We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Washington, D.C. to your Saves list
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel) (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time at the St. Regis after their full scale renovation several years ago. Still just a beautiful hotel that retained its charm while adding the modern conveniences. Last time I was fortunate to get upgraded to the Astor Suite. This time the hotel was jammed for a variety of events so no upgrade but they made sure I had a very comfortable, bright room with large windows facing the front.

The bar is a great spot to meet and nice restaurants and the sites are just a walk away (tried the new Joe's Seafood and Steaks nearby). The concierges are always helpful with restaurant ideas and museum passes (a big help as we didn't do much planning).

Highly recommend. One room suggestion is I would steer clear of the 8th floor rooms. While eqally as comfortable, windows are smaller.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at the “beautiful” St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your Caroline Astor Suite as well as the “helpful” service that you received from members of our concierge team. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the St. Regis Bar. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    167
    96
    24
    19
See reviews for
179
251
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Let me just say that our stay was exceptional from start to finish. This is only our second time staying at the St. Regis DC. We love the luxurious and opulent lobby and the very
spacious and comfortable rooms. We returned for multiple reasons but the most
important (for us) is your bar. We enjoy stopping by at different times of the
day and regardless when we do we are always received with a warm and sincere
welcome. The service provided by your staff at the St. Regis Bar is stellar. We
appreciate both your bartenders (Jane and Reda). Also, we received very
thoughtful and attentive care from Christian and Matthew. I rarely remember
names but these folks stand out. People and special care they provided leave an
impression and provide for memorable experiences. Front staff is helpful and
polite. We travel to DC for pleasure/leisure, as we have family in town and expect St. Regis DC to be our home base during future visits. Cheers!

Room Tip: Astor Suite is exceptional. High floor. Very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your “exceptional” experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “luxurious and opulent lobby,” as well as the service that you received from members of our bar staff – Jane, Reda, Christian and Matthew. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our “helpful and polite” front desk staff. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

As SPG 'loyalists' we immediately gravitated to this hotel when we made our plans. The location is perfect; on the edge of the business side of DC and within sight of the WH and all the monuments. At the hotel, the staff are excellent. In particular, the attention and care for our restaurant plans provided by Jean-Francois Dupont at the concierge desk was excellent. We asked for several recommendations and each restaurant suggested was exceptional.

Mornings, we used the gym, once in the hotel's lower level and the rest at MINT, the facility across the street arranged by the hotel. That additional benefit was wonderful.

Each morning we had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. The staff there is excellent; attentive, friendly, and professional. Each breakfast we ordered was great, and the staff took care of every request, happily.

After touring the sights of DC we relaxed every afternoon in the lobby. The drink and snack service was, like the breakfast experience, perfect. The extra touch of the afternoon poetry reading and champagne tasting was a very nice touch, as was the offer of the history tour (which we will take, next visit).

Writing this gave me a chance to reflect on, remember our visit, and recall how exceptional the St Regis is for a visit to DC. We'll be sure to stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your lovely review of your “5-star experience” at the St. Regis Washington D.C. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “perfect” location near the White House, and the level of personal service that you received from our Chef Concierge JF Dupont. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our drink, snack and breakfast programs and the poetry reading offered by Alex Gruhin, our esteemed Cultural Attaché and the curator of the St. Regis Washington D.C. guest experience. I certainly hope that you have the opportunity to take Alex’s incredible history tour of the property on a future stay. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the St. Regis Washington, DC. The staff was helpful and friendly, the food was excellent, the bar has an impressive selection of bourbon and the facilities were clean and well maintained!

Would stay here again and would also recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service that you received from members of our “helpful and friendly” staff. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our food and beverage program and the cleanliness of our facilities. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent two nights at the St. Regis in May. From check in to check out the service was superb. Our room overlooked 16th Street and was beautifully decorated. We especially enjoyed the very informative hotel tour by Alex Gruhin, followed by the champagne sabering. We highly recommend the St. Regis!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your “beautifully decorated” guestrooms and the “superb” service that you received from members of our staff. I also appreciate your kind words regarding our esteemed Cultural Attaché Alex Gruhin, the curator of the St. Regis Washington D.C. guest experience. I am glad that Alex’s history tour of the property exceeded your expectations. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The reviews were right about the SR in DC...stellar service from beginning to end. Not only did Alex the concierge/cultural attaché reach out to us prior to visit to see if there was something we may need but he treated our kids with a favorite food delivery the moment we came. A guy came to unfold the sleeper sofa within 15 seconds of our arrival to room. Quite traditional decor if you like that sort of thing...it was classy though! But the service was unobtrusive yet totally pampering. Nice! And Decanter restaurant was an amazingly good restaurant to eat at! Both dinner and lunch...quite surprised! The food was actually very memorable, if not a bit pricey. I Like the small feel of the hotel...boutiquey though very crowded on weekend. Must be popular choice. Yep, will def return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the “unobtrusive yet totally pampering” service that you received from members of our staff. I also appreciate your kind words about our restaurant “Decanter,” and regarding our esteemed Cultural Attaché Alex Gruhin, the curator of the St. Regis Washington D.C. guest experience. Did you know that Alex also offers an incredible history tour of the property on Thursdays and Fridays at 5:00 PM? I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This St. Regis is everything that one would expect from a high-end hotel in Washington. The lobby is elegant but not stuffy and it is as easy to relax with a glass of wine as it is to entertain business associates. The rooms are old-world like except that they are more spacious and the attention to detail is impressive. This is not a casual property however and as such, you will not find a coffee pot or an ironing board in your room. Of course, you can order coffee and have your clothes pressed with a phone call. This is to be expected and I did not mind it at all. Actually, it was a refreshing change of pace. After all, one does not choose the St. Regis to make your budget. Instead, this is an experience to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your “experience to remember” at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “elegant but not stuffy” lobby and “spacious” guestrooms. I am also glad that your stay with us offered a “refreshing change of pace.” I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Washington, D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.