We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art and Soul

Art and Soul
415 New Jersey Ave., NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-393-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Art and Soul is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 2,561 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: D Street NW
Transit: 2 Blocks from Union Station
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Liason hotel and decided to have dinner at Art and Soul one night mostly because we had missed out on reservations on a few other restaurants we wanted to try. We were extremely pleased with our meal at Art and Soul! We ordered the beer can cornbread (with bacon) and wish we had ordered two....so delicious! I ordered the shrimp and grits and was very happy with my selection; I ate every bite. My husband ordered the fried chicken and loved it as well. We both ordered dessert and had no complaints whatsoever! The atmosphere isn't great due mostly to the fact that it is connected to the hotel, but we enjoyed attentive service throughout our meal. We would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    171
    109
    35
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hefty price for not too much reward”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I were staying next door (at The Liaison) and having just arrived from NYC by train we opted for a simple start to our three days in Washington.

Seated quickly we were brought a glass of water and given the various menus.

We opted to start with a couple of cocktails pre-starter but were a little vexed to find the starters arriving before our cocktails or bottle of wine.

Anyway the starters were fine. I had the toasted maple ham and cheese and my wife had a salad.

I had the strip steak which came with creamed kale blue cheese butter and potatoes. My wife went for the scallops.

I think the steak could have done without the blue cheese butter to be honest and neither the potatoes or kale were anything spectacular. The scallops were lovely.

We split a marshmallow dessert.

The food was good without pulling up any trees and with the bill for starters, mains, one dessert, a couple of cocktails and a low end bottle of wine coming in at the thick end of $250 (with service) – we felt that we could have spent that sort of money (which for us is a lot) better elsewhere in DC.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overabundance of yummy fried chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Love the food, but the portions were too much and the price was pretty steep. The 2-person fried chicken dinner included 2 thighs and 4 legs. Who needs that much? We ended up taking the untouched pieces to the homeless shelter since it seemed such a shame to waste them.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't Order the Shrimp & Grits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I ordered the shrimp & grits from this place and it was disgusting. The grits were runny and the shrimp were mushy. When I returned to DC with my husband, he wanted to eat there, but I just could not get the thought of those mushy shrimp with their eyes looking at me out of my mind. So we went elsewhere...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Southern Indulgence”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had the lunch special of fried chicken with mashed potato and sauteed greens. Not healthy in the least but it was certainly tasty! The mason jar of iced tea completed my Southern indulgence.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art and Soul also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Art and Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art and Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.