We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for long term stays in Washington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lansburgh

Save Saved
You added The Lansburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lansburgh
425 8th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for long term stays in Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Lansburgh corporate apartments are exactly the type of place you want to stay long term in Washington. I stayed there for three months and never regretted my decision. It is in a fantastic location, Penn Quarter having dozens of restaurants and three Metro lines within walking distance. The amenities are generous, with a pool and full size washers and dryers. Most of all, the policies and staff are accommodating and flexible.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have a better view, and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I didn't have the luxury of staying in one of the renovated apartments. I loved the high ceilings and windows but the carpet, kitchen, and bathroom were really outdated. Definitely find out if you're staying in an older or renovated apartment when you book. I wasn't at all inspired to cook while I was here. But that was fine because there are so many nice restaurants in the area. I tried just about all of them while I was there!

The outside rooms are a bit noisier just like others mentioned. Sirens and garbage trucks were really loud on the side I was on. There is also a restaurant next door and every night, especially on weekends, you can here them throwing away bottles into the dumpster. Freaked me out the first time I heard it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay for long-term furnished apartments. I always stay here when I am in town for business because they take government per diem. The apartments used to be just average. But, they have recently renovated and now the apartments are furnished with granite, stainless steel appliances, and beautiful bathrooms. The beds are comfortable and the sheets are so nice I tried to figure out the brand to buy my own. There is a washer and dryer, cable with HBO and Showtime (including On Demand), and cleaning service once a week. The place is in the heart of Chinatown. You are two blocks from the metro and can walk to the Mall. There are so many restaurants and bars that you couldn't possibly hit them all in a week. There is 24 hour concierge service and parking. I love staying at this place. The only reason I gave this place four stars, rather than five, is because I always seem to have to seek out answers or assistance. It seems that it always takes an email our two with the leasing office before you receive an answer or confirmation. But, if you don't mind being a little persistent, this is definitely the place to stay for long-term furnished stays in D.C.

Room Tip: If you are staying on government per diem, you can usually get a two bedroom if you want the extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We like the Lansburgh so much we're going from a short term furnished rental to one their unfurnished ones. A great location and the convenience of a pool you can swim laps in and a good workout gym. My favorite part of staying here (other than the view and convenience) is the concierge team and the staff. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and accommodating. And any problems in the apartment are taken care of immediately--amazing really! We highly recommend The Lansburgh!

Room Tip: E street views are great but noisier, I think. 8th St seems like it would be quieter. And of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have just finished another stay in a two bed, two bath apartment at the Lansburgh and we used Marriott Execustay again for this booking. The building has all the same features we enjoyed so much when we stayed in 2008; it's clean, conveniently located, and there is 24 hour security as well as a wonderful concierge team. Quite a few of the apartments have been renovated and some are under renovation at this time. We had one of the "old" apartments, which I expect is on the list for renovation. It was perfectly comfortable and usable, but if you want a recently-updated apartment you probably need to specify that. We had to request some very minor repairs and the building maintenance team took care of things very promptly and courteously.

As the other reviewer noted, the inside units are way quieter than the outside units. We did specify a unit on the courtyard side and it was quiet. There is some sound from the renovations, but surprisingly little and it didn't bother us at all. Having said that if you will be home in the day you might want to specify that you want to be placed away from an apartment undergoing renovation.

Room Tip: Be very specific about your needs and what you want when discussing the apartments with Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the Lansburg for several months towards the end of 2010 while I was in DC on a temporary assisgnment. It is a wonderful location for those that want to be in the heart of DC. The units are well maintained and nicely furnished. ADDITIONALLY, temporary short-term stays are often available. I would highly recomend checking out this facility prior to one of the pricey hotels in the area as the ammenities and extra space make this well worth it. Nicely located between the National Archives and Potrait Gallery, it is a safe and great area day or night. Parking is also available -- a big plus. Metro stops are a block away. Fitness Center and pool along with a lovely courtyard add to the benefits!

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter area of the complex... The interior units are facing the courtyard and better fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We rented a condo through Marriott Extended Stay. The rental process was very easy and the staff very professional. The staff at the Lansburgh are very pleasant and reliable and the security is good. The location really can't be beat; you can walk to lots of places and it is a couple of short blocks to two Metro stations. The condo was very spacious and clean and appointed with just about everything you need to set up housekeeping. Our unit had great A/C. There is a pool and a gym in the building and a central couryard with benches. The garage is quite expensive but if you are a Marriott client you get a much-reduced rate. There are no close groceries and one needs to drive or take a cab to shop. There is, however, a nice farmer's market nearby Thursday afternoons during the warmer months and there is a CVS and a Bed Bath and Beyond. If you don't want to cook there are plenty of restaurants and sandwich shops. Two movie theatres are within walking distance. There is considerable street noise from E and 7th but the A/C fan helps even out the sounds. The condo was not the lowest cost of the condos we considered, but we considered it the best value given the location and the amenities.

  • Liked — comfort and location
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lansburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansburgh

Address: 425 8th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Lansburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lansburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.