We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardoza Guest house Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardozo Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cardozo Guest House
Save
You added Cardozo Guest House to your Saves list
13th and T. Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cardoza Guest house Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Cardoza Guest House while visiting our son in Columbia Heights.
Great location to his place, the U Street stop on the Metro, restaurants.
The house is well maintained with an interesting African art collection.
It is our first experience at a DC B&B and we will certainly look forward to using this location again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    43
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
44
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Cardozo Guest House during August for 3 days. It is very reasonably priced and secure.

It is located right next to U Street Station, making it easy to get round the city - alternatively you can walk almost anywhere.

The lack of breakfast is not a worry, there are many cafes and food outlets along U Street that allow you to eat at your own convenience.

The room was perfect, and sharing the bathroom was not an issue.

When I return to D.C., will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Cardozo Guest House is in a great location (just around the corner from the U Street metro station). A beautifully decorated home in a residential neighbourhood. There is free wifi in the living room and our room was very comfortable. The only tiny problem was that we were in the smallest room next to the bathroom, so sometimes the shower woke us up in the morning but we got right back to sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Cardozo Guest House for 3 nights while in town for an interview. The location was perfect for me because it was 2 blocks from the U Street Metro and I was already familiar with the area. The rooms and facilities are also very comfortable and well-kept. Sharing a bathroom was not a problem and I never had to wait. The only problem I had was that the walls are very thin and I had some noisy neighbors. If you are in town on business I recommend not booking the Hingham or Duxbury Suite as they share a wall. Other than that, I highly recommend this Guest House for anyone visiting DC!

Room Tip: The Duxbury and Hingham rooms share a wall and noisy neighbors can keep you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Shocked by pricing of hotels near the large institution I was to visit I searched for alternatives.
I came across "Bed and Breakfast DC (877-893-3233)") who helped steer me to the Cardozo. Kathy was very helpful suggesting restaurants close by and providing me with info on the Metro. She also briefed me on the conditions pertaining to the B+B which is actually sans Breakfast.

I took the plunge and for a shade over 300$ for three nights (cheaper than one night at a hotel) I was well satisfied with the accommodations. There were others in residence and I barely heard them. I was up first so never a problem with the shared bathroom. (One minor note, get better toilet paper pls as more in keeping with the genteel atmosphere.)

The locking of the doors is a tad complex but understandable, especially given the fine display of African statues. Nice touch is that they provide water in the fridge in the room and coffee too as well as tea. (Spring for some decaff too pls!) Wireless worked (password is on the board in the kitchen).

The room was comfortable and street noise not an issue. Since there is light from the street suggest taking a face mask. Take ear plugs too if you think you may be bothered by the neighbours. The B and B was within 5 minutes walk to the Metro and I felt safe at all times. It is a nice funky neighbourhood too.

Definitely the way to go if you want to save a pile of cash, but be comfortable too.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: I was in the Hingham at the front of the house and liked it. Great value for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We travel half the year. My favorite accommodation is a self-hosted guesthouse. The Cardoza Guesthouse, Adams Morgan neighborhood, Washington, DC is literally my favorite self-hosted guesthouse anywhere, and the standard by which I compare all other self-hosted guesthouses. We visit Washington, DC to visit our daughter & son-in-law, and for occasional policy and political work. I always stay at the Cardoza Guesthouse. The Cardoza is centrally located and convenient to all we do in Washington, DC. Public transportation is readily accessible. The Cardoza is on a beautiful section of T Street NW. The grounds and guesthouse are immaculately maintained. The main living areas of the guesthouse is a museum of African sculpture and masks that are worth seeing, even if you weren't staying there. The rooms are all delightful and quiet. Staying at the Cardoza is an excellent value. I have recommended the Cardoza Guesthouse to other visitors, who have loved the Cardoza as much as I do. Finally, the ownership and staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed in the Pembroke Room for two nights sightseeing. It was great:

- Leafy quiet street, near U St Metro, and not too far to walk to the Mall if the weather's nice
- Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and stylish. Nice white linen, plenty of water
- Shared bathroom was always empty and clean (I may have just got lucky)
- WiFi is free and works well

Basically, I can't fault the place. For the price, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 136 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#20 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Akwaaba DC
Akwaaba DC
#4 of 34 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
William Lewis House
#16 of 34 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardozo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Guest House

Address: 13th and T. Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple and comfortable, the Cardozo Guest House may be the perfect accommodation for your stay in Washington. This Guest House offers four guest rooms or a small studio apartment. Three guest rooms are located on the second floor and share a hall bath. The fourth guest room on the third floor has a private Jacuzzi bath. The Studio apartment is garden or English basement level with a private entrance. The Guest House is two blocks from the Green Line U. Street/Cardozo Metro station. Many restaurants, shops and evening entertainment options are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardozo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.