We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay at a great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel) (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great stay at a great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We decided to stay at the St. Regis this past Feb. as part of a college visit. After spontaneously booking our flights, we tried to find a room at many of the hotels around Georgetown, but they were either out of our price range (Four Seasons was grossly overpriced for a Wednesday!) or not up to our standards (Georgetown Inn looked a little run down). Then, out of the blue, I remembered that, being a Starwood Preferred Guest because of our love of the Parker Meridien in NYC, we had points stocked up. After speaking with the kind gentleman at the front desk 10 hours before our flight was to land, we had booked a delux room for NO CHARGE! It was a fantastic surprise for us. WHen we arrived, we were greated by a super friendly doorman who, after introducing himself to us, never forgot our names! He was the epitome of a great member of the hotel staff. Arriving early, we were faced with an option: wait for a an upgraded room or check into a smaller on with the beds we wanted. However, as we ate breakfast in the great restaurant looking out of the white House, thinking about what to do, the front desk figured it all out for us and we had a big room, two beds and only had to wait a few hours. LUckily for us, the location of the hotel to the sites of DC is unbeatable and we were ble to enjoy the day before we moved in. The room was fantastically appointed, staff friendly and location superb. This is such a classic hotel with a grand lobby, great ballrooms and service that is unrivaled. We usually stay at teh Jefferson on the same street when visiting DC, but this price (0!) was perfect for us and, after only being given a %10 discoun off a $600 room for being a return guest of the Jefferson (almost an insulting offer I might add), the ST. Regis was a great choice. A true gem and we will hopefully return soon!

Room Tip: As for a room facing the street or courtyard. Some face other buildings and it get very echo-y outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the St. Regis. Thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to have you visit again in the very near future.

Thank you again.

Warm regards,

Kris Anderson
Director, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    171
    97
    24
    19
See reviews for
183
255
57
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at St Regis, a world of luxury, a home away from home. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. They looked after us with care and attention, which made us feel truly at home. The hotel exhibits the feeling of an era gone by, but we could sense a touch of sophistication and elegance! The facilities function efficiently- the shower was the best we have ever had in a five star hotel!

It was a family visit with my girlfriend, and her parents coming all the way from Australia, and we had a wonderful get-together in the hotel of our choice!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your stay at the St Regis. We are so happy you enjoying yourselves. Our aim is to provide the best possible service and comfort to all of our guests.

We look forward to your next visit very soon.

Warm regards,

Kris Anderson
Director, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is a great value for a luxury hotel. It's definitely worth the splurge. Rooms are really well appointed and the king bed is incredibly comfortable. I'm not sure it's worth it for a business stay but definitely a must if you want a couples weekend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review you wrote regarding your stay at the hotel. I will reach out to the appropriate department and let them know the comments regarding the comfort of the beds.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Kris Anderson
Director, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Service is impeccable. All of the staff are as nice as can be. Anything you ask for is immediately attended to. There is construction across the street, but St. Regis obviously has no control over that. There were not any noise issues. Fantastic hotel - bedding was as good as it gets. Will be back for sure - matches up to the Ritz and then some.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at our hotel. We are so happy that all your expectations were met and we hope to see you back for another visit soon.

Warm regards,

Kris Anderson
Director, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The St Regis is supposed to be in the same category as Four Seasons, Ritz Charlton, Mandarin, and Peninsula.
The St Regis Washington DC is not even close.
This property is run down, noisy, uncomfortable and unorganized. All for the high price of a luxury property.
In my opinion it is misleading and unfair for this property to remain open in its current state under the St Regis brand. Problems range from extremely noisy rooms due to poorly placed HVAC units outside windows that were not sound proofed. We had to move our room 3 times only to be placed in a room with with a key card reader that didn't work properly , a terrible bed, flashing fire alarms, and a ceiling fixture that would not shut off. The beds are extremely uncomfortable, the rooms are dingy, depressing and tattered even the clocks are not set for the correct time, however the time has passed for the property to close, instead they remain open, and charge luxury level fees for 1 star quality.

Room Tip: If you're looking for St Regis level service, wait till they renovate this property. If you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Front Office Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you were not happy with your stay or the hotel itself. Please know that I will contact the appropriate departments to share your comments. In the meantime, feel free to contact me to discuss this further.

Again I apologize for your displeasure. I hope you will re-visit us sometime in the future.

Warm regards,

Kris Anderson
Director, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our stay this past weekend at the St. Regis did not live up to the St. Regis brand. First, the positives:
- The doormen were incredibly polite and attentive
- The rooms were clean and a reasonable size
- The lobby was beautiful
Now the negatives:
- We had to ask for our room to be cleaned
- The bath towels weren't soft or fresh feeling
- The front desk wasn't friendly
- The bathroom ammenities were never refreshed
- The walls were incredibly thin (though it's an old property so you can't be too surprised)
Overall, while there was nothing horrendous about the St. Regis, it was just very far from the expectations I have from the brand. Next time we will stay at one of the many other properties in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Director of Sales at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry for the troubles you encountered during your stay with us. Please know that I have reached out to the appropriate departments so this does not occur again.

We hope you will come stay with us again soon.

Warm regards,

Douglas Camp
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It’s important that before you read my concerns about the Saint Regis that you understand we had an excellent two night stay – good enough that we wouldn’t hesitate to come back. Having said that, there is a constant sense here that something is not quite right.. That sense doesn’t come from the staff who are professional and efficient or the service which is very good, or the food which is also very good. It’s the property itself.

It’s an elegant, wonderful hotel with the ambiance of a time gone by. Unfortunately, it is a property that is tired, faded and in need of a thorough do-over. During the course of our stay, it was always puzzling and sometimes annoying that the property, on the one hand, carries the Saint Regis name, and on the other hand, constantly present as dowdy.

The rooms range from being “roomy – enough” to others that are generously proportioned. The amenities are excellent and the bathrooms quite good. There are enough electrical outlets in the rooms and, depending on your room rate, wifi might or might not be complementary. The menu in the restaurant and the bar are both quite good and the service professional and pleasant. The food itself is well prepared, well presented, and tastes good. The concierge staff, led by JF, is outstanding and a real feather in the cap of the hotel.

There are a couple of particulars of which to be aware. The first is that there is construction going on next to the hotel. We were there on the weekend so there was no issue with noise, - that might or might not be true of a weekday stay. You’ll want to check with the hotel. The other particular is that the view from at least some of the rooms of the hotel is pretty awful (into a service alley filled with trucks and garbage). It didn’t bother us or detract from our visit, but that might not be true of everyone.

When reviewing a hotel, I think it only fair to grade it according to what is relative to what it purports it be. So, I gave this property four stars simply because when you put the Saint Regis name on a hotel, it is only fair for the guest to expect a complete five star experience – including a property that presents as five star from the moment one walks in to the moment one walks out. So, come on Starwood! When you own a property as elegant as this one, located in a spot as prime as this one, and you put the Saint Regis name on it, then you’ve got to come up with some money to refurbish and remodel.

It is within the above context that I reluctantly give the Saint Regis four stars – reluctant because I really would like to have given it five. The property is recommended, but with a sense of reservation. I’d very much like to come back here a year from now and write a another review in which I rave about it With some updating and TLC, that’s how good this property could be.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Director of Sales at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay and our property. Please know that I will bring up your concerns to the appropriate staff.

In the meantime, please feel free to contact me to discuss these issues in detail.

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Douglas Camp
Director, Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.