The house is well maintained with an interesting African art collection.
It is our first experience at a DC B&B and we will certainly look forward to using this location again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Cardozo Guest House during August for 3 days. It is very reasonably priced and secure.

It is located right next to U Street Station, making it easy to get round the city - alternatively you can walk almost anywhere.

The lack of breakfast is not a worry, there are many cafes and food outlets along U Street that allow you to eat at your own convenience.

The room was perfect, and sharing the bathroom was not an issue.

When I return to D.C., will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Cardozo Guest House is in a great location (just around the corner from the U Street metro station). A beautifully decorated home in a residential neighbourhood. There is free wifi in the living room and our room was very comfortable. The only tiny problem was that we were in the smallest room next to the bathroom, so sometimes the shower woke us up in the morning but we got right back to sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Cardozo Guest House for 3 nights while in town for an interview. The location was perfect for me because it was 2 blocks from the U Street Metro and I was already familiar with the area. The rooms and facilities are also very comfortable and well-kept. Sharing a bathroom was not a problem and I never had to wait. The only problem I had was that the walls are very thin and I had some noisy neighbors. If you are in town on business I recommend not booking the Hingham or Duxbury Suite as they share a wall. Other than that, I highly recommend this Guest House for anyone visiting DC!

Room Tip: The Duxbury and Hingham rooms share a wall and noisy neighbors can keep you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cardozo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Guest House

Address: 13th and T. Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple and comfortable, the Cardozo Guest House may be the perfect accommodation for your stay in Washington. This Guest House offers four guest rooms or a small studio apartment. Three guest rooms are located on the second floor and share a hall bath. The fourth guest room on the third floor has a private Jacuzzi bath. The Studio apartment is garden or English basement level with a private entrance. The Guest House is two blocks from the Green Line U. Street/Cardozo Metro station. Many restaurants, shops and evening entertainment options are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardozo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cardozo Guest House to your Saves list